Rack PDU Buying Guide: Basic, Metered, Switched & ATS

Quick answer

A PDU (power distribution unit) turns one rack circuit into the several outlets your equipment needs. Four classes exist - basic, metered, switched and ATS - each adding a capability the manufacturer states, at a price step we compute live below. Cheapest tracked unit right now: $101.41 (Eaton). This page states what plugs fit what per the published electrical standard and never recommends a circuit, a breaker, or a wiring change.

Prices updated · 44 PDUs tracked across 3 classes

Share:WhatsAppFacebookPost on X
What this page does not do

We do not answer whether a specific circuit can take a specific load - that question has a real answer for your building and your wiring, and it belongs to a licensed electrician, not a website reading Amazon listings.

The four classes, per the maker

A basic PDU is, per every manufacturer's own description of the class, a power strip built for a rack: it distributes one input circuit to several outlets with no monitoring and no remote control. It is the cheapest class and the one with the fewest things that can fail electronically.

A metered PDU adds a display or remote readout of the load passing through it - APC and CyberPower both describe this specifically as visibility into current draw, not control over it. You can see what is plugged in is drawing; you cannot turn any of it off remotely.

A switched PDU adds outlet-level remote control - the manufacturer's own stated capability is that individual outlets can be turned on and off over the network, which is how a switched PDU power-cycles a hung server without a trip to the rack. That is the maker's description of what the product does, not a use case we are recommending for your setup.

An ATS (automatic transfer switch) PDU has two power inputs, typically fed from separate circuits or separate UPS units, and automatically switches the load to whichever input is live if the other fails - again, the manufacturer's own stated behaviour for the class. It is the most expensive of the four and the only one that addresses a single-circuit failure rather than just monitoring or control.

The plug-and-receptacle section

This is what fits what, sourced to the published NEMA and IEC standards - never what you should install. A PDU's input plug and its outlets are frequently different connector types, and getting that pairing wrong is the most common expensive mistake in this category.

NEMA 5-15P is the ordinary household plug shape, rated 15A. NEMA 5-20P is a related but mechanically different plug rated 20A - the standard's own dimensional specification rotates one blade 90 degrees specifically so a 5-20P plug does not fit a receptacle that is only rated for 15A. The reverse works: a 5-15P plug fits a 5-20R receptacle, because the standard designed the 20A receptacle with a T-shaped slot that accepts both. That asymmetry is the standard's own design, not a workaround.

Twist-lock plugs (the L-series - L5-20P, L5-30P, L6-20P, L6-30P) are a separate mechanical family again, sized differently from the straight-blade 5-series and from each other by amperage class - the published standard groups 5-15/5-20 as one physical envelope, L5-20/L6-20 as a second, and L5-30/L6-30 as a third, distinct size. None of the three interchange.

On the output side, IEC C13 (rated 10A) and C19 (rated 16A) are physically different sizes - the standard's own pin spacing is 14mm horizontal on a C13/C14 pair versus 13mm horizontal but 8mm vertical on a C19/C20 pair - and the standard states plainly that connectors are dimensioned so a lower-rated one cannot be forced into a higher-rated inlet's mate. A C13 server power cord will not seat in a C20 inlet, and a C19 cord will not seat in a C14 inlet.

None of this is guidance about your circuit or your wiring. It is what the standard says fits what - check the exact input plug and outlet types stated on the PDU listing itself against what your equipment's own cords require, and if the question is whether your circuit can supply what a given plug needs, that question goes to a licensed electrician.

The continuous-load figure: what we found, and what we didn't

APC's own published datasheets for two rack PDUs - the AP7930 (discontinued) and the currently-sold AP8930 - both state an "Input current limits" of 20A alongside a separate, lower "Line Rated Current" of 16A. 16 divided by 20 is exactly 0.8, which matches the continuous-load derating figure often discussed in this category - though neither APC datasheet uses the words "80%" or "continuous load" anywhere; they simply publish both numbers. We report that as what it is: two of APC's own published figures on two specific products, not a general rule we are asserting on APC's behalf.

We looked for a citable statement of this convention in the NEC's own text (NFPA 70, Article 210.19/210.20) and in Tripp Lite's and CyberPower's own documentation and could not get a rendered, quotable copy of either this session - stated here as a sourcing gap, not filled in with what is commonly repeated elsewhere.

