2230 vs 2280 SSD: What the Short Form Factor Costs

Live prices updated ยท 5 matched pairs

Quick answer

Where the same drive is sold in both lengths, the 2230 version costs 35.0% more on average than the 2280 today, across 5 matched pairs at 512GB, 1TB, 2TB. The gap runs from +10.1% (Micron 2400 512GB) to +55.9% (Kingston NV3 2TB).

Share:WhatsAppFacebookPost on X

The matched premium, pair by pair

Each row is one drive sold under the same model designation in both lengths, new against new, at the same capacity, each at its cheapest in-stock offer. This is the headline measurement because it holds the product constant: the only thing that differs within a pair is the length.

DriveCapacity2230 price2280 price2230 premium
Micron 2400512GB$119.98$109.00+10.1%
Crucial P3101TB$250.01$172.18+45.2%
Kingston NV31TB$222.94$159.00+40.2%
Crucial P3102TB$377.90$306.12+23.4%
Kingston NV32TB$451.99$289.95+55.9%

By capacity

The levels, labelled as levels

For context only, the cheapest new drive of each length at each compared capacity - whichever models those happen to be. This is not the premium: the two cheapest drives are usually different products, so the gap between them measures the product mix as much as the length.

CapacityCheapest new 2230Cheapest new 2280
512GBPatriot Viper VP4000 Mini 500GB PCIe Gen4 x4 M.2 2230 SSD, $209.98/TBCrucial P310 500GB SSD, $208.96/TB
1TBPatriot Viper VP4000 Mini 1TB PCIe Gen4 x4 M.2 2230 SSD, $169.99/TBKingston NV3 1TB M.2 2280 NVMe SSD, $159.00/TB
2TBTeamGroup MP44S SSD 2TB SLC Cache Gen 4x4 M.2 2230 PCIe 4.0 NVMe Steam Deck A..., $150.00/TBKingston NV3 2TB M.2 2280 NVMe SSD, $144.97/TB

PRESS / TEARDOWN - iFIXIT, NOT VALVEโ€œThe Steam Machine has a single M.2 NVMe slot that's compatible with 2230 or 2280 form factors.โ€ - iFixit, Steam Machine (2026) SSD Replacement, Spencer Day, published 2026-09-16, read 2026-09-26. iFixit flags the guide as made in collaboration with the manufacturer, but the words are iFixit's: Valve's own spec page names no M.2 length. Follow iFixit's guide for the procedure; we do not reproduce it.

Every drive in the comparison

The drives behind the pairs above, both lengths, each at its cheapest offer. The verdict compares each drive with its own recorded price; a drive we have tracked for under seven days reads TRACKING and shows the date its record began. No past price is shown.

DriveM.2 lengthCapacityPCIe (as listed)ConditionPer TBVerdictPrice
Micron 2400 512GB NVMe SSD2230512GBGen4New$239.96/TBTRACKING
tracked since Sep 26, 2026
$119.98Buy
Crucial P310 1TB M.2 2230 SSD22301TBGen4New$250.01/TBTRACKING
tracked since Sep 26, 2026
$250.01Buy
Kingston NV3 1TB M.2 2230 NVMe SSD22301TBnot statedNew$222.94/TBTRACKING
tracked since Sep 26, 2026
$222.94Buy
Crucial P310 2TB M.2 2230 SSD22302TBGen4New$188.95/TBTRACKING
tracked since Sep 26, 2026
$377.90Buy
Kingston NV3 2TB M.2 2230 NVMe SSD22302TBnot statedNew$226.00/TBTRACKING
tracked since Sep 26, 2026
$451.99Buy
Micron 2400 512GB M.2 2280 PCIe NVMe Gen 4x4 SSD MTFDKBA512QFM - 1BD1AABHA2280512GBGen4New$218.00/TBTRACKING
tracked since Sep 26, 2026
$109.00Buy
Crucial P310 1TB SSD22801TBGen4New$172.18/TBTRACKING
tracked since Sep 26, 2026
$172.18Buy
Kingston NV3 1TB M.2 2280 NVMe SSD22801TBGen4New$159.00/TBTRACKING
tracked since Sep 26, 2026
$159.00Buy
Crucial P310 M.2 2280 2TB PCI-Express 4.0 x4 NVMe 3D NAND Internal Solid St...22802TBGen4New$153.06/TBTRACKING
tracked since Sep 26, 2026
$306.12Buy
Kingston NV3 2TB M.2 2280 NVMe SSD22802TBGen4New$144.97/TBTRACKING
tracked since Sep 26, 2026
$289.95Buy

10 of 10 read TRACKING: most 2230 drives entered our catalogue on 26 September 2026.

Why this is measured model for model

The tempting comparison is the cheapest 2230 drive against the cheapest 2280 drive at each capacity. It is also the wrong one. The cheapest 2280 terabyte on any given day tends to come from a high-volume desktop line, while the cheapest 2230 terabyte comes from whatever handheld or OEM part is on the shelf, and the two can differ in controller, flash, generation and warranty. A gap between them tells you about two different products at least as much as about length.

