Live prices updated · 31 in-stock products · tracked since August 21, 2026 · prices in this category are re-checked about once a day on a rolling cycle - the time above is our newest price, not every row's
Live nowPrime Big Deal Days 2026
Running now through October 7. Next deal drop: 8 a.m. PT.
Quick answer
Direct-attached multi-bay enclosures, split into those whose title states hardware RAID and those that present drives individually. Bays, drive size, RAID modes and link are as each listing states. 31 are in stock. 14 carry a verdict from our own price history (2 at or near their low); 17 are new and read TRACKING.
We measure every price against that item's OWN recorded history, not against a list price - list prices get raised before a sale, which is documented and cited on this site's event pages. A verdict badge means: AT/NEAR LOW is close to the lowest price we recorded for that item over the days we tracked it in the last 30 - each badge prints that number of days - in a record where its price has actually moved (a price that has not moved is not a low, and reads TYPICAL); TYPICAL is ordinary for it; ELEVATED is above where it usually sits; NEW means we have not tracked it long enough to say. No percentage-off-list figure appears anywhere on this site as a measure of whether a price is actually good.
The evidence for why we do it this way is our own: the June 2026 Prime Day retrospective measured whether the last comparable event moved prices, category by category, before any of these pages were written.
Live das & raid enclosures picks, verdict-badged
Today's verdict distribution: 2 of 31 in-stock items are at or near their own recorded low today; 8 are typical for themselves; 4 are elevated above their own usual price, and 17 have too short a record to judge yet. Each count compares an item with its own recorded price; no past price is printed for any listing.
Every specification below is the listing title's own statement, read 2026-10-07; a field it does not state reads "not sourced". A compatibility statement appears only where the title makes it, quoted after "Listing states" - the seller's claim, not our check. We publish no performance claim. Condition is printed on every row.
Enclosures whose title states hardware RAID: 14 in stock
Cheapest first, one row per product (its cheapest in-stock offer); The badge compares each item with its own tracked history; TRACKING means the record is too short to judge.
Product
Size
Condition
Spec (as labelled)
Verdict
Price
MAIWO 2 Bay Raid Enclosure for 3.5" SATA HDD with Cooling Fan,4 Raid Modes
2-bay
New
This offer: sold by MAIWOASIA · Amazon says New / Unknown
This offer: sold by Amazon Resale · Amazon says Used / LikeNew · Amazon Resale's note: No item damage observed during inspection. Item will come in original packaging.
This offer: sold by Amazon Resale · Amazon says Used / LikeNew · Amazon Resale's note: No item damage observed during inspection. Item will come in original packaging.
Enclosures with no RAID stated (JBOD or single drives): 17 in stock
Cheapest first, one row per product (its cheapest in-stock offer); The badge compares each item with its own tracked history; TRACKING means the record is too short to judge.
Product
Size
Condition
Spec (as labelled)
Verdict
Price
ICY DOCK MB830SP-B
3-bay
New
This offer: sold by buywee · Amazon says New / Unknown
ORICO 5 Bay Hard Drive Enclosure USB 3.0 for SATA 3.5 /2.5 inch SSDs HDDs
5-bay
Used / renewed
This offer: sold by Amazon Resale · Amazon says Used / VeryGood · Amazon Resale's note: No item damage observed during inspection. Item may not come in original packaging.
A direct-attached enclosure connects to one computer over USB, Thunderbolt or SAS; a NAS sits on the network and runs its own operating system. A DAS is simpler and usually cheaper per bay, and it has no apps, no remote access and no file sharing of its own. If you need those, the NAS devices page is the one to read.
Bay count is printed where the title states it. The drive size field says whether the listing claims 3.5-inch bays, 2.5-inch bays or both.
Hardware RAID, or let the computer do it
Enclosures in the first table state RAID modes in their titles - the box combines the drives itself. Those in the second present each drive to the computer, which leaves RAID to the operating system or to software such as ZFS. Hardware RAID in an enclosure ties the array to that enclosure's controller, which matters if the box fails.
We print the RAID levels each title names and nothing more. A RAID level is a layout, not a backup.
What June's Prime Day measured for this category
Not measurable: our tracking for this category began August 21, 2026, after June's Prime Day ran 2026-06-23 to 2026-06-26. We do not borrow another category's result to fill the gap. The coverage table in the June retrospective lists what could be measured and why the rest could not.
The trap: RAID 0 sold as speed
RAID 0 stripes data across drives with no redundancy - one drive failing loses everything on all of them. Several enclosures list it first. It is a legitimate choice for scratch space and the wrong one for anything you cannot replace.
Price the drives with the box: an empty multi-bay enclosure is the cheap part of the build.
Before you buy: the honest version
Enclosures we tracked before the event have a verdict; new ones do not. The USB and SAS enclosures tracked since August carry real verdicts; the ones added on 7 October read TRACKING. The drives you put in them move more during an event than the box does.
The first lists enclosures whose title states hardware RAID modes; the second lists enclosures that state none, which present drives individually. We do not test the RAID function.
Where do the specifications come from?
From each listing's own title, read through Amazon's product API on 7 October 2026. A field the title does not state reads "not sourced". A compatibility statement is printed only where the title makes it, in quotation marks after "Listing states" - the seller's claim, not our check.
How many enclosures carry a price verdict?
14 of 31. The rest entered our tracking on 7 October 2026 and read TRACKING.
A category page exists only while it lists at least 4 in-stock products. Prices and badges are live; this page shows no historical price for any listing.