Every PDU we track

Basic PDUs in stock (9)

PDUClassFormInput plugAmpsOutletsPrice
EatonBasic1UNEMA 5-15P15A13xNEMA$101.41Buy
Tripp LiteBasicunverifiedNEMA 5-15Punverifiedunverified$114.05Buy
Tripp LiteBasic0UNEMA 5-15Punverified14xNEMA$150.55Buy
Tripp LiteBasic1UL5-20Punverifiedunverified$176.52Buy
Tripp LiteBasic1UNEMA 5-20Punverifiedunverified$176.73Buy
APCBasic1Uunverifiedunverifiedunverified$184.37Buy
APCBasic1Uunverified30A10xNEMA$186.36Buy
Tripp LiteBasic1UL6-20Punverified12xC13 + 2xC19 + 14xNEMA$212.10Buy
APCBasicunverifiedunverifiedunverifiedunverified$233.97Buy

Metered PDUs in stock (11)

PDUClassFormInput plugAmpsOutletsPrice
APCMetered1Uunverified20Aunverified$118.00Buy
CyberPowerMeteredunverifiedunverifiedunverifiedunverified$140.00Buy
Tripp LiteMetered0UNEMA 5-15P15A8xNEMA$159.00Buy
CyberPowerMeteredunverifiedunverifiedunverifiedunverified$171.00Buy
Tripp LiteMetered0UL5-20P20A6xNEMA$194.04Buy
APCMetered1Uunverified15Aunverified$308.10Buy
Tripp LiteMeteredunverifiedL6-30Punverified16xC13 + 2xC19 + 18xNEMA$422.12Buy
APCMetered1Uunverified20Aunverified$504.70Buy
APCMetered1Uunverified15A8xNEMA$511.00Buy
EatonMeteredunverifiedunverifiedunverified42xNEMA$1096.00Buy
EatonMeteredunverifiedunverifiedunverified42xNEMA$2378.90Buy

Switched PDUs in stock (7)

PDUClassFormInput plugAmpsOutletsPrice
APCSwitched1Uunverified15Aunverified$469.68Buy
APCSwitched1Uunverifiedunverified8xC13$512.00Buy
Tripp LiteSwitched1UIEC C1415A8xNEMA$528.99Buy
CyberPowerSwitchedunverifiedunverifiedunverifiedunverified$605.95Buy
APCSwitched1Uunverified15Aunverified$620.00Buy
APCSwitched1Uunverified20Aunverified$707.18Buy
Tripp LiteSwitchedunverifiedL6-30Punverified8xC13 + 6xC19$899.99Buy

ATS PDUs in stock (17)

PDUClassFormInput plugAmpsOutletsPrice
Tripp LiteATS1UNEMA 5-15P15A8xNEMA$360.99Buy
Tripp LiteATS1UNEMA 5-15P15A8xNEMA$399.95Buy
APCATSunverifiedunverified20A8xC13$416.56Buy
CyberPowerATSunverifiedunverifiedunverifiedunverified$459.95Buy
Tripp LiteATS1UL5-20P20A16xNEMA$463.99Buy
Tripp LiteATS1UIEC C20unverified8xC13 + 2xC19 + 10xNEMA$482.57Buy
Tripp LiteATS1UL5-20P20A16xNEMA$490.99Buy
CyberPowerATSunverifiedunverifiedunverifiedunverified$544.95Buy
Tripp LiteATS1UNEMA 5-15Punverified8xNEMA$595.80Buy
APCATSunverifiedunverifiedunverifiedunverified$699.99Buy
CyberPowerATSunverifiedunverifiedunverifiedunverified$725.95Buy
APCATSunverifiedunverifiedunverified12xC13 + 13xNEMA$739.00Buy
EatonATS1UL5-20P20Aunverified$825.84Buy
APCATSunverifiedunverifiedunverifiedunverified$837.40Buy
APCATSunverifiedunverified20A20xC13 + 20xC19$925.00Buy
APCATSunverifiedunverifiedunverifiedunverified$985.00Buy
APCATSunverifiedunverifiedunverifiedunverified$1359.03Buy

What draws what: published nameplate figures across the rack

Sizing a PDU means knowing roughly what is plugged into it, and the honest state of our catalogue is that most rack equipment ships with no published power figure at all. Every number below is a NAMEPLATE rating - what the maker prints on the label or spec sheet, not a measurement of real draw. Real draw is typically lower, often considerably so, and we do not measure it.

