25GbE (and 40/100GbE) - The Tier Above 10GbE

Quick answer

A two-machine 25GbE link costs $367.97 today - two Intel E810 cards and one SFP28 direct-attach cable, no switch. A switched four-host setup - one switch plus a card and cable per host - runs $2058.92, or $514.73 per host. Both figures are live, computed from in-stock listings only, and dated below.

Prices updated · 164 listings tracked across NICs, cables, transceivers and switches in this cluster

Share:WhatsAppFacebookPost on X
Live build 1 of 2: point-to-point, no switch
2 × Intel E810
H!Fiber · 1-port SFP28seller claims this chipset
$355.98
1 × 0.5m SFP28 passive DAC
H!Fiber
$11.99
Total$367.97
Live build 2 of 2: switched, four hosts
1 × QNAP QSW-M5216-1T-US$1299.00
4 × Intel E810 (SFP28)$711.96
4 × 0.5m SFP28 DAC$47.96
Total ($514.73/host)$2058.92
The breakout arithmetic: one 100G port, four 25G hosts

Computed live from in-stock parts: one Intel E810 (QSFP28) as the origin, one QSFP28-to-4x25G breakout cable, and 4 × Intel E810 (SFP28) - one per host. That connects 4 separate 25G hosts to a single 100G-capable origin for $1163.84 total, $290.96 per host, not counting the origin card itself since it is shared across all four legs.

ipolex ipolex QSFP28 card (Intel E810 claimed) $405.99 · 10Gtek breakout DAC $45.89 · H!Fiber H!Fiber SFP28 card (Intel E810 claimed) $177.99 each

The card table

CardSpeedListingsFrom
ConnectX-5SFP286$244.00view →
ConnectX-4QSFP+1$330.15view →
Intel E810SFP285$177.99view →

ConnectX-5 and Intel E810 each span two speed classes in their own SKU family (25G SFP28 and 100G QSFP28 variants both exist) - the listing counts above cover every speed for that card; each card's own page breaks out the split.

25GbE (SFP28) network cards in stock now

CardPortsInterfaceConditionPrice
Intel E810
H!Fiberseller claims this chipset
1SFP28New$177.99Buy
Intel E810
10Gtekseller claims this chipset
1SFP28New$194.99Buy
ConnectX-5
Mellanox
2SFP28New$244.00Buy
ConnectX-5
Mellanox
2SFP28New$450.00Buy
Intel E810
Supermicro
2SFP28New$496.99Buy

SFP28 direct-attach cables

Passive direct-attach copper, by length. A DAC is a fixed-length cable with the transceivers moulded on - you buy the whole run at once rather than a cable plus two modules.

LengthBrandTypePrice
0.3m10GtekSFP28 passive$13.99Buy
0.5mH!FiberSFP28 passive$11.99Buy
0.5mH!FiberSFP28 passive$12.99Buy
0.5m10GtekSFP28 passive$13.99Buy
0.5m10GtekSFP28 passive$13.99Buy
1m10GtekSFP28 passive$14.39Buy
1m10GtekSFP28 passive$15.99Buy
1m10GtekSFP28 passive$15.99Buy
2m10GtekSFP28 passive$16.19Buy
2m10GtekSFP28 passive$17.99Buy
2m10GtekSFP28 passive$17.99Buy
2m10GtekSFP28 passive$17.99Buy
2m10GtekSFP28 passive$17.99Buy
3m10GtekSFP28 passive$17.99Buy
3m10GtekSFP28 passive$19.99Buy
3m10GtekSFP28 passive$19.99Buy
5m10GtekSFP28 passive$20.99Buy
5m10GtekSFP28 passive$29.99Buy

SFP28 transceivers and active optical cables

Every "compatible with" phrase below is the seller's own wording, recorded as a claim and badged. We have not tested any module against any switch.

ModuleTypeBrandSeller compatibility claimsPrice
SFP28 25GBASE-SR module25GBASE-SR10Gteknone stated$19.99Buy
SFP28 25GBASE-SR module25GBASE-SR10Gteknone stated$19.99Buy
SFP28 25GBASE-SR module25GBASE-SR10Gteknone stated$19.99Buy
SFP28 AOCAOC10Gteknone stated$19.99Buy
SFP28 25GBASE-LR module25GBASE-LR10Gteknone stated$22.99Buy
SFP28 AOCAOCipolex25GBase Active Optical Cable, 25Gbps SFP28, SFP28-25G-AOC5Mseller claim$31.99Buy
SFP28 AOCAOC10Gteknone stated$35.99Buy
SFP28 AOCAOC10Gteknone stated$37.99Buy

Used-enterprise and current-SMB switches

Every switch we track across the whole 25/40/100GbE cluster, not only the SFP28 ones - a 40G or 100G switch is frequently the one a 25G build actually plugs into, especially where breakout cabling is in play. Power and acoustic figures appear only where a vendor datasheet stated one; a blank cell means neither we nor the maker's own documentation could source it, stated plainly rather than estimated.

SwitchPorts (as listed)CagePriceCondition
Arista DCS-7050SX-64-RDCS-7050SX-64-R, 48x 10GbE SFP+ + 4x 40GbE QSFP+QSFP+$138.50RefurbBuy
Arista DCS-7050QX-32S-RDCS-7050QX-32S-R, 32x 40GbE QSFP+ + 4x 10GbE SFP+QSFP+$159.90RefurbBuy
Arista DCS-7050S-64DCS-7050S-64, 48x 10GbE SFP+ + 4x 40GbE QSFP+QSFP+$161.73RefurbBuy
Dell S4048-ONS4048-ON, 48x 10GbE SFP+ + 6x 40GbE QSFP+QSFP+$289.90RefurbBuy
Arista DCS-7050QX-32S-FDCS-7050QX-32S-F, 32x 40GbE QSFP+ + 4x 10GbE SFP+QSFP+$310.04RefurbBuy
QNAP QSW-M7308R-4X-USQSW-M7308R-4X-US, 4x 100GbE QSFP28 + 8x 25GbE SFP28QSFP28$1299.00NewBuy
QNAP QSW-M5216-1T-USQSW-M5216-1T-US, 16-port 25GbE managedSFP28$1299.00NewBuy
Dell S5248F-ONS5248F-ON, 48x 25GbE SFP28 + 4x 100GbE QSFP28QSFP28$2599.90RefurbBuy
Mellanox Spectrum-based Open Ethernet Switch (exact model not stated)10/25GbE and 100GbE 1U Open Ethernet switchQSFP28$4995.00RefurbBuy
Mellanox MSN2100-BB2F Spectrum SN2100SN2100, 16x 40 Gigabit QSFP28, L3 managedQSFP28$5849.00RefurbBuy
Mellanox Spectrum-based Open Ethernet Switch, Cumulus Linux (exact model not stated)10GbE/40GbE 1U Open Ethernet switch, 48x SFP28, Cumulus LinuxSFP28$6699.99NewBuy

Sourced where a vendor datasheet rendered for us: Arista's 7050X-series page states 10GbE typical power at 1.2W per port and the 7050QX-32S specifically at 150W (4.5W per port) typical - the only per-port power figures this cluster publishes. Arista's own End-of-Sale archive also carries dated retirement notices for select 7050SX/7050TX/7050QX models (2016) and for the newer 7050SX3-48YC12 and 7050SX3-48YC8/48C8 (2026) - a used 7050-family switch may already be running silicon Arista itself no longer sells new. NVIDIA/Mellanox's per-model SN2000-series datasheets and Dell's and QNAP's switch datasheets did not render for our sourcing pass, so those units carry no sourced power, acoustic or EOL figures here.

Why the used market dominates this tier too

The same economics that made 10GbE affordable repeat one generation up, and our own catalogue shows it rather than just asserting it. Every ConnectX-5 listing we currently track is Mellanox-branded rather than a third-party board, and both ConnectX-5 and the ConnectX-4 Lx card in the 10GbE cluster below carry NVIDIA's own end-of-life notice - cards a datacentre bought by the pallet and has since replaced are exactly what fills a secondary market like this one.

Intel E810 shows the opposite half of the same pattern: four of the five listings we track are third-party boards from 10Gtek, H!Fiber and Ipolex asserting an Intel E810 controller, against one first-party Supermicro card. That is the third-party-undercut finding the 10GbE cluster already documents for X520 and X710, repeating a generation up rather than being a coincidence of this specific card.

The switches follow the same pattern at a larger scale. Arista's own End-of-Sale advisory archive carries a 2016 notice retiring select 7050SX/7050TX/7050QX models, and separately, 2026-dated notices retiring the newer 7050SX3-48YC12 and 7050SX3-48YC8/48C8 - switches formally end-of-saled by their own maker are exactly the hardware that lands secondhand at a fraction of new pricing. A used 7050-family switch bought today may already be running silicon Arista itself no longer sells new.

The form-factor map: SFP28, QSFP+ and QSFP28

Three connector families cover this whole tier, and which one a card or switch port has decides every cable and module decision after it.

SFP28 is the 25G cage - physically the same size and shape as the SFP+ cage the 10GbE cluster uses, and backward compatible with it, the same relationship 10GBASE-T has with the older 1000BASE-T. A ConnectX-5 or Intel E810 25G card, an SFP28 DAC, and an SFP28 switch port are the building blocks of a 25GbE build.

QSFP+ is the 40G cage - four lanes in one connector, standardised for 40GbE. A ConnectX-4 (non-Lx) card, the Arista 7050-family and Dell S4048-ON switches in our table, and QSFP+ DAC cables all share this family.

QSFP28 is the 100G cage - the same four-lane idea at the higher per-lane rate, used by ConnectX-5's and Intel E810's 100G SKUs, the Dell S5248F-ON and several QNAP and Mellanox switches in our table, and QSFP28 DAC and breakout cabling.

None of the three plugs into either of the others without a breakout or hybrid cable built for exactly that pairing - the same non-interchangeability rule the SFP+/SFP28/QSFP+/QSFP28 family follows throughout this cluster and the cabling guide covers in full.

Where breakout cables change the math

A QSFP28 100G port is electrically four 25G lanes bundled into one connector, and a breakout cable splits them back out - one QSFP28 end, four SFP28 legs, each running an independent 25G link. The same relationship holds one tier down: a QSFP+ 40G port breaks out to four SFP+ 10G legs.

That is not a trick or a workaround; it is how the standard defines the port, and it is frequently the cheapest way to wire several hosts to one switch or one server. Computed from our own live catalogue rather than assumed: one 100G-capable card, one QSFP28-to-4x25G breakout cable, and four 25G cards - one per host - is a real, priced arithmetic problem, and the answer is on this page.

The trade is flexibility rather than cost in the usual case: a breakout cable's four legs go to four separate devices, not one device with four times the bandwidth, and the switch or card doing the breaking-out has to support it (documented per-model in the switch table below, not assumed). Where a build genuinely needs one fast link rather than four independent ones, a straight same-speed DAC is the simpler answer.

Where to go next

The 10GbE hub is the tier below this one, and the step-up arithmetic between them lives at 10GbE vs 25GbE · 40GbE and 100GbE are this cluster's own siblings, each with their own live builds · the cabling guide covers every DAC, AOC, transceiver and breakout cable in this cluster in one place · rack disk shelves and NAS devices are usually what sits at the other end of a build like this · used servers are the other common host - check the registry for which models expose a compatible PCIe slot.

Frequently asked questions

What's the real difference between SFP28, QSFP+ and QSFP28?

