Steam Machine SSD Upgrade: What Fits and What It Costs

Live prices updated Β· 80 in-stock drives confirmed at 2230 or 2280 length

Quick answer

The Steam Machine ships with 512GB or 2TB of NVMe storage, and iFixit documents a single M.2 slot that takes 2230 or 2280 drives. Baldur's Gate 3 alone asks for 150GB, 29% of the 512GB model. The cheapest new 2TB drive that fits is $289.95 today (2280, $144.97/TB).

Share:WhatsAppFacebookPost on X

What the Steam Machine ships with, and what it accepts

Valve's own spec page lists two models and one storage line for each: β€œTwo Steam Machine models: 512GB NVMe SSD / 2TB NVMe SSD / Both models include a high-speed microSD card slot” (Valve, Steam Machine, read 2026-09-26). Valve does not print an M.2 length, a PCIe generation or a drive-size limit anywhere on that page. The length comes from iFixit:

PRESS / TEARDOWN - iFIXIT, NOT VALVEβ€œThe Steam Machine has a single M.2 NVMe slot that's compatible with 2230 or 2280 form factors.” - iFixit, Steam Machine (2026) SSD Replacement, Spencer Day, published 2026-09-16, read 2026-09-26. iFixit flags the guide as made in collaboration with the manufacturer, but the words are iFixit's: Valve's own spec page names no M.2 length. Follow iFixit's guide for the procedure; we do not reproduce it.

That is why every table on this site filters on a length we hold for the drive. We hold a length for 80 in-stock NVMe drives (45 at 2230, 35 at 2280); 0 more are in stock with no recorded length and are left out rather than assumed to fit. 106 drives with a factory heatsink are also left out: iFixit states no heatsink clearance for this bay, and we do not list a fit we cannot confirm.

What an upgrade costs today

CapacityCheapest new drive that fitsLengthPricePer TB
1TBKingston NV3 1TB M.2 2280 NVMe SSD2280$159.00$159.00/TB
2TBKingston NV3 2TB M.2 2280 NVMe SSD2280$289.95$144.97/TB
4TBKingston NV3 4TB M.2 2280 NVMe SSD2280$518.50$129.63/TB

Levels, not comparisons: each row is the cheapest new drive we can confirm fits, at today's price, whatever its length. Launch prices for the machine itself were reported at $1,049.00 for 512GB and $1,349.00 for 2TB (Kotaku, 24 June 2026, Aftermath, 22 June 2026); Valve's public page shows no price, so those are press figures, not Valve's. The $300.00 step between the two models is the number to hold against the upgrade row above.

Every in-stock drive that fits, 2230 and 2280

In stock only, cheapest per terabyte first, one row per drive - its cheapest offer, condition shown. The verdict compares each drive with its own recorded price; a drive we have tracked for under seven days reads TRACKING and shows the date its record began. No past price is shown.

