Bought a used enterprise SSD? How to check its health and decide whether to keep it
Sources checked · page updated · the question as people ask it: “I have just received (or am about to buy) a used enterprise SSD - NVMe U.2, SAS or SATA - from eBay or a recycler: how do I check its health, how much rated endurance is left, whether its SMART history looks genuine, whether any warranty carries over to me, and whether to keep it or send it back?”
Read the drive's own records before you put data on it: confirm the model, serial and firmware match the listing, then check Critical Warning, Available Spare against its threshold, media errors and the self-test log, and subtract the writes it has already logged from the rated TBW or DWPD for its exact model. Send it back inside the seller's window if the identity is wrong, a warning bit is set, spare is near its threshold, media errors or grown defects appear, or the remaining rated writes do not cover your workload. Treat that return window as your warranty: Solidigm's data center warranty, Samsung's SSD Limited Warranty (whose model table lists retail drives) and Kioxia's EMEA warranty page tie coverage to the original purchaser or the point of purchase.
What are you seeing?
Pick the closest symptom to open the matching diagnostic path. This is a guide to what to check and in what order; it does not read your system and does not diagnose it.
Confirm the drive is the one you paid for (NVMe)
- 1.Before reading any health figure, print the controller's identity and hold it against the listing and the printed label. Vendor ID, serial and model together form a globally unique identifier, so a serial or model that disagrees with the label is a return reason by itself.
nvme id-ctrl -H /dev/nvme0Readingmn: model number. sn: serial number. fr: the currently active firmware revision. vid: the PCI-SIG vendor ID. ssvid: the PCI-SIG vendor ID for the subsystem; it can differ from vid, and we read no document saying what a difference means, so record both. Write down mn: the rated TBW or DWPD and the warranty years come from the data sheet for that exact model. - 2.In the same decoded output, note what the controller supports, because two later paths depend on it: Device Self-test (OACS bit 4), Format NVM (OACS bit 1), whether a format or secure erase of one namespace applies to all of them (FNA bits 0 and 1), cryptographic erase as part of a format (FNA bit 2), and the crypto-erase, block-erase and overwrite sanitize actions under SANICