NVMe and M.2 SSD Enclosures by Link Speed
Live prices updated · 58 in-stock products · tracked since October 8, 2026 · prices in this category are re-checked about once a day on a rolling cycle - the time above is our newest price, not every row's
An empty M.2 enclosure turns a spare SSD into an external drive. Grouped by the link each title states - Thunderbolt or USB4, 20Gbps or 10Gbps - with the drive protocol and lengths it claims. 58 are in stock. Every one is new to our tracking and reads TRACKING, so no price here can be called low yet.
How to read the badge. A verdict compares today's price only with that item's own recorded prices - never with a list price. TRACKING means our record of the item is too short to judge. Of the 58 in stock, 0 read at or near their own low, 0 typical, 0 elevated and 58 tracking. No past price is printed for any listing.
Every specification below is the listing title's own statement, read 2026-10-07; a field it does not state reads "not sourced". A compatibility statement appears only where the title makes it, quoted after "Listing states" - the seller's claim, not our check. We publish no performance claim. Condition is printed on every row.
The link decides the ceiling, not the drive
Put a fast NVMe drive in a 10Gbps enclosure and the enclosure sets the pace. The groups in the table are the link speed each title states, from Thunderbolt and USB4 down to USB 10Gbps; where a title states no speed, the enclosure sits in its own group rather than being placed by guesswork. A 20Gbps enclosure also needs a 20Gbps port on the computer to reach that figure - many machines do not have one.
We make no speed claim of our own and print no megabytes-per-second figure: those are the seller's numbers, measured on the seller's hardware, and they are not what we track.
NVMe only, or NVMe and SATA?
M.2 drives come in two protocols that share a connector. Some enclosures take only NVMe drives, some take only SATA M.2 drives, and some take both. The Spec cell prints what each title says; an enclosure that takes only NVMe will not read an older SATA M.2 drive, whatever its slot looks like.
Length matters as well - most enclosures take 2280 drives and some also take shorter ones. Where a title lists the lengths it fits, we print them.
The trap: an enclosure with a drive already in it
Listings that bundle a drive are portable SSDs, not enclosures, and they are priced as such. We excluded every title that says it includes a drive of a stated capacity; those products are listed with external drives and portable SSDs, measured against their own history.
If you are filling an enclosure, price the drive separately. An enclosure's price says nothing about the drive that goes in it.
Related pages
- Multi-bay drive enclosures - USB DAS and SAS JBOD enclosures for hard drives, by class.
- DAS and RAID enclosures - Multi-bay direct-attached boxes, split by stated hardware RAID.
- External drives and portable SSDs - Externals that come with the drive inside.
- Drive docks - Open docks for testing and cloning bare drives.
Frequently asked questions
Why is a 40Gbps enclosure in a different table from a 10Gbps one?
Because the link is the enclosure's ceiling. We group by the speed each title states so you compare like with like; nothing is ranked within or across groups except by price.
Where do the specifications come from?
From each listing's own title, read through Amazon's product API on 7 October 2026. A field the title does not state reads "not sourced". A compatibility statement is printed only where the title makes it, in quotation marks after "Listing states" - the seller's claim, not our check.
Why do the enclosures read TRACKING?
Because we started tracking them on 7 October 2026. 58 of the 58 listed have no price history with us yet, and a verdict compares today's price only with the item's own record.
Prices and badges are live; this page shows no historical price for any listing.