Physical connector family, which decides speed class and cabling. SFP28 is the 25G cage (backward compatible with the 10GbE cluster's SFP+). QSFP+ is the 40G cage. QSFP28 is the 100G cage. None plugs into either of the others without a breakout or hybrid cable built for that specific pairing - matching connector families is the first thing to check before buying anything in this cluster.

Is 25GbE actually useful for a home NAS, or is it a number on a box?

The same arithmetic the 10GbE hub applies still applies here, one tier up: a 25GbE link's ceiling is roughly 2.5x 10GbE's, and whether that matters depends entirely on whether the storage on either end can produce or absorb data at that rate - a question this page does not answer for your specific array. What has changed since the 10GbE cluster's early days is the used-market pricing: a 25G ConnectX-5 card is often not much more than a 10G one was when this site first covered it, which is the honest reason more homelab buyers reach this tier than reach 40G or 100G.

Do I need a switch, or can I do a direct link?

The same logic as the 10GbE hub: two machines that only need to talk to each other do not need a switch - two cards and one matching-speed DAC is the cheapest path, computed live above. A switch becomes necessary the moment a third device joins, and the switched-build figure on this page prices that path with a real switch and real cables from our own catalogue, not an estimate.

Are the switches in your table new or used?

Both, and the table says which. Several - the Arista 7050-family units and the Dell/Mellanox listings - are used/renewed enterprise pulls; the QNAP switches are current-production SMB hardware. Condition and price both vary a great deal within this category, which is exactly why we show live listings rather than a single representative price.

Is ConnectX-5 a bad buy since NVIDIA lists it as end-of-life?

Not on its own - see the ConnectX-5 card page for the full picture, but briefly: end-of-life is a commercial status (no new hardware revisions or orders from NVIDIA), while NVIDIA's own, separately dated release notes confirm the mlx5 driver still actively supports it and NVIDIA's current DOCA-Host software list still includes it. The EOL notice is a real fact worth knowing before you buy, not a reason on its own to avoid the card.

Sources

Specification claims on this page were checked against the pages below on 4 August 2026. Where a widely-repeated figure did not survive that check, we report what the source says now and say so in the text rather than repeating the familiar number.

