Seagate IronWolf Prices - Live $/TB, Every Model

16 models in stock ·
Quick answer

IronWolf comes in two tiers, and IronWolf Pro spans two generations sold side by side — an NT-series drive and an NE-series drive of the same capacity carry different workload ratings. Both tables below rank in-stock drives by live cost per terabyte and show the workload figure recorded for that exact part number.

IronWolf Pro - in stock, ranked by live $/TB

Live prices · updated every 4-5 hours · last checked 1 hr ago · workload per part number

Best $/TB in this tier
16TB ST16000NE000 CMR at $28.75/TB — $460 for 16TB
16TB ST16000NE000
CMR
16TB · · 300TB/yr · 5yr
$28.75/TB · $460Buy
12TB ST12000NE0008
CMR
12TB · 7200rpm · 300TB/yr · 5yr
$29.17/TB · $350Buy
10TB ST10000NE0008
CMR
10TB · · 300TB/yr · 5yr
$31.41/TB · $314Buy
10TB ST10000NEZ008
CMR
10TB · · 300TB/yr · 5yr
$31.41/TB · $314Buy
8TB ST8000NEZ01
CMR
8TB · 7200rpm · 300TB/yr · 5yr
$43.75/TB · $350Buy
10TB ST10000NE0004
CMR
10TB · 7200rpm · 300TB/yr · 5yr
$55.40/TB · $554Buy
8TB ST8000NE001
CMR
8TB · · 300TB/yr · 5yr
$56.13/TB · $449Buy
10TB ST10000NT001
CMR
10TB · 7200rpm · 550TB/yr · 5yr
$59.45/TB · $594Buy

Workload rating is recorded per part number from the manufacturer's published data for that exact model where available, not blanketed across the line — two drives of the same capacity can differ because they are different generations. A dash means the figure is not stated for that listing. Recording technology comes from the manufacturer's published CMR/SMR list; a model absent from that list is shown as UNVERIFIED rather than guessed. Rows priced above 3× this line's in-stock median are flagged and excluded from the winner callout and from every median we compute.

IronWolf (standard) - in stock, ranked by live $/TB

Live prices · updated every 4-5 hours · last checked 1 hr ago · 180TB/yr line rating

Best $/TB in this tier
10TB ST10000VN0004 CMR at $27.50/TB — $275 for 10TB
10TB ST10000VN0004
CMR
10TB · 7200rpm · 180TB/yr · 3yr
$27.50/TB · $275Buy
6TB ST6000VN0041
CMR
6TB · · 180TB/yr · 3yr
$33.33/TB · $200Buy
8TB ST8000VNZ04
CMR
8TB · 7200rpm · 180TB/yr · 3yr
$39.19/TB · $313Buy
8TB ST8000VN0022
CMR
8TB · 7200rpm · 180TB/yr · 3yr
$40.00/TB · $320Buy
10TB ST10000VNZ00
CMR
10TB · 7200rpm · 180TB/yr · 3yr
$41.40/TB · $414Buy
4TB ST4000VN006
CMR
4TB · 5400rpm · 180TB/yr · 3yr
$45.12/TB · $180Buy
10TB ST10000VN0008
CMR
10TB · 7200rpm · 180TB/yr · 3yr
$53.00/TB · $530Buy
4TB ST4000VN008
CMR
4TB · · 180TB/yr · 3yr
$61.25/TB · $245Buy

Workload rating is recorded per part number from the manufacturer's published data for that exact model where available, not blanketed across the line — two drives of the same capacity can differ because they are different generations. A dash means the figure is not stated for that listing. Recording technology comes from the manufacturer's published CMR/SMR list; a model absent from that list is shown as UNVERIFIED rather than guessed. Rows priced above 3× this line's in-stock median are flagged and excluded from the winner callout and from every median we compute.

Two tiers, and why most guides describe the wrong one

Seagate sells IronWolf in two tiers, and the gap between them is wider than the shared name suggests. Standard IronWolf is the NAS drive for small arrays: Seagate rates the line for workloads up to 180TB per year. IronWolf Pro sits above it with a longer warranty, a higher workload rating and capacities the standard tier never reaches.

The part that trips up almost every ranking article is that IronWolf Pro is not one specification. The line has been through a generation change, and the two generations are still sold side by side on the same shelf. Current Pro drives use NT-series part numbers — ST20000NT001, ST16000NTZ01 and their siblings. The previous generation used NE-series numbers — ST16000NE000, ST12000NE0008, ST10000NE0004. They are different drives with different ratings, and at several capacities you can buy either one today.

