DAS and RAID Enclosures: Multi-Bay Direct-Attached Storage
Live prices updated · 31 in-stock products · tracked since August 21, 2026 · prices in this category are re-checked about once a day on a rolling cycle - the time above is our newest price, not every row's
Direct-attached multi-bay enclosures, split into those whose title states hardware RAID and those that present drives individually. Bays, drive size, RAID modes and link are as each listing states. 31 are in stock. 14 carry a verdict from our own price history (4 at or near their low); 17 are new and read TRACKING.
How to read the badge. A verdict compares today's price only with that item's own recorded prices - never with a list price. TRACKING means our record of the item is too short to judge. Of the 31 in stock, 4 read at or near their own low, 7 typical, 3 elevated and 17 tracking. No past price is printed for any listing.
Every specification below is the listing title's own statement, read 2026-10-07; a field it does not state reads "not sourced". A compatibility statement appears only where the title makes it, quoted after "Listing states" - the seller's claim, not our check. We publish no performance claim. Condition is printed on every row.
DAS is not a NAS
A direct-attached enclosure connects to one computer over USB, Thunderbolt or SAS; a NAS sits on the network and runs its own operating system. A DAS is simpler and usually cheaper per bay, and it has no apps, no remote access and no file sharing of its own. If you need those, the NAS devices page is the one to read.
Bay count is printed where the title states it. The drive size field says whether the listing claims 3.5-inch bays, 2.5-inch bays or both.
Hardware RAID, or let the computer do it
Enclosures in the first table state RAID modes in their titles - the box combines the drives itself. Those in the second present each drive to the computer, which leaves RAID to the operating system or to software such as ZFS. Hardware RAID in an enclosure ties the array to that enclosure's controller, which matters if the box fails.
We print the RAID levels each title names and nothing more. A RAID level is a layout, not a backup.
The trap: RAID 0 sold as speed
RAID 0 stripes data across drives with no redundancy - one drive failing loses everything on all of them. Several enclosures list it first. It is a legitimate choice for scratch space and the wrong one for anything you cannot replace.
Price the drives with the box: an empty enclosure's price leaves out everything that goes in its bays.
Related pages
- Drive enclosures by class - USB DAS and SAS JBOD, and what each one needs on the host.
- NAS devices - Networked storage with its own operating system.
- NVMe and M.2 enclosures - Single-drive SSD enclosures by link speed.
- Hard drive prices - Drives to fill the bays, by cost per terabyte.
Frequently asked questions
What is the difference between the two tables?
The first lists enclosures whose title states hardware RAID modes; the second lists enclosures that state none, which present drives individually. We do not test the RAID function.
Where do the specifications come from?
From each listing's own title, read through Amazon's product API on 7 October 2026. A field the title does not state reads "not sourced". A compatibility statement is printed only where the title makes it, in quotation marks after "Listing states" - the seller's claim, not our check.
How many enclosures carry a price verdict?
14 of 31. The rest entered our tracking on 7 October 2026 and read TRACKING.
Prices and badges are live; this page shows no historical price for any listing.