Holding the model constant removes that. When Crucial sells a P310 in 2230 and a P310 in 2280, or Kingston sells an NV3 in both, the maker is offering the same product line at two lengths, and the price difference between them is as close as the market gets to a price for the length itself. That is the same discipline this site applies to every percentage difference it publishes - the recertified discount, the microSD Express premium, the price index - and it exists because the unmatched version has, on this site, produced the wrong sign more than once.

The cost of doing it properly is coverage. Only a handful of product lines are sold under one designation in both lengths, so the comparison rests on a small number of pairs, and every figure on this page prints how many. A small matched sample is a more honest basis than a large unmatched one.

What counts as a pair

Two drives pair only when they carry the same model designation from the same maker, at the same capacity, both new, neither sold with a factory heatsink. The designation has to match exactly. Lines with similar names - a maker's 2230 part carrying an extra letter, or a mobile variant of a desktop drive - are treated as different products, because pairing them would mean asserting they are the same drive, and we have no maker statement that says so.

Each side of a pair is that model's cheapest in-stock new offer. Used and renewed offers are left out of the comparison, because a used 2230 against a new 2280 would measure condition, not length. Heatsink variants are left out for the same reason: a heatsink changes the product and the price.

A pair's percentage is the 2230 price over the 2280 price, minus one. The per-capacity figure is the plain average of the pairs at that capacity, and the headline is the plain average of every pair. We do not weight by sales or popularity, because we do not measure either.

Why the gap exists - what we can and cannot say

We have not found a maker's statement explaining why 2230 drives cost more, and we do not invent one. What the catalogue does show is the size of the two markets: on any day far fewer 2230 drives are in stock than 2280, across fewer capacities, and 2230 stops at a lower top capacity. The 2230 card is the handheld, thin-laptop and small-PC format; 2280 is the standard desktop and console format. A thinner, lower-volume market is a plausible reason for higher prices, and that is as far as we go.

What we will not do is dress a plausible reason as a measured cause. If a maker publishes an explanation - cost of higher-density flash packages on a shorter board, for example - we will cite it with its date. Until then the page reports the premium and the market's size side by side, and leaves the causal story unwritten.

What this means for a Steam Machine buyer

If your Steam Machine's slot accepts a 2280 drive, as iFixit's guide describes, you can buy in the larger, cheaper market. At the capacities compared above, the matched premium is what you would otherwise pay for choosing the short card - it is the dollar value of full-size support, drive for drive.

It is not a reason to rule out 2230. A 2230 drive can be the cheapest option at a given capacity on a given day, and the table of levels shows where that happens. It is simply a reason to check both lengths before buying, which is what the Steam Machine SSD hub lists side by side.

For a Steam Deck owner the question does not arise: the Deck takes 2230 only, and the premium above is part of the price of upgrading it. Steam Machine vs Steam Deck prices both upgrade paths at the same capacities.

How the figures stay honest over time

Every figure on this page is recomputed from current prices on every load. If a pair's 2230 drive goes out of stock, the pair disappears rather than being compared against an old price; if a new pair comes into stock, it joins. The capacity list changes with it.

The page exists only while there is something to compare: at least four in-stock 2230 drives at capacities that also exist in 2280, and at least one same-model pair. If stock falls below that, the page is withdrawn rather than left showing a thin or unmatched comparison.

Before you buy: the honest version

A premium is not a reason to buy now or to wait. If your device only takes 2230, the premium is simply the price of the upgrade; if it takes 2280, buy whichever fits and is cheapest when you actually need the space.

Related

Frequently asked questions

Is a 2230 SSD more expensive than a 2280?

Today, yes, when the comparison is the same drive in both lengths: +35.0% on average across 5 pairs. A comparison of the cheapest 2230 against the cheapest 2280 overall measures two different product mixes, so we do not headline it.

Why do 2230 drives cost more?

We have not sourced a maker's statement on why, so we do not assert one. What we can show is the shape of the market: far fewer 2230 drives are in stock than 2280, across fewer capacities, and the 2230 market is the handheld and thin-laptop market. Those are observations, not a proven cause.

Does the Steam Machine take 2280 drives?

According to iFixit's Steam Machine SSD guide, yes - 2230 or 2280. Valve's own spec page names no length, so this is iFixit's statement and we badge it as such.

Which drives do you compare?

Only the same model designation from the same maker at the same capacity - for example a Crucial P310 2230 against a Crucial P310 2280 - both new, neither with a heatsink, each at its cheapest in-stock offer. Similar-sounding lines with different model names are not paired.

Why are some capacities missing?

A capacity appears only where a pair exists today. We held 45 in-stock 2230 drives at capacities that also exist in 2280; where no same-model pair is in stock, there is nothing to compare.

Will this number change?

Every load recomputes it from current prices. As prices move, or as new pairs come into stock, the figures move with them; nothing on this page is typed in.