Racks split on two independent questions: open frame versus enclosed (airflow and cost vs security and dust containment, per vendor documentation) and 2-post versus 4-post (what mounts on each, decided by weight and depth). 34 racks tracked across 4 RU sizes. Cheapest tracked rack right now: $58.99 (StarTech).
Prices updated · 16 open-frame · 18 enclosed · 10 2-post · 19 4-post
An open-frame rack is exactly what it sounds like - a structural frame with mounting rails and no doors or side panels. Every maker's own marketing for this class states the same trade-off: unrestricted airflow because there is nothing in the way of it, a lower price because there is less material and no hardware (hinges, locks, latches) to manufacture, and no physical security or dust containment because there is nothing enclosing the equipment.
An enclosed cabinet adds doors (usually perforated or meshed to preserve some airflow, per the makers whose listings we track), side panels, and typically a lock. The trade is the reverse of open frame: more security and less dust ingress, at a higher price and an airflow path that depends on the door design rather than being unrestricted.
Neither is objectively better - a home lab in a closet with kids or pets nearby has a real case for enclosed; a rack in a locked server room with no foot traffic often has no need to pay for doors it will never close. The vendors describe the trade-off in exactly those terms - airflow and cost against security and containment - and we are not picking a side beyond stating what each class actually is.
A 2-post rack supports equipment at its front mounting ears only - no rear rail. This is standard for telecom, patch panels and networking gear, which is generally lighter and shorter (front-to-back) than a server. Every 2-post rack in our tracked catalogue is an open-frame design; we found no enclosed 2-post cabinets among verified listings.
A 4-post rack (and every enclosed cabinet, which is structurally a 4-post design with panels added) supports equipment along rails at both front and back. This is what a server generally needs - most rack-mount servers are too deep and too heavy to be supported safely by front ears alone, which is why server rail kits (see our rail-kit compatibility pages) are built for 4-post mounting, not 2-post.
If you are racking anything longer or heavier than basic networking gear, 4-post is very likely the correct structural choice regardless of open-frame-vs-enclosed - that second decision is about airflow and security, not about what the equipment needs to be held up.
This is the same trap the UPS cluster's server-rack page already flags for the rack itself, and it applies with equal force to the rack you put a UPS or server into: a rack's stated depth (external or internal - check which the listing means) is not the depth your equipment actually needs once cables are attached.
A server's own chassis depth, plus the bend radius of its power cord and network cables at the back, plus whatever cable management sits behind it, adds real inches beyond the bare chassis measurement. A rack listed at a depth that exactly matches a server's chassis spec sheet number, with no allowance for cabling, is very likely too shallow in practice - the rack door will not close, or the cables will be under permanent strain.
Measure the actual depth you need - chassis plus cable clearance - and check it against the rack's own stated depth (our table shows this where a listing states one) rather than assuming RU height is the only number that matters. See also our UPS-for-server-rack page, which flags the identical depth mismatch for UPS units specifically.
Racks use square, round, or threaded mounting holes, and this decides what hardware a piece of rack-mount equipment needs to actually install. Square-hole racks are the most common in the enterprise server market and typically use cage nuts; round-hole racks use a different clip or captive-nut style; threaded racks skip cage nuts entirely because the hole itself is tapped for a screw.
Our own rail-kit pages for Dell and HPE server generations state which hole type each specific kit assumes - see /rack/mounting and the linked rail pages for the details, rather than repeated here. A rack listing that does not state its own hole type renders as unverified on this page; do not assume square, even though it is the most common, without checking.
Most open-frame racks in the price range we track ship flat-packed - a shipping-cost reality for a bulky, mostly-empty steel frame, not a brand-specific choice. Enclosed cabinets vary more, and some ship substantially pre-assembled given their added door and panel hardware. Our table states assembled status only where a specific listing says so; assume flat-pack unless told otherwise.
Static and dynamic (rolling, on casters) load ratings are the specification Amazon listing titles state least often in this entire cluster - of 34 racks we track, none state either figure in the title text. We sourced exactly one static load figure from a maker's own product page (NavePoint, cited below) for one specific 12U model. Every other tracked rack's load rating renders as unverified - not estimated, not assumed from a similar model, simply not stated where we could not find the maker's own figure.
Rack noise is a function of what you put inside it far more than the rack itself - an empty frame makes no sound. See our used-server noise page for the honest, unattributed-figure-free treatment of what actually generates rack noise (fans, mostly, and their behaviour under load), which carries the same zero-invented-decibel bar this cluster holds to.
Placement matters for airflow and for weight distribution: a fully loaded 42U rack is a genuinely heavy object, and floor loading (for the rack itself, separate from anything the equipment inside draws electrically) is a real consideration in a home or office setting the same way it is in a datacenter, though we do not publish floor-loading guidance ourselves - that is a structural question for whoever certifies your floor, not this page.