  1. NVIDIA (Mellanox) - ConnectX-3 EN product line and lifecycle status (nvidia.com, 2026)
    Used for: that ConnectX-3 has reached end-of-life status with NVIDIA, and the MCX311A / MCX312A / MCX314A part-number family. EOL means no new firmware or driver work from the maker; it does not mean the card stops working, and the page says so in those terms.
  2. The Linux kernel project - mlx4, mlx5, ixgbe and i40e in-tree Ethernet drivers (kernel.org, 2026)
    Used for: that mlx4 (ConnectX-3), mlx5 (ConnectX-4 and later), ixgbe (Intel 82599/X520, X540, X550) and i40e (X710) ship in the mainline Linux kernel. This is why an end-of-life card can still be a sane purchase, and it is a documented fact rather than a forum claim.
  3. DatacenterDisk - Live catalogue - NIC, DAC and transceiver listings (datacenterdisk.com, 2026-08-11)
    Used for: every price on this page, read from our catalogue at request time. Seeded 11 August 2026: 24 network cards across 6 models, 24 DAC cables, 8 transceivers. Every card is split tier 1 (the listing is that part) or tier 2 (a third-party board asserting that silicon).
  4. DatacenterDisk - Sourcing note - power figures and compatibility claims (datacenterdisk.com, 2026-08-11)
    Used for: We publish no per-port wattage for either cabling path. The relationship - 10GBASE-T draws more power and runs hotter than SFP+ direct attach - is documented at product level and is stated here. The magnitude is not, because we have not fetched and logged a source we can cite for it. Separately: every 'compatible with' phrase shown on this site is stored as a seller claim at tier 2 and badged wherever it renders. We have not tested any module against any switch.
  5. NVIDIA - ConnectX-5, ConnectX-4 Lx and ConnectX-4 EN user manuals - end-of-life status (networking-docs.nvidia.com, 2026-09-13)
    Used for: that NVIDIA's own manuals state "The ConnectX-5 product line has moved to end-of-life" and "The ConnectX-4 Lx product line has moved to end-of-life" in those exact words (connectx5enhw and connectx4lxhw respectively, both dated 2026). The standard ConnectX-4 EN manual (connectx4enhw) carries an "EOL'd Ordering Part Numbers" table for every MCX413A/414A/415A/416A SKU but not the same plain-English banner sentence - stated as that asymmetry rather than smoothed into one claim. Also the per-SKU PCIe generation and lane count (PCIe 3.0 x8 or x16 depending on SKU; PCIe 3.0/4.0 on ConnectX-5 Ex variants) from the same manuals.
  6. NVIDIA - Linux Kernel Upstream Release Notes - driver and firmware support table (networking-docs.nvidia.com, 2026-09-13)
    Used for: that ConnectX-4, ConnectX-4 Lx and ConnectX-5 all use the mlx5 driver family per NVIDIA's own "Supported Uplinks to Servers" table, dated June 2026 - current documentation, confirming the in-kernel driver is still maintained for hardware NVIDIA itself calls end-of-life for ordering. Also that NVIDIA's current DOCA-Host device list (docs dated September 2026) includes ConnectX-5 and ConnectX-4 Lx but not the standard ConnectX-4 - a real difference in ongoing software-package support between the two, stated as found rather than smoothed over.
  7. The Linux kernel project - i40e and ice in-tree Ethernet driver documentation (kernel.org, 2026-09-13)
    Used for: that the i40e driver explicitly lists Intel Ethernet Controller XXV710 as supported hardware alongside X710/XL710/X722 (same page also notes XXV710's speed cannot be forced via ethtool - auto-negotiation only). The companion ice driver page (device_drivers/ethernet/intel/ice.html) is titled for the "800 Series" - the family E810 belongs to - without naming E810 verbatim in the rendered portion, which is stated as the limit of what this specific page confirms rather than stretched into a direct quote. Intel's own ARK product pages did not render in this sourcing pass (see the 100GbE and NIC pages' own note); PCIe generation and EOL status for XXV710 and E810 parts are marked not sourced for that reason.
  8. Arista Networks - 7050X and 7050X3 Series switch specifications, and End-of-Sale advisories (arista.com, 2026-09-13)
    Used for: the 7050X family's own published figures: "10GbE Typical Power: 1.2W per port", and for the 7050QX-32S specifically "Typical Power Draw: 150W (4.5W per port)" - the only per-port power figures this cluster publishes, because they are the only ones a vendor datasheet actually rendered and stated. Also Arista's own End-of-Sale advisory archive (arista.com/en/support/advisories-notices/endofsale), which carries a dated 2016 end-of-sale notice for "Select Models of the Arista 7050SX, 7050TX and 7050QX Series" and, separately, 2026-dated end-of-sale notices for the newer 7050SX3-48YC12 and 7050SX3-48YC8/48C8 models - a used 7050-family switch may be running silicon its own maker has since end-of-saled, stated with the notice's own date rather than ours.
  9. DatacenterDisk - Live catalogue and sourcing note - 25/40/100GbE cluster (datacenterdisk.com, 2026-09-13)
    Used for: every price in this cluster's tables, read from our catalogue at request time. Seeded 13 September 2026: 12 NICs across 3 models (ConnectX-5, ConnectX-4, Intel E810), 40 DAC cables (25G/40G/100G including breakout), 18 transceivers, 11 used-enterprise and current-SMB switches. Two vendor documentation gaps stated plainly rather than filled: NVIDIA/Mellanox's per-model switch datasheets (SN2010/SN2100/SN2410/SN2700) did not render in this sourcing pass beyond a series-level marketing page, so those four switches carry no sourced power, acoustic or EOL figures; Intel's ark.intel.com did not render at all in this pass, so XXV710 and E810 PCIe generation and formal EOL status are marked not sourced rather than assumed from the 700/800-series family pattern.