This is why the workload column in the tables below is populated per part number rather than by tier. Look at 16TB in the Pro table: you will typically find both an NT-series and an NE-series drive in stock, and they do not carry the same workload figure. An article that prints a single number next to "IronWolf Pro" is describing one of those drives and quietly mislabelling the other. Our rating comes from the datasheet for the exact model number in that row, and a listing whose part number we cannot read renders a dash instead of a guess.

The practical consequence for a buyer is simple: read the part number, not the tier name. Two listings that both say "IronWolf Pro 16TB" can be different generations at different prices, and the cheaper one is not automatically the worse buy — but you should know which one you are buying. Every row in our tables shows the part number for exactly that reason.

The capacity ladder, and where the value actually sits

Cost per terabyte does not fall smoothly as capacity rises, and in a supply-constrained market it does not even fall reliably. The tables below rank by live $/TB precisely because the answer moves: the capacity that offers the best rate this week is frequently not the one that offered it last week, and no static recommendation can track that.

What is stable is the shape of the ladder. Small capacities carry a floor price — the drive costs what it costs to build and ship regardless of how little it holds — so the smallest members of a line are almost always the worst value per terabyte. The middle of the ladder is where volume manufacturing and competitive pressure meet, and that is usually where the best rate lives. The very top of the ladder carries a scarcity premium in 2026 that it did not carry in a normal market.

You can see all three effects in the live tables. The smallest Pro capacity in stock will typically sit at a startling cost per terabyte, not because it is a bad drive but because you are paying the floor price for very little capacity. That row is honest data rather than an error, and it exists on the page as a warning rather than a recommendation.

At the top end, IronWolf Pro reaches 32TB on Seagate's current product page. Whether any given high capacity is actually purchasable on a given day is a separate question from whether it exists, and that gap is the whole reason this page reports live stock rather than a catalogue. Where a capacity is missing from a table below, it is missing because nothing at that capacity was buyable when the page loaded.

The buying rule that survives the volatility: pick the capacity band your bays and your growth plan require, then take the best live rate inside that band rather than chasing the theoretical best rate across the whole line. A 20TB drive at a great price is not a good deal for someone who needed 8TB and now has an unbalanced array.

All CMR, which is the reassurance people are actually searching for

Seagate states that the IronWolf line uses CMR — conventional magnetic recording — across the range. That is the single most searched question about these drives, and the answer is unambiguous: IronWolf and IronWolf Pro are CMR, not SMR.

The reason it matters is not abstract. Shingled recording overlaps tracks to increase density, which means writing to one track can require rewriting its neighbours. In a NAS doing steady incremental writes, and particularly during a RAID rebuild, that behaviour turns into rebuild times that can stretch far beyond expectation. The industry learned this publicly in 2020 when several vendors were found shipping SMR drives into NAS lines without labelling them, and buyer scepticism has been permanent since.

So when someone asks whether IronWolf is CMR, they are usually asking whether the drive is safe to put in an array. On the recording technology, the answer is yes for the whole line. Our CMR versus SMR guide covers which drives across every brand are which, and why the distinction governs any array you intend to rebuild rather than restore.

One caveat worth stating: CMR is a property of the drive, not a guarantee about the array. Rebuild windows still lengthen with capacity regardless of recording technology, which is why parity choices matter more at 16TB and above than they did at 4TB.

Bays, warranty and the Rescue service

Seagate positions standard IronWolf for smaller enclosures and IronWolf Pro for larger ones, with the Pro tier adding rotational vibration sensors — the component that matters when many drives share a chassis and each one's vibration becomes every other one's problem. If you are building beyond a handful of bays, that is the substantive hardware difference between the tiers rather than a marketing distinction.

On warranty, the tiers differ and the difference is one of the clearest reasons to pay the premium. Our tables show the warranty term we record for each listing rather than a blanket figure, because the term is a property of the specific product being sold.

The Rescue Data Recovery Service is the part where current documentation contradicts a great deal of published writing, and it is worth being precise. Seagate's current IronWolf product pages state that three years of complimentary Rescue Data Recovery Services are included with all IronWolf drives. Older articles — and a large share of what ranks today — describe a shorter term on the standard tier. We are reporting what Seagate's page says now, with the source linked below, rather than repeating the historical figure.

