Prime Big Deal Days NVR and Surveillance Drive Deals

Live prices updated · 56 in-stock products · tracked since March 23, 2026 · prices in this category are re-checked about once a day on a rolling cycle - the time above is our newest price, not every row's

EndedPrime Big Deal Days 2026

Ran October 6 - October 7. A measured retrospective will follow the same method as our other event reports.

Quick answer

Most installs do not need the AI tier. At WD's own 3.2Mbps reference bitrate, one camera recording around the clock writes about 12.6TB a year: 14 cameras stay inside the 180TB/year standard rating, and it takes more than 43 to exceed the 550TB/year AI tier. Today 16 of 56 in-stock items sit at or near their own recorded low.

Share:WhatsAppFacebookPost on X
Our method

We measure every price against that item's OWN recorded history, not against a list price - list prices get raised before a sale, which is documented and cited on this site's event pages. A verdict badge means: AT/NEAR LOW is close to the lowest price we recorded for that item over the days we tracked it in the last 30 - each badge prints that number of days - in a record where its price has actually moved (a price that has not moved is not a low, and reads TYPICAL); TYPICAL is ordinary for it; ELEVATED is above where it usually sits; NEW means we have not tracked it long enough to say. No percentage-off-list figure appears anywhere on this site as a measure of whether a price is actually good.

The evidence for why we do it this way is our own: the June 2026 Prime Day retrospective measured whether the last comparable event moved prices, category by category, before any of these pages were written.

Live surveillance: nvrs & drives picks, verdict-badged

Today's verdict distribution: 16 of 56 in-stock items are at or near their own recorded low today; 34 are typical for themselves; 6 are elevated above their own usual price. Each count compares an item with its own recorded price; no past price is printed for any listing.

Network video recorders (NVRs) in stock

Drive presence exactly as the listing states it: diskless, bundled, or not stated - never assumed. One row per recorder, its cheapest offer.

ProductSizeConditionSpec (as labelled)VerdictPrice
Reolink-4ch4-channelNewNVR · Diskless - no drive in the boxTYPICAL
vs 28 tracked days
$139.99Buy on Amazon
Reolink RLN8-4108-channelNewNVR · Drive presence not stated by the listingTYPICAL
vs 31 tracked days
$189.99Buy on Amazon
Amcrest NV2108E-HS8-channelUsedNVR · Diskless - no drive in the boxTYPICAL
vs 31 tracked days
$195.99Buy on Amazon
Amcrest NV4108E-2TB8-channelUsedNVR · Drive bundled (2TB, as listed)TYPICAL
vs 31 tracked days
$229.99Buy on Amazon
Reolink-36ch36-channelNewNVR · Diskless - no drive in the boxTYPICAL
vs 31 tracked days
$246.99Buy on Amazon
Reolink RP-PN88-channelNewNVR · Drive presence not stated by the listingTYPICAL
vs 31 tracked days
$249.99Buy on Amazon
Reolink RLN16-410-NHD16-channelNewNVR · Drive presence not stated by the listingTYPICAL
vs 31 tracked days
$289.99Buy on Amazon
Lorex-8ch8-channelNewNVR · Drive bundled (1TB, as listed)AT/NEAR LOW
lowest in 24 tracked days
$303.99Buy on Amazon
Reolink RLN8-4108-channelNewNVR · Drive bundled (2TB, as listed)TYPICAL
vs 31 tracked days
$310.23Buy on Amazon
Reolink RLN8-4108-channelNewNVR · Drive presence not stated by the listingTYPICAL
vs 27 tracked days
$349.99Buy on Amazon
Reolink RLN8-410-8-channelNewNVR · Drive presence not stated by the listingTYPICAL
vs 31 tracked days
$349.99Buy on Amazon
Reolink RP-PN1616-channelNewNVR · Drive presence not stated by the listingTYPICAL
vs 31 tracked days
$369.99Buy on Amazon
ANNKE-16ch16-channelUsedNVR · Drive bundled (4TB, as listed)TYPICAL
vs 14 tracked days
$378.91Buy on Amazon
Reolink-16ch16-channelNewNVR · Drive bundled (1TB, as listed)TYPICAL
vs 31 tracked days
$459.99Buy on Amazon
Lorex-8ch8-channelNewNVR · Drive presence not stated by the listingAT/NEAR LOW
lowest in 31 tracked days
$531.99Buy on Amazon
Lorex-8ch8-channelNewNVR · Drive presence not stated by the listingAT/NEAR LOW
lowest in 31 tracked days
$699.99Buy on Amazon

Surveillance-class hard drives in stock

Maker-rated workload and recording tech on every row. A drive without a stated recording tech is excluded from every sizing answer on this page.