DriveM.2 lengthCapacityPCIe (as listed)ConditionPer TBVerdictPrice
Kingston NV3 4TB M.2 2280 NVMe SSD22804TBGen4New$129.63/TBTRACKING
tracked since Sep 26, 2026
$518.50Buy
Crucial P310 4TB SSD22804TBGen4New$143.50/TBTRACKING
tracked since Sep 26, 2026
$574.00Buy
Kingston NV3 2TB M.2 2280 NVMe SSD22802TBGen4New$144.97/TBTRACKING
tracked since Sep 26, 2026
$289.95Buy
Corsair MP700 PRO 2TB PCIe 5.0 M.222802TBGen5Used / renewed$149.50/TBAT/NEAR LOW$298.99Buy
Samsung SSD 990 EVO Plus 4TB22804TBGen4New$149.75/TBTYPICAL$599.00Buy
TeamGroup MP44S SSD 2TB SLC Cache Gen 4x4 M.2 2230 PCIe 4.0 NVMe Steam Deck A...22302TBGen4New$150.00/TBTRACKING
tracked since Sep 26, 2026
$299.99Buy
Samsung SSD 990 EVO Plus 2TB22802TBGen4Used / renewed$150.00/TBAT/NEAR LOW$299.99Buy
Crucial P310 M.2 2280 2TB PCI-Express 4.0 x4 NVMe 3D NAND Internal Solid St...22802TBGen4New$153.06/TBTRACKING
tracked since Sep 26, 2026
$306.12Buy
Kingston NV3 1TB M.2 2280 NVMe SSD22801TBGen4New$159.00/TBTRACKING
tracked since Sep 26, 2026
$159.00Buy
Crucial T705 4TB PCIe 5.0 M.222804TBGen5New$162.50/TBELEVATED$649.99Buy
Crucial P510 2TB SSD G9 TLC NAND PCIE GEN 5 X4 NVME M.2 2280 Internal Solid22802TBGen4New$168.50/TBTYPICAL$337.00Buy
Patriot Viper VP4000 Mini 1TB PCIe Gen4 x4 M.2 2230 SSD22301TBGen4New$169.99/TBTRACKING
tracked since Sep 26, 2026
$169.99Buy
Crucial P310 1TB SSD22801TBGen4New$172.18/TBTRACKING
tracked since Sep 26, 2026
$172.18Buy
Acer Predator GM7 4TB SSD: M.2 2280 PCIe Gen 4 x4 NVMe 2.022804TBGen4New$175.75/TBTYPICAL$702.99Buy
Crucial P510 PCIe Gen5 NVMe 1TB SSD22801TBGen4New$176.74/TBTYPICAL$176.74Buy
Samsung SSD 990 PRO 2TB22802TBGen4Used / renewed$179.74/TBTYPICAL$359.48Buy
Crucial P510 2TB 3D NAND NVMe PCIe 5.0 M.2 SSD up to 10,000 MB/s22802TBGen4New$182.50/TBTYPICAL$365.00Buy
Crucial P510 PCIe Gen5 NVMe 2TB SSD22802TBGen5New$184.00/TBTYPICAL$368.00Buy
Crucial T700 4TB Heatsink PCIe 5.0 M.222804TBGen5New$187.00/TBTYPICAL$748.00Buy
Samsung SSD 990 PRO 4TB22804TBGen4Used / renewed$187.50/TBELEVATED$749.99Buy
Samsung SSD 9100 PRO 2TB22802TBGen5Used / renewed$188.09/TBTYPICAL$376.19Buy
Crucial P310 2TB M.2 2230 SSD22302TBGen4New$188.95/TBTRACKING
tracked since Sep 26, 2026
$377.90Buy
TeamGroup MP44S SSD 1TB SLC Cache Gen 4x4 M.2 2230 PCIe 4.0 NVMe Steam Deck A...22301TBGen4New$190.99/TBTRACKING
tracked since Sep 26, 2026
$190.99Buy
Lexar 8TB NM790 Internal NVMe SSD, 7000/6200 MB/s22808TBGen4New$193.75/TBELEVATED$1,549.99Buy
Addlink S91 1TB 2230 NVMe High Performance PCIe Gen4x4 2230 3D NAND SSD - R...22301TBGen4New$194.44/TBTRACKING
tracked since Sep 26, 2026
$194.44Buy
Kioxia SSD 1TB BG4 M.2 2230 30mm KBG40ZNS1T02 NVMe PCIe Gen3 x4 Solid Stat...22301TBGen3Used / renewed$195.88/TBTRACKING
tracked since Sep 26, 2026
$195.88Buy
Kioxia Internal SSD2230512GBGen3Used / renewed$198.00/TBTRACKING
tracked since Sep 26, 2026
$99.00Buy
PNY CS2142 1TB PCIe Gen4 x4 NVMe M.2 2230 Internal SSD22301TBGen4New$199.99/TBTRACKING
tracked since Sep 26, 2026
$199.99Buy
Seagate FireCuda X1070 4TB22804TBGen4New$207.50/TBTYPICAL$829.99Buy
Samsung SSD 990 EVO Plus 1TB22801TBGen4Used / renewed$208.44/TBTYPICAL$208.44Buy

55 of 80 rows read TRACKING today: most of the 2230 drives were added to our catalogue on 26 September 2026 for this page, and a verdict needs seven days of a drive's own history. They will earn verdicts as their prices move.

How much of 512GB one modern game uses

Install sizes below are each publisher's own figure, from the β€œStorage” line of the game's Steam system requirements (read 2026-09-26). The share is of the nominal 512GB; Valve does not state how much the operating system takes, so the real share of free space is higher.

The measured cost of the short form factor: where the same drive is sold in both lengths, the 2230 version costs +10% at 512GB (1 pair), +43% at 1TB (2 pairs), +40% at 2TB (2 pairs) against the 2280. The full comparison.

Why the length matters more on the Steam Machine than on the Steam Deck

The Steam Deck takes one length of drive: iFixit's Steam Deck guide describes a single-sided M.2 2230, the short card built for handhelds and thin laptops. That market is smaller and its drives cost more per terabyte, which is simply the price a Deck owner pays to upgrade. The Steam Machine is a desktop-sized box, and iFixit's guide describes a slot that accepts either the short 2230 card or the full-length 2280 card most desktop drives are built on.

If that holds for your unit, the practical effect is that a Steam Machine owner is shopping in the much larger 2280 market, not only the 2230 one. On our catalogue today that means the difference between a few dozen drives and well over a hundred, and between the handheld market's prices and the desktop market's. We measure what that is worth, drive for drive, on the 2230 vs 2280 page.