What Rescue actually provides is a claim against Seagate's recovery service if a covered drive fails, rather than a replacement. It sits alongside the warranty rather than replacing it, and the two answer different questions: the warranty replaces the hardware, Rescue attempts to retrieve what was on it. Our warranty section covers what these terms oblige in practice, and RMA versus replace covers when claiming is worth the downtime.

IronWolf Health Management, stated only as far as the documentation goes

IronWolf Health Management is Seagate's drive-health feature for NAS environments, which Seagate describes as providing prevention, intervention and recovery recommendations rather than raw SMART values. It is a genuine differentiator for the line and it is one of the most common reasons buyers choose IronWolf over a generic NAS drive.

The compatibility question is where we are going to be narrower than most coverage, deliberately. Seagate's current IronWolf Pro product page states that IronWolf drives have been tested by leading NAS providers "such as Asustor, QNAP and UGREEN" for compatibility. Synology is not named in that list on the page as it reads today. We could not locate a Synology document enumerating IHM support scope by model or DSM version either. A great deal of published content asserts specific Synology integration; we are not repeating a claim we could not verify against a first-party source.

What that means practically: if IHM support is a deciding factor in your purchase, check your specific NAS vendor's current compatibility documentation for your model before buying, rather than trusting any article — including this one — as the authority on a vendor integration that changes with firmware.

For the feature itself in depth, our sister property covers what IronWolf Health Management actually does at length, and the Synology-specific picture is treated separately there. Those pages are the editorial layer; this page is the live-price layer, and we would rather link their depth than reproduce it badly.

Which tier, and what to do next

For a two to four bay NAS holding personal media, documents and backups, standard IronWolf is the drive the tier exists for. The 180TB-per-year workload rating that Seagate publishes for the line is far beyond what a household array generates, and paying the Pro premium buys headroom you will not consume.

For six bays and up, for anything with business data on it, or for an array that sees sustained write activity rather than occasional bursts, IronWolf Pro is the defensible choice. The longer warranty, the higher workload rating and the vibration sensors all point at the same use case, and the premium is easier to justify the more drives share a chassis.

The edge cases are decided by the live numbers rather than by the tier logic, which is exactly what our IronWolf vs IronWolf Pro comparison exists to settle: it computes the current price difference at every capacity where both tiers are actually in stock, so you can see what the premium costs today rather than in the abstract. There are capacities where the gap is small enough that Pro is the obvious buy, and others where it is not.

If you already know which drive you want and only need to know whether now is a good moment, the IronWolf deals page checks every in-stock model against its own tracked price history and returns a verdict rather than a discount percentage off an invented list price. And for the broader picture beyond this one brand, NAS hard drives covers the whole category and cheapest per TB ranks every drive we track regardless of badge.

Share:WhatsAppFacebookPost on X

Other drive families we track

Each of these carries the same live pricing and, where the family mixes recording technologies or interfaces, the same per-model decoder.

Seagate Exos
enterprise nearline, X14-X24 + Mozaic
WD Ultrastar
HC and He series, dual-track
WD Gold
the retail label on the Ultrastar platform
Toshiba MG / N300
the third maker, enterprise and NAS lines
Seagate FireCuda
consumer M.2 NVMe, TLC and QLC lines
WD Red
NAS line, CMR or SMR by model
Seagate BarraCuda
desktop line, recording tech per model
Seagate SkyHawk
surveillance line, standard tier
Seagate SkyHawk AI
Seagate's AI-tier surveillance line
WD Purple
WD's surveillance line, standard tier
WD Purple Pro
WD's AI-tier surveillance line
SK hynix
consumer and enterprise NAND
Ultrastar SSD
U.2 and SAS enterprise flash

CMR drive list · Recertified guide · NAS devices · External drives

Frequently asked questions

Is IronWolf CMR or SMR?

CMR. Seagate states that the IronWolf line uses conventional magnetic recording across the range, which is the property that matters for a drive you intend to rebuild in an array rather than restore from backup. Our CMR versus SMR guide covers which drives across every brand use which technology.

What is the IronWolf workload rating?

Seagate rates standard IronWolf for workloads up to 180TB per year. IronWolf Pro is rated higher, but not by a single figure — the line spans two generations with different ratings, and both are still sold. That is why the tables on this page show the workload recorded for each specific part number rather than one number per tier.

Does IronWolf include data recovery?

