Prime Big Deal Days DIY NAS Cases and Motherboards
Live prices updated · 6 in-stock products · tracking date unavailable · prices in this category are re-checked about once a day on a rolling cycle - the time above is our newest price, not every row's
Running now through October 7. Next deal drop: 8 a.m. PT.
The two parts of a home-built NAS that no other page covers: cases with drive bays and boards their makers sell as NAS motherboards. Bays, SATA count, form factor and processor are as each title states. 6 are in stock. Every one is new to our tracking and reads TRACKING, so no price here can be called low yet.
We measure every price against that item's OWN recorded history, not against a list price - list prices get raised before a sale, which is documented and cited on this site's event pages. A verdict badge means: AT/NEAR LOW is close to the lowest price we recorded for that item over the days we tracked it in the last 30 - each badge prints that number of days - in a record where its price has actually moved (a price that has not moved is not a low, and reads TYPICAL); TYPICAL is ordinary for it; ELEVATED is above where it usually sits; NEW means we have not tracked it long enough to say. No percentage-off-list figure appears anywhere on this site as a measure of whether a price is actually good.
The evidence for why we do it this way is our own: the June 2026 Prime Day retrospective measured whether the last comparable event moved prices, category by category, before any of these pages were written.
Live diy nas cases & boards picks, verdict-badged
Today's verdict distribution: 0 of 6 in-stock items are at or near their own recorded low today; 0 are typical for themselves; 0 are elevated above their own usual price, and 6 have too short a record to judge yet - every row, so no verdict is possible. Each count compares an item with its own recorded price; no past price is printed for any listing.
Every specification below is the listing title's own statement, read 2026-10-07; a field it does not state reads "not sourced". A compatibility statement appears only where the title makes it, quoted after "Listing states" - the seller's claim, not our check. We publish no performance claim. Condition is printed on every row.
Case and board first, then the rest
A DIY NAS starts with a case that holds the drives and a board that can connect them. The case's bay count and the board's SATA port count are printed where the titles state them; the form factor (Mini-ITX or Micro-ATX) has to match between the two. Many NAS boards carry a low-power processor already fitted, named in the Spec cell when the title names it.
The other parts have pages of their own: a SATA or SAS card for more drives, RAM, a power supply and the drives themselves.
Why build rather than buy
A built NAS runs whatever operating system you choose - TrueNAS, Unraid, OpenMediaVault - and can be upgraded part by part. A ready-made NAS comes with its maker's software, support and a single warranty. Neither is cheaper in every case; it depends on the bay count and on what you already own.
We publish no total for a build here. Every part is priced on its own row, with its own verdict.
The board table is short on purpose. Most NAS motherboards sold on Amazon carry no maker name we can match to Amazon's own brand field - the same check that keeps fake flash drives off our pages - so we list only boards from makers we can name.
What June's Prime Day measured for this category
Not measurable: our tracking for this category began after the event, after June's Prime Day ran 2026-06-23 to 2026-06-26. We do not borrow another category's result to fill the gap. The coverage table in the June retrospective lists what could be measured and why the rest could not.
The trap: more bays than ports
An eight-bay case on a board with four SATA ports holds eight drives and connects four. Count the ports, add an expansion card if needed, and check the power supply has enough SATA power connectors for every drive.
Hot-swap bays need a backplane; the case listing says whether it has one.
A percentage off a list price is not a measurement. Most cases and boards here entered our tracking during this event, so we hold no price history for them and their verdict reads TRACKING. If you need one this week, choose on the facts each listing states and the condition shown on the row; if you do not, the verdicts will mean something once the history exists.
The standing diy nas cases & boards pages
- HBAs and SATA cards - More SATA ports than the board has.
- Ready-made NAS - The buy-it-built alternative.
- High-capacity hard drives - The drives for the bays.
Frequently asked questions
Do you list complete DIY NAS kits?
No. We list the case and the board, each on its own row with its own price and verdict, and link to the pages for the other parts. We do not add up a build total.
Where do the specifications come from?
From each listing's own title, read through Amazon's product API on 7 October 2026. A field the title does not state reads "not sourced". A compatibility statement is printed only where the title makes it, in quotation marks after "Listing states" - the seller's claim, not our check.
Why do the cases and boards read TRACKING?
Because we started tracking them on 7 October 2026. 6 of the 6 listed have no price history with us yet, and a verdict compares today's price only with the item's own record.
Other Prime Big Deal Days categories
Consumer SSD · External hard drives · Portable SSD · microSD · PS5 SSD · NAS devices · Consumer RAM · Enterprise & refurbished · High-capacity HDD (20TB+) · Gaming SSD (Gen4 & Gen5) · UPS & PDU · 10/25/40/100GbE networking · Enterprise flash, tape & JBOD · Surveillance: NVRs & drives · Racks, rails & server PSUs · Mini PCs for home servers & NAS · Local AI hardware: GPUs, RAM & NVMe · Gaming PCs & components · Thunderbolt & USB4 docks · NVMe & M.2 enclosures · Drive caddies, trays & adapters · HBAs, RAID & SATA cards · SAS & SATA cables · Drive docks & duplicators · DAS & RAID enclosures · USB flash drives · CFexpress & SD camera cards · KVM switches & remote access · Raspberry Pi & SBC storage · NAS upgrades: RAM, NICs & cache · 2.5GbE & 10GbE home networking · the event hub
A category page exists only while it lists at least 4 in-stock products. Prices and badges are live; this page shows no historical price for any listing.