Prime Big Deal Days HBAs, RAID Controllers and SATA Cards
Live prices updated · 43 in-stock products · tracked since August 11, 2026 · prices in this category are re-checked about once a day on a rolling cycle - the time above is our newest price, not every row's
Running now through October 7. Next deal drop: 8 a.m. PT.
SAS HBAs, RAID controllers and PCIe SATA cards for a NAS or server build, with port count, chip and IT or RAID mode where the title states them. 43 are in stock. 34 carry a verdict from our own price history (6 at or near their low); 9 are new and read TRACKING.
We measure every price against that item's OWN recorded history, not against a list price - list prices get raised before a sale, which is documented and cited on this site's event pages. A verdict badge means: AT/NEAR LOW is close to the lowest price we recorded for that item over the days we tracked it in the last 30 - each badge prints that number of days - in a record where its price has actually moved (a price that has not moved is not a low, and reads TYPICAL); TYPICAL is ordinary for it; ELEVATED is above where it usually sits; NEW means we have not tracked it long enough to say. No percentage-off-list figure appears anywhere on this site as a measure of whether a price is actually good.
The evidence for why we do it this way is our own: the June 2026 Prime Day retrospective measured whether the last comparable event moved prices, category by category, before any of these pages were written.
Live hbas, raid & sata cards picks, verdict-badged
Today's verdict distribution: 6 of 43 in-stock items are at or near their own recorded low today; 27 are typical for themselves; 1 are elevated above their own usual price, and 9 have too short a record to judge yet. Each count compares an item with its own recorded price; no past price is printed for any listing.
Every specification below is the listing title's own statement, read 2026-10-07; a field it does not state reads "not sourced". A compatibility statement appears only where the title makes it, quoted after "Listing states" - the seller's claim, not our check. We publish no performance claim. Condition is printed on every row.
HBA or RAID: what the operating system will see
A host bus adapter in IT mode passes each drive straight through to the operating system, which is what software RAID and ZFS expect. A RAID controller presents its own volumes instead. Which one you want depends on the storage software, not on the card. We print "IT mode" or "RAID" only where the title says so; many listings say neither, and that field is then absent.
SAS cards also run SATA drives, through the right cable. A SATA expansion card runs SATA drives only. The table separates the two.
Used, pulled and reseller-flashed cards
A large share of SAS cards on Amazon are server pulls or reseller builds, sometimes reflashed to IT mode by the seller. The Condition cell says how each offer is sold, and the seller details sit beside it. A row's verdict compares its price with that same listing's own history - not with a new card's price.
The controller chip printed in the Spec cell is the one the title names. A title can name a chip the card does not carry; that is a reason to check the seller's photos and statements, not a reason we can settle from here.
What June's Prime Day measured for this category
Not measurable: our tracking for this category began August 11, 2026, after June's Prime Day ran 2026-06-23 to 2026-06-26. We do not borrow another category's result to fill the gap. The coverage table in the June retrospective lists what could be measured and why the rest could not.
The trap: a card with nowhere to plug the drives
An internal SAS card needs the right breakout or SAS cable to reach your drives, and an external one needs a shelf with matching ports. The cable is a separate purchase on almost every listing - our SAS and SATA cables page carries them.
A SATA card's port count is only useful if the case has the bays and the power supply has the connectors.
A controller has a long price history here; most of the new cards do not. The SAS cards have been in our tracking since before the event, so many carry a real verdict. The SATA cards added on 7 October read TRACKING. Choose a controller on mode and ports first; the price only matters once it fits the build.
The standing hbas, raid & sata cards pages
- HBA guide - SAS HBAs by chip and generation, tracked.
- SAS and SATA cables - The breakout cable an internal card needs.
- DIY NAS cases and boards - Cases and NAS motherboards to put a card in.
Frequently asked questions
Do you say whether a card is in IT mode?
Only when the title says so. Firmware mode is a seller's statement on these listings; we print it as one and print nothing when the title is silent.
Where do the specifications come from?
From each listing's own title, read through Amazon's product API on 7 October 2026. A field the title does not state reads "not sourced". A compatibility statement is printed only where the title makes it, in quotation marks after "Listing states" - the seller's claim, not our check.
How many controllers carry a price verdict?
34 of 43. The SAS controllers have been tracked since before the event; the SATA expansion cards were added on 7 October 2026 and read TRACKING.
Other Prime Big Deal Days categories
Consumer SSD · External hard drives · Portable SSD · microSD · PS5 SSD · NAS devices · Consumer RAM · Enterprise & refurbished · High-capacity HDD (20TB+) · Gaming SSD (Gen4 & Gen5) · UPS & PDU · 10/25/40/100GbE networking · Enterprise flash, tape & JBOD · Surveillance: NVRs & drives · Racks, rails & server PSUs · Mini PCs for home servers & NAS · Local AI hardware: GPUs, RAM & NVMe · Gaming PCs & components · Thunderbolt & USB4 docks · NVMe & M.2 enclosures · Drive caddies, trays & adapters · SAS & SATA cables · Drive docks & duplicators · DAS & RAID enclosures · USB flash drives · CFexpress & SD camera cards · KVM switches & remote access · Raspberry Pi & SBC storage · NAS upgrades: RAM, NICs & cache · DIY NAS cases & boards · 2.5GbE & 10GbE home networking · the event hub
A category page exists only while it lists at least 4 in-stock products. Prices and badges are live; this page shows no historical price for any listing.