Static load shows only where a maker's own page states one - see the sourcing note below the table for why that is one row out of 34.
| Rack | RU | Type | Style | Depth | Static load | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| StarTech | 8U | 2-post | open-frame | 483mm | unverified | $58.99 | Buy |
| StarTech | 12U | 2-post | open-frame | 483mm | unverified | $59.99 | Buy |
| NavePoint | 42U | 4-post | open-frame | 483mm | unverified | $201.28 | Buy |
| NavePoint | 22U | 2-post | open-frame | 483mm | unverified | $209.99 | Buy |
| NavePoint | 42U | 2-post | open-frame | 584mm | unverified | $225.99 | Buy |
| NavePoint | 45U | 2-post | open-frame | 584mm | unverified | $241.99 | Buy |
| StarTech | 12U | 4-post | open-frame | 1016mm | unverified | $249.99 | Buy |
| StarTech | 42U | 2-post | open-frame | 483mm | unverified | $252.99 | Buy |
| StarTech | 6U | 2-post | enclosed | 483mm | unverified | $257.99 | Buy |
| NavePoint | 42U | 2-post | open-frame | 483mm | unverified | $285.99 | Buy |
| NavePoint | 12U | 4-post | open-frame | 483mm | unverified | $301.99 | Buy |
| StarTech | 9U | 2-post | enclosed | 483mm | unverified | $307.99 | Buy |
| NavePoint | 45U | 2-post | open-frame | 483mm | unverified | $319.99 | Buy |
| StarTech | 15U | 4-post | open-frame | 483mm | unverified | $322.99 | Buy |
| NavePoint | 25U | 4-post | open-frame | unverified | unverified | $329.99 | Buy |
| StarTech | 25U | 4-post | open-frame | 483mm | unverified | $334.99 | Buy |
| StarTech | 9U | 4-post | enclosed | 483mm | unverified | $343.99 | Buy |
| StarTech | 42U | 4-post | open-frame | 483mm | unverified | $357.99 | Buy |
| Tripp Lite | 9U | wall-mount | enclosed | unverified | unverified | $359.99 | Buy |
| Tripp Lite | 9U | wall-mount | enclosed | unverified | unverified | $396.93 | Buy |
| NavePoint | 42U | 4-post | open-frame | 483mm | unverified | $425.99 | Buy |
| StarTech | 12U | 4-post | enclosed | 483mm | unverified | $469.99 | Buy |
| Tripp Lite | 10U | wall-mount | enclosed | unverified | unverified | $505.93 | Buy |
| StarTech | 12U | 4-post | enclosed | 483mm | unverified | $545.99 | Buy |
| StarTech | 12U | 4-post | enclosed | 483mm | unverified | $596.99 | Buy |
| StarTech | 18U | 4-post | enclosed | 483mm | unverified | $621.99 | Buy |
| StarTech | 12U | 4-post | enclosed | 483mm | unverified | $712.99 | Buy |
| StarTech | 18U | 4-post | enclosed | 737mm | unverified | $731.99 | Buy |
| Tripp Lite | 18U | wall-mount | enclosed | unverified | unverified | $797.93 | Buy |
| StarTech | 22U | 4-post | enclosed | 838mm | unverified | $876.99 | Buy |
| StarTech | 18U | 4-post | enclosed | 483mm | unverified | $917.99 | Buy |
| StarTech | 24U | 4-post | enclosed | 737mm | unverified | $949.99 | Buy |
| Tripp Lite | 42U | enclosed | enclosed | 483mm | unverified | $1649.92 | Buy |
| StarTech | 42U | 4-post | enclosed | 914mm | unverified | $1905.99 | Buy |
9U racks · 12U racks · 18U racks · 42U racks · Rails, shelves and cage nuts covers what actually mounts inside · Rack PDUs for the power side · UPS for a server rack covers the same depth trap for UPS units specifically · Server noise, the honest, zero-invented-decibel treatment · rack disk shelves and used servers are the equipment that goes inside.
Vendors describe the trade the same way: open frame maximises airflow (no doors or side panels to restrict it) and costs less; enclosed cabinets add doors, sides and usually a lock, at a higher price and with an airflow path the manufacturer's own documentation typically routes front-to-back through perforated or meshed doors. Choose based on whether physical security and dust containment matter more to you than unrestricted airflow and lower cost - both are legitimate answers.
A 2-post frame supports equipment by its front mounting ears alone - lighter gear, telecom and networking racks typically use this. A 4-post frame (and every enclosed cabinet, which is structurally 4-post) supports equipment along rails at both front and back, which is what a server's weight and depth generally require. Check the specific rack's stated static load rating against your equipment's weight before assuming either works.
A rack's own external or internal depth measurement is not the same number as how deep your server actually is once cables are plugged into the back - a 600mm-deep rack can be too shallow for a server that is 700mm deep with its power and network cables allowed to bend, even though the server 'fits' with the door closed and no cables attached. Measure your equipment's real depth including cable clearance, then check the rack's stated depth, not just its RU height, before buying.
Racks use square, round, or threaded mounting holes, and rail kits are frequently built for one specific hole type - see our rails compatibility pages for exactly which hole type specific Dell and HPE rail generations need. A rack listing that does not state its hole type renders as unverified on this page rather than assumed square (the common default) or round.
Check the specific listing - our table states assembled status only where the listing itself says so, and most open-frame racks in this price range ship flat-packed for shipping-cost reasons regardless of brand. Assume flat-pack unless the listing explicitly states otherwise.
Only where the maker publishes a figure - our table shows a static load rating for the one model we could source one for (NavePoint's own product page, cited below) and renders every other tracked rack's load rating as unverified rather than estimated. Amazon listing titles for server racks almost never state a load figure; check the maker's own product page for your specific model before assuming a number.
Specification claims on this page were checked against the pages below on 4 August 2026. Where a widely-repeated figure did not survive that check, we report what the source says now and say so in the text rather than repeating the familiar number.