Valve's own spec page does not state either length, which is why we attribute the claim to iFixit on every page rather than present it as Valve's. If Valve publishes a length specification, we will cite that instead.

How we choose which drives to list

A drive appears on this page only when our catalogue holds its M.2 length, and that length is 2230 or 2280. Most M.2 listings on Amazon never state their length at all, or bury it; a drive whose length we have not recorded is left out and counted above, not assumed to be 2280 because most drives are. The same rule governs our Steam Deck page, and it is the only way a fit claim stays true.

Drives sold with a factory heatsink are left out as well. iFixit's guide does not describe a heatsink or a clearance figure for the Steam Machine's drive bay, and a thick heatsink is the usual reason an otherwise compatible drive does not physically fit a small chassis. If a clearance figure is published by Valve or measured in a teardown we can open, we will add a heatsink table with that figure beside it.

We state no PCIe generation requirement. Valve publishes none, iFixit's guide names none, and the one teardown claim we found was reported second-hand. The table prints each drive's PCIe generation only where the listing itself states it.

Every price is live, one row per drive at its cheapest in-stock offer, with its condition shown. The verdict badge compares each drive with its own recorded history, never with a list price; our Steam Machine SSD deals page sorts the same drives by verdict.

Replacing the drive

iFixit rates its Steam Machine SSD replacement guide "Moderate" with an estimated time of "30 minutes - 1 hour". Follow iFixit's guide+SSD+Replacement/225213) for the procedure itself - we link it rather than restate it, because a repair procedure copied out of its source goes stale the moment the source is corrected.

Before opening anything, back up what matters and check Valve's own support pages for anything the warranty says about self-service storage changes; we have not sourced a Valve warranty statement on this and do not state one.

If you only need room for a few more games, adding a microSD card is the other route Valve built in. We have not yet established whether the slot is UHS-I, UHS-II or microSD Express, and the right card differs completely between those, so we do not recommend one yet.

Choosing a capacity

Size the drive by the games you actually keep installed, not by the size of your library. Using publisher-stated installs, three of the largest games on our list together take 430GB - most of a 512GB drive before the operating system is counted. Our how-much-storage page works through 512GB, 1TB, 2TB and 4TB against those figures.

Capacity is also where price per terabyte usually improves: larger drives in the same line tend to cost less per terabyte, though not always, and the table above prints each drive's figure so you can see where the step flattens today.

Steam Machine or Steam Deck: the two upgrade paths

Both of Valve's machines let you replace the internal drive, and both use NVMe. What differs is the length the slot takes and therefore the market you buy in. Our Steam Machine vs Steam Deck page prices both upgrade paths at the same capacities, live.

Before you buy: the honest version

An event or a new console is not a reason to buy a drive you do not need yet. If your Steam Machine has room for the games you play, the right amount of storage to buy today is none. When it fills up, buy the capacity that fixes that - and check the verdict on the specific drive before you buy it.

The Steam Machine SSD pages

Frequently asked questions

What SSD does the Steam Machine take?

An M.2 NVMe drive. Valve's own spec page states only "512GB NVMe SSD" and "2TB NVMe SSD" and names no length. iFixit's repair guide says "The Steam Machine has a single M.2 NVMe slot that's compatible with 2230 or 2280 form factors." - that is iFixit's statement, not a Valve specification.

Can I put a 2280 SSD in the Steam Machine?

According to iFixit, yes: its guide describes a slot compatible with 2230 or 2280 drives and a movable standoff between the two. Valve has not published this itself, so we attribute it to iFixit everywhere it appears.

How much does a Steam Machine SSD upgrade cost?

Today the cheapest new drive that fits is $159.00 at 1TB and $289.95 at 2TB, and $518.50 at 4TB, from 80 in-stock drives we can confirm at 2230 or 2280 length.

Is 512GB enough for a Steam Machine?

For a few games at a time. The three largest publisher-stated installs on our list - Baldur's Gate 3 (150GB), Red Dead Redemption 2 (150GB), Black Myth: Wukong (130GB) - total 430GB before the operating system is counted. Our how-much-storage page sets out the arithmetic.

What microSD card should I use in a Steam Machine?

We cannot say yet. Valve's page calls it a "high-speed microSD card slot" without naming the bus standard (UHS-I, UHS-II or microSD Express), and the card worth recommending differs completely between them. We will publish a card page once the standard is sourced.

Do you sell or price the Steam Machine itself?

No. Valve sells it through Steam reservations. Amazon listings for it are third-party resellers well above the reported launch price, so we price only the drives that go in it.

Prices are current Amazon prices. We price the drives, not the Steam Machine: Valve sells it through Steam, and the Amazon listings for it are third-party resellers.