ProductCapacityConditionSpec (as labelled)Per TBVerdictPrice
WD Purple 6TB WD60PURX6TBUsedStandard surveillance, 180TB/yr (maker-rated) · Recording tech not stated - excluded from every sizing answer$27.50AT/NEAR LOW
lowest in 31 tracked days
$164.99Buy on Amazon
WD Purple 18TB WD180PURZ18TBUsedStandard surveillance, 180TB/yr (maker-rated) · Recording tech not stated - excluded from every sizing answer$28.33TYPICAL
vs 31 tracked days
$510.00Buy on Amazon
WD Purple 4TB WD40PURX4TBUsedStandard surveillance, 180TB/yr (maker-rated) · Recording tech not stated - excluded from every sizing answer$28.75ELEVATED
vs 31 tracked days
$114.99Buy on Amazon
WD Purple 12TB WD121PURZ12TBUsedWD Purple, higher tier, 360TB/yr (maker-rated) · Recording tech not stated - excluded from every sizing answer$29.17AT/NEAR LOW
lowest in 31 tracked days
$349.99Buy on Amazon
WD Purple 4TB WD40PURX4TBUsedStandard surveillance, 180TB/yr (maker-rated) · Recording tech not stated - excluded from every sizing answer$29.62ELEVATED
vs 31 tracked days
$118.48Buy on Amazon
WD Purple 6TB WD60PURZ6TBUsedStandard surveillance, 180TB/yr (maker-rated) · Recording tech not stated - excluded from every sizing answer$30.00AT/NEAR LOW
lowest in 31 tracked days
$179.99Buy on Amazon
Seagate SkyHawk 6TB ST6000VX00236TBUsedStandard surveillance, 180TB/yr (maker-rated) · Recording tech not stated - excluded from every sizing answer$31.67AT/NEAR LOW
lowest in 31 tracked days
$189.99Buy on Amazon
Seagate SkyHawk 6TB ST6000VX0016TBUsedStandard surveillance, 180TB/yr (maker-rated) · CMR$31.67AT/NEAR LOW
lowest in 31 tracked days
$189.99Buy on Amazon
Seagate SkyHawk 6TB ST6000VX0016TBUsedStandard surveillance, 180TB/yr (maker-rated) · CMR$31.67TYPICAL
vs 31 tracked days
$189.99Buy on Amazon
WD Purple Pro 10TB WD101PURP10TBUsedAI tier, 550TB/yr (maker-rated) · Recording tech not stated - excluded from every sizing answer$31.99AT/NEAR LOW
lowest in 31 tracked days
$319.95Buy on Amazon
Seagate SkyHawk AI 10TB ST10000VE000810TBUsedAI tier, 550TB/yr (maker-rated) · Recording tech not stated - excluded from every sizing answer$32.00AT/NEAR LOW
lowest in 31 tracked days
$319.99Buy on Amazon
Seagate SkyHawk AI 10.0TB10TBUsedAI tier, 550TB/yr (maker-rated) · Recording tech not stated - excluded from every sizing answer$32.00AT/NEAR LOW
lowest in 31 tracked days
$319.99Buy on Amazon
Seagate SkyHawk 4TB ST4000VX0074TBUsedStandard surveillance, 180TB/yr (maker-rated) · CMR$32.50AT/NEAR LOW
lowest in 31 tracked days
$129.99Buy on Amazon
WD Purple 3TB WD30PURX3TBUsedStandard surveillance, 180TB/yr (maker-rated) · Recording tech not stated - excluded from every sizing answer$32.67TYPICAL
vs 31 tracked days
$98.00Buy on Amazon
Seagate SkyHawk AI 16TB ST16000VE00016TBUsedAI tier, 550TB/yr (maker-rated) · Recording tech not stated - excluded from every sizing answer$34.37TYPICAL
vs 31 tracked days
$549.99Buy on Amazon
WD Purple 6TB WD63PURZ6TBUsedStandard surveillance, 180TB/yr (maker-rated) · CMR$35.00AT/NEAR LOW
lowest in 31 tracked days
$209.99Buy on Amazon
WD Purple Pro 12TB WD121PURP12TBUsedAI tier, 550TB/yr (maker-rated) · Recording tech not stated - excluded from every sizing answer$35.83AT/NEAR LOW
lowest in 31 tracked days
$429.99Buy on Amazon
Seagate SkyHawk 8TB ST8000VX00228TBUsedStandard surveillance, 180TB/yr (maker-rated) · Recording tech not stated - excluded from every sizing answer$36.25TYPICAL
vs 31 tracked days
$289.99Buy on Amazon
Seagate SkyHawk 4TB ST4000VX0164TBUsedStandard surveillance, 180TB/yr (maker-rated) · Recording tech not stated - excluded from every sizing answer$37.00TYPICAL
vs 22 tracked days
$148.00Buy on Amazon
WD Purple 8TB WD81PURZ8TBUsedStandard surveillance, 180TB/yr (maker-rated) · Recording tech not stated - excluded from every sizing answer$37.81TYPICAL
vs 31 tracked days
$302.48Buy on Amazon
WD Purple Pro 18TB WD181PURP18TBUsedAI tier, 550TB/yr (maker-rated) · CMR$38.89TYPICAL
vs 18 tracked days
$699.99Buy on Amazon
WD Purple 8TB WD84PURZ8TBUsedStandard surveillance, 180TB/yr (maker-rated) · CMR$40.00TYPICAL
vs 26 tracked days
$319.99Buy on Amazon
Seagate SkyHawk 4TB ST4000VX0134TBUsedStandard surveillance, 180TB/yr (maker-rated) · SMR - excluded from every sizing answer$43.75TYPICAL
vs 31 tracked days
$175.00Buy on Amazon
WD Purple 4TB WD40PURX4TBUsedStandard surveillance, 180TB/yr (maker-rated) · Recording tech not stated - excluded from every sizing answer$45.00TYPICAL
vs 31 tracked days
$179.99Buy on Amazon