Seagate's current IronWolf product pages state that three years of complimentary Rescue Data Recovery Services are included with all IronWolf drives. A lot of older published material describes a shorter term on the standard tier; we are reporting what the page says now, sourced below. Rescue is a recovery service claim, not a replacement — the warranty handles the hardware.

IronWolf or Exos for a home NAS?

IronWolf is the line built for NAS enclosures, with vibration handling and health features aimed at that environment. Exos is a datacenter line that works fine in a NAS and is frequently cheaper per terabyte, at the cost of being louder and warranted for a different context. Our IronWolf vs Exos comparison puts live prices against both.

What is the difference between IronWolf and IronWolf Pro?

Longer warranty, higher workload rating, rotational vibration sensors, and capacities the standard tier does not reach. Whether that is worth the money depends on the live price gap, which the vs-Pro comparison computes at every capacity where both tiers are in stock.

Does IronWolf Health Management work with Synology?

We will only state what first-party documentation states. Seagate's current IronWolf Pro page names Asustor, QNAP and UGREEN as leading NAS providers that have tested IronWolf drives for compatibility; Synology is not named there as the page reads today, and we found no Synology document enumerating IHM scope. Check your vendor's own compatibility list before buying on this basis.

How current are the prices on this page?

They are our own tracking of Amazon US listings, refreshed every few hours, computed when the page loads. Out-of-stock listings are excluded from the rankings entirely, so a capacity missing from a table is a capacity that was not buyable at load time.

Are refurbished IronWolf drives worth buying?

They can be, and the tables mark them so you can decide rather than discover it at checkout. The trade is a lower price against a shorter and differently-backed warranty. Our recertified drives coverage explains what reseller warranties actually oblige, which is often narrower than the headline term.

Sources

Specification claims on this page were checked against the pages below on 4 August 2026. Where a widely-repeated figure did not survive that check, we report what the source says now and say so in the text rather than repeating the familiar number.

  1. Seagate Technology - IronWolf NAS Hard Drive product page (Seagate.com, 2026)
    Used for: workloads up to 180TB per year; CMR technology; up to 7200 RPM; three years of complimentary Rescue Data Recovery Services
  2. Seagate Technology - IronWolf Pro NAS Hard Drive product page (Seagate.com, 2026)
    Used for: capacities up to 32TB; CMR; three years of Rescue included with all IronWolf drives; NAS compatibility testing named as Asustor, QNAP and UGREEN; IronWolf Health Management described as prevention, intervention and recovery recommendations
  3. Seagate Technology - Per-model product datasheets (ST…NT, ST…NE, ST…VN series) (Seagate.com, 2026)
    Used for: workload rate limit recorded per part number for each row in our tables, rather than blanketed across a tier
  4. DatacenterDisk Research - Live IronWolf price and stock database (DatacenterDisk.com, Live)
    Used for: every price, $/TB figure, stock state and price-history range on these pages
  5. DatacenterDisk Research - CMR vs SMR — which drives are which (DatacenterDisk.com, 2026)
    Used for: recording-technology context across brands
  6. Storage Disk Prices - IronWolf Health Management — feature guide (storagediskprices.com, 2026)
    Used for: editorial depth on the IHM feature set (portfolio reference)
  7. Cloudzat - IronWolf Health Management on Synology (cloudzat.com, 2026)
    Used for: editorial depth on Synology specifics (portfolio reference)
IronWolf vs IronWolf Pro
Live premium at every capacity
IronWolf deals
Price-history verdicts
IronWolf Pro 28TB
ST28000NT000 NAS buying guide
IronWolf Pro 30TB
ST30000NT011 capacity economics
IronWolf Pro 32TB
ST32000NT000 buying guide
28TB vs 30TB Pro
Middle-capacity NAS math
30TB vs 32TB Pro
Top-capacity NAS decision
IronWolf Pro vs Exos 32TB
NAS line versus enterprise line
IronWolf Pro vs SkyHawk AI
NAS versus NVR workloads
IronWolf Pro vs Red Pro
32TB versus 26TB NAS economics
IronWolf vs Exos
NAS line vs datacenter line
All NAS hard drives
Every brand, live $/TB
Seagate BarraCuda
The budget line, per-model CMR/SMR
WD Ultrastar
New vs refurb, decoded
WD Red
CMR or SMR by model number
Seagate SkyHawk
Surveillance, AI vs standard
CMR vs SMR
Which drives are RAID-safe
NAS compatibility
Which vendors list IronWolf, and what that buys
Drives for Plex
Media server picks