Device classPublished figure
Hot-swap server PSUs (Dell)750W, 1100W nameplate options tracked
Hot-swap server PSUs (HPE)460W, 500W, 800W, 1400W, 1600W nameplate options tracked
Hot-swap server PSUs (Supermicro)920W, 2200W, 2600W nameplate options tracked
UPS units (output rating)330-2700W across tracked listings that state one
25/40/100GbE switchesArista's own 7050X-series datasheet states 1.2W per 10GbE port typical, 150W (4.5W/port) for the 7050QX-32S specifically - see the 25GbE hub for the full citation. No other switch in our catalogue has a published figure.
Used enterprise serversnone published - Dell does not state an idle/typical wattage for a used configuration, and we have not measured one
NAS devicesnone tracked in our catalogue
Disk shelves (JBOD)none published - see the JBOD cluster, which states the same gap for every model it tracks

Where to go next

Basic, metered and switched each have their own page with the live price step and a closer look at that class · The rack hub covers the enclosure the PDU mounts in · UPS buying guide and UPS for a server rack cover the VA-vs-watts arithmetic already, not repeated here · Rack disk shelves and used servers are the equipment most often plugged into a PDU like this.

Frequently asked questions

What's the difference between basic, metered, switched and ATS PDUs?

As the makers themselves describe the four classes: a basic PDU distributes power with no monitoring or control. A metered PDU adds a display or remote readout of load - APC and CyberPower both describe this as visibility, not control. A switched PDU adds the ability to turn individual outlets on and off remotely, which the manufacturer states as a feature of that product line - we are not asserting a use case for it beyond what they claim it does. An ATS (automatic transfer switch) PDU has two power inputs and switches between them automatically if one fails, per the maker's own description of that class. Each class costs more than the one before it - see the live price step above.

What plug does a rack PDU need?

Whatever the PDU's own listing states as its input connection type - we track NEMA 5-15P, NEMA 5-20P, several twist-lock (L-series) configurations and IEC C14/C20 across our tracked units, and every row states which. This is a mechanical fact about what plugs into what, published in the NEMA and IEC standards - we do not tell you what your circuit provides or what to install. That question goes to a licensed electrician.

Can I plug a 20A PDU into a normal wall outlet?

A NEMA 5-20P plug's blade configuration is physically different from a 5-15P plug specifically so it does not insert into a receptacle that is not rated for 20A - this is documented in the NEMA standard's own dimensional specifications, not a recommendation of ours. Whether a specific outlet in your building is rated for 20A, and whether a 20A PDU is the right choice for your circuit, are questions for a licensed electrician, not this page.

Does a metered PDU show my electricity bill or actual power draw?

It shows what the manufacturer's own metering circuitry reports - current or power draw at the PDU, per the maker's documentation for that unit. We do not verify meter accuracy, and we do not compute or estimate your utility cost from it.

Is a switched PDU worth the extra cost over metered?

That is a judgement about whether remote outlet control is worth its price to you, and we compute the live price gap between classes above rather than making that call for you. A switched PDU can power-cycle an outlet remotely because its manufacturer states that it can - whether you need that capability is specific to your setup.

What does 'nameplate' mean on this page, and why does every total say it?

A nameplate rating is the number printed on the product - what its maker rates it for, not what it actually draws in use. Real draw is typically lower, sometimes considerably so, and we have not measured any of it ourselves. Every summed figure on this cluster's pages carries that label for that reason - it is a ceiling from the spec sheet, not a live reading.

Sources

Specification claims on this page were checked against the pages below on 4 August 2026. Where a widely-repeated figure did not survive that check, we report what the source says now and say so in the text rather than repeating the familiar number.