The top of the range: 18TB

The highest tier in stock today is 18TB (2 listings), cheapest at $28.33/TB. The tier below, 16TB, is cheapest at $34.37/TB.

Today the top tier is not dearer per unit: 18TB is 18% cheaper per TB than 16TB. A high price is still not a verdict - read the badge for the specific listing.

18TB - every listing in stock

The top tier only, cheapest first. The badge compares each listing with its own record; no past price is shown.

ProductCapacityConditionSpec (as labelled)Per TBVerdictPrice
WD Purple 18TB WD180PURZ18TBUsedStandard surveillance, 180TB/yr (maker-rated) · Recording tech not stated - excluded from every sizing answer$28.33TYPICAL
vs 31 tracked days
$510.00Buy on Amazon
WD Purple Pro 18TB WD181PURP18TBUsedAI tier, 550TB/yr (maker-rated) · CMR$38.89TYPICAL
vs 18 tracked days
$699.99Buy on Amazon

The workload ladder, as each maker rates it

RungRated workloadDrivesWarrantyMaker's document
Desktop-class120TB/yearSeagate BarraCuda (16-24TB)2 yearsSeagate BarraCuda 3.5" HDD Data Sheet, DS2131.3-US2411 (2024)
Standard surveillance180TB/yearSeagate SkyHawk, WD Purple (up to 6TB, and WD's current 8TB SKU)3 yearsSeagate SkyHawk DS1902-6-1710US; WD Purple data sheet, November 2025
WD Purple, higher tier360TB/yearWD Purple 8/10/12TB - specific part numbers only (WD82PURZ/WD101PURZ/WD121PURZ)3 yearsWD Purple data sheet, April 2019, pub. 2879-800012-A14
AI tier550TB/yearSeagate SkyHawk AI, WD Purple Pro5 yearsSeagate SkyHawk AI DS1960.15C-2310US; WD Purple Pro data sheet, July 2025

Ratings are the makers' own, read at source 15 September 2026; we measure none of them. The commonly repeated ~55TB/year desktop figure is not in Seagate's current BarraCuda sheet, which states 120TB/year - so 120 is what we print. Above the rating, Seagate's manual says: “Workloads exceeding the annualized rate may degrade the drive MTBF and impact product reliability.” (SkyHawk AI Serial ATA Product Manual, Rev. E (100855892, March 2021)). WD's own datasheets (WD Purple, November 2025; WD Purple Pro, July 2025) define how the workload rate is calculated but do not state a consequence for exceeding it, in any document we could render. We report that absence rather than assume a consequence we have not found WD state.

Sizing by camera count (computed live)

Inputs, each labelled with where it comes from: 3.2Mbps per camera - WD's own reference stream (single stream, 1080p, h.265, 25fps, WD Purple / WD Purple Pro data sheets (footnote 3)); 24 hours a day - continuous recording, the basis both makers annualise their ratings on; 30 days retained - our default, not a vendor figure. The drive column is the cheapest in-stock CMR surveillance drive that both holds the retention window and carries a rating above the annual writes. It is one drive: no recorder listing states a bay count, so we assume none.

CamerasAnnual writesCapacity for 30 daysLowest surveillance rung that covers itCheapest CMR drive that fits both
450.5TB/yr4.1TBStandard surveillance (180TB/yr)Seagate SkyHawk 6TB ST6000VX001 (6TB), $189.99 Buy on Amazon
8100.9TB/yr8.3TBStandard surveillance (180TB/yr)WD Purple Pro 18TB WD181PURP (18TB), $699.99 Buy on Amazon
16201.8TB/yr16.6TBWD Purple, higher tier (360TB/yr)WD Purple Pro 18TB WD181PURP (18TB), $699.99 Buy on Amazon

The honest tier answer: at the reference bitrate one camera writes 12.6TB a year, so the 180TB/year standard rung covers 14 cameras recording continuously and the 550TB/year AI tier covers 43. Most installs sit far below the AI tier's rating, so the cheaper drive is usually the correct one. We do not hold a new CMR standard-rung drive and a new CMR AI-tier drive at the same capacity today, so there is no like-for-like price gap to print.

Recorders by channel count: 8-channel NVRs · 16-channel NVRs.

What to watch in surveillance storage this event

Surveillance storage is two purchases that are usually made at once: a recorder (an NVR) and the drive that goes inside it. Both are on this page, in separate tables, because they are priced and badged separately and because the recorder listings in this category are unusually inconsistent about what is in the box. Every NVR row carries its drive-presence state exactly as the listing gives it - diskless, a drive bundled (with the capacity the listing states), or not stated. A recorder whose listing does not say is not assumed to be either; a buyer who guesses wrong either pays for a second drive or receives a recorder that cannot record.

The drive table lists every surveillance-class drive we track that is in stock today - Seagate SkyHawk and SkyHawk AI, WD Purple and WD Purple Pro - one row per drive, its cheapest offer, with the condition shown. Each row carries two labels: the workload rating its maker publishes for that line, and its recording technology. Where we do not hold a recording technology for a drive, the row says so and the drive is excluded from every sizing answer on this page. That is deliberate. A drive we cannot confirm as CMR is not one we will put inside a recommendation, even an arithmetic one.

What we do not do is assemble a recorder-plus-drive basket. Not one NVR listing we track states its drive bay form factor or its bay count, and a basket that assumed a 3.5-inch bay would be an inference dressed as a specification. The recorders and the drives are each priced and badged here; matching them is a check against the recorder maker's own documentation that only the buyer can make for the exact model.

The workload ladder, as the makers publish it

Hard drive makers rate surveillance drives by annual workload - terabytes transferred per year - because a recorder writes continuously and a desktop drive is not designed for that duty. The rungs below are the makers' own figures from their current data sheets, each cited in the ladder table on this page with the document and its date. They are ratings, not measurements, and we measure none of them.

One correction to a commonly repeated figure. Desktop drives are often said to be rated around 55TB a year. Seagate's current 3.5-inch BarraCuda data sheet, the one covering the 16 to 24TB models, states 120TB a year, and that is the figure we print. The 55TB number is not in the current sheet we could read, so it is not on this page.

The ladder runs from the desktop rung through standard surveillance drives (SkyHawk, and WD Purple at 180TB a year for its current retail part numbers), a higher WD Purple rung at 360TB a year that WD states only for three specific part numbers, to the AI tier - SkyHawk AI and WD Purple Pro - at 550TB a year. Seagate's own product manual states what happens above the rating: workloads exceeding the annualised rate may degrade the drive's reliability. WD's data sheets define the rate but state no consequence for exceeding it, and we report that absence rather than fill it.

Retention arithmetic, with every default labelled

How much drive you need is arithmetic: cameras, times bitrate, times hours recorded per day, times the number of days you want to keep. The only input that needs a source is the bitrate, and the only vendor-published per-camera figure we could render is WD's own: 3.2 megabits per second for a single 1080p H.265 stream at 25 frames per second, from the footnotes of the WD Purple and Purple Pro data sheets. That is the default in the table on this page and in our surveillance storage calculator. Real bitrates vary widely with resolution, codec, scene activity and encoder settings; use your own camera's documented or observed figure if you have it.

Hours per day defaults to 24 - continuous recording, which is also how both makers annualise their workload ratings in their own footnotes. Retention defaults to 30 days, and that one is our choice, not a vendor's: it is labelled as ours everywhere it appears. Doubling retention doubles the capacity figure and changes nothing about the workload tier, because a recorder that keeps 7 days and one that keeps 90 days write the same volume per year; one of them simply overwrites sooner.