  1. APC (Schneider Electric) - Rack PDU, Switched, Zero U, 20A, 120V, (24) 5-20 - Product Data Sheet (AP7930, discontinued) (se.com, 2026-09-13)
    Used for: APC's own published figures for this specific, discontinued PDU: "Input current limits: 20 A" and "Line Rated Current: 16 A" - both quoted verbatim from the datasheet. Also "Input Connection Type: NEMA L5-20P" and "Number of power socket outlets: 24 NEMA 5-20R," the exact plug and outlet facts for this model.
  2. APC (Schneider Electric) - APC NetShelter Switched Rack PDU, 0U, 20A, 100-120V, 24 NEMA 5-20R outlets - Product Data Sheet (AP8930, current stock) (se.com, 2026-09-13)
    Used for: The same two figures on APC's CURRENTLY SOLD replacement model: "Input current limits: 20 A" and "Line Rated Current: 16 A" - confirming the pattern is not specific to one discontinued part number. Also "Product availability: Stock - Normally stocked in distribution facility," confirming this model is not discontinued.
  3. Wikipedia, citing ANSI/NEMA WD 6-2016 - NEMA connector (en.wikipedia.org, 2026-09-13)
    Used for: quoted verbatim: "Compared to the 5-15P plug, the 5-20P plug has the neutral blade rotated 90° and shifted..." and "The 5-20R receptacle has a T-shaped neutral hole, to accept both 5-15P and 5-20P plugs" - the mechanical basis for why a 5-15P plug fits a 5-20R receptacle but a 5-20P plug does not fit a plain 5-15R receptacle. The same rotated-blade relationship is confirmed for the NEMA 6 (240V) family between 6-15 and 6-20. The article itself cites the dimensional standard, ANSI/NEMA WD 6-2016.
  4. Wikipedia, citing IEC 60320 coupler specification sheets - IEC 60320 (en.wikipedia.org, 2026-09-13)
    Used for: quoted verbatim: C13/C14 rated "Max. current (A): 10" with "Pin spacing, centres (mm): 14 (H) / 4 (V)"; C19/C20 rated "Max. current (A): 16" with "Pin spacing, centres (mm): 13 (H) / 8 (V)" - different physical pin spacing at different amperages. Also quoted verbatim, the standard's own design principle: "The shape and dimensions of appliance inlets and connectors are coordinated so that a connector with lower current rating, temperature rating, or polarization cannot be inserted into an appliance inlet that requires higher ratings."
  5. ANSI/NEMA WD 6-2016 ("Wiring Devices - Dimensional Specifications") - The standard's own front matter and dimension tables (archive.org (third-party-hosted scan, not NEMA's own distribution - flagged as such), 2026-09-13)
    Used for: quoted verbatim from the standard's own text: "This standard covers dimensional requirements for plugs and receptacles rated up to 60 Ampere and 600 Volts" and its own dimension-grouping table showing 5-15/5-20 sharing one envelope size, L5-20/L6-20 sharing a second, and L5-30/L6-30 sharing a third, distinct third size - the standard's own numeric proof that these are mechanically different parts. This is a community-uploaded scan of NEMA's copyrighted standard, not a page NEMA itself publishes for free; stated as that distinction rather than presented as NEMA's own site.
  6. NavePoint - NavePoint 12U 4-Post Open Frame Server Rack, Adjustable Depth with Casters (SKU 00406437) (navepoint.com, 2026-09-13)
    Used for: quoted verbatim: "This 12U open frame rack supports stationary loads up to 1320 lbs" and the spec table's own "Weight Capacity: 1320 lbs" field - a static load rating sourced to the maker's own product page for this specific model. No dynamic/rolling load figure appears on this page; none is claimed here.
  7. DatacenterDisk - Live catalogue and sourcing note - rack infrastructure & PDU cluster (datacenterdisk.com, 2026-09-13)
    Used for: every price in this cluster's tables, read from our catalogue at request time. Seeded 13 September 2026: 44 PDUs across basic/metered/switched/ATS classes, 34 racks (2-post, 4-post, enclosed, wall-mount), 10 rack accessories (shelves, blanking panels, cable management). Every electrical field (plug type, amperage, outlet count/type) is extracted from the listing's own title text and is seller-claim tier unless a specific citation above upgrades it to vendor-fact; a blank field means the listing did not state it and we did not infer one. Static/dynamic load ratings were sourced for exactly one model (source #6); every other tracked rack's load rating is unverified, stated as such rather than estimated.