The two numbers therefore answer two different questions. Capacity answers how big the drive must be to hold your retention window. Annual write volume answers which workload rung the drive needs. Buy the capacity your retention needs, on the cheapest rung whose rating is above your annual write volume.

The honest tier answer

At the reference bitrate, a small home or small-office system sits far below the AI tier's rating. The sizing table on this page shows the annual writes for 4, 8 and 16 cameras - the channel counts the recorders in this category are sold at - against each rung, computed from the same inputs, and where each rung runs out.

The AI tier exists for a reason, and it is not a scam: it is rated for more simultaneous streams and for recorders that run analytics on the stored video, and it carries a longer warranty on the makers' own terms. It suits a large camera count, high-bitrate cameras well above the reference figure, or a recorder that runs AI analytics across many streams. For most installs the cheaper rung is the correct buy, and the price comparison on this page shows what the difference costs today.

What June's Prime Day measured for this category

Not measurable: our tracking for this category began March 23, 2026, after June's Prime Day ran 2026-06-23 to 2026-06-26. We do not borrow another category's result to fill the gap. The coverage table in the June retrospective lists what could be measured and why the rest could not.

The trap: paying for a rating you will never use

The event trap in surveillance is the premium drive on a percent-off headline. An AI-tier drive at a discount can still cost materially more per terabyte than a standard surveillance drive of the same capacity, and an 8-camera home system will never approach the rating that premium buys.

Size first: cameras, bitrate, hours, days. Pick the cheapest rung whose rating clears your annual writes, confirm the drive is CMR, and only then read the badge on the listing you have chosen.

Before you buy: the honest version

An event is not a reason to replace a recorder that works. If your system records, retains what you need and its drive reports healthy, the right purchase this week is none. If a drive is failing or full, size its replacement with the arithmetic on this page, then buy the CMR drive on the rung you need when its badge says the price is low for it.

The standing surveillance: nvrs & drives pages

Frequently asked questions

Do I need an AI surveillance drive?

Only above about 43 cameras at WD's 3.2Mbps reference bitrate, recording 24 hours a day - that is where annual writes (about 12.6TB per camera) pass the 550TB/year AI-tier rating. Below that, a lower rung's rating covers you; the AI tier also suits recorders running analytics on many streams.

How much storage do I need for my cameras?

Cameras times bitrate times hours per day times retention days. At WD's 3.2Mbps reference, 24 hours a day and our 30-day default, the table on this page gives the capacity for 4, 8 and 16 cameras.

Can I use a desktop drive in an NVR?

Seagate rates its current 3.5-inch BarraCuda at 120TB a year, below the 180TB/year standard surveillance rung. At the reference bitrate that covers 9 cameras recording continuously. Surveillance drives are rated for continuous multi-stream writing; desktop drives are not rated for it.

Does this NVR come with a hard drive?

Each NVR row says what its listing states: diskless, drive bundled, or not stated. 16 recorders are in stock today; read the row before assuming.

Why are some drives excluded from the sizing answers?

Because we do not hold their recording technology. 28 of 40 surveillance drives in stock today are in that state; we never assume unknown is CMR.

What does TRACKING mean on a row?

Under seven days of that item's own history. 0 of 56 rows read that way today.

Other Prime Big Deal Days categories

Consumer SSD · External hard drives · Portable SSD · microSD · PS5 SSD · NAS devices · Consumer RAM · Enterprise & refurbished · High-capacity HDD (20TB+) · Gaming SSD (Gen4 & Gen5) · UPS & PDU · 10/25/40/100GbE networking · Enterprise flash, tape & JBOD · Racks, rails & server PSUs · Mini PCs for home servers & NAS · Local AI hardware: GPUs, RAM & NVMe · Gaming PCs & components · Thunderbolt & USB4 docks · NVMe & M.2 enclosures · Drive caddies, trays & adapters · HBAs, RAID & SATA cards · SAS & SATA cables · Drive docks & duplicators · DAS & RAID enclosures · USB flash drives · CFexpress & SD camera cards · KVM switches & remote access · Raspberry Pi & SBC storage · NAS upgrades: RAM, NICs & cache · DIY NAS cases & boards · 2.5GbE & 10GbE home networking · SATA SSDs · Portable power stations · Jackery · Anker SOLIX · EcoFlow · BLUETTI · Home backup power (2kWh and up) · NAS hard drives · Seagate IronWolf · WD Red Plus & Red Pro · Shuckable external drives · CPUs · Ryzen 7 9800X3D and X3D CPUs · the event hub

A category page exists only while it lists at least 4 in-stock products. Prices and badges are live; this page shows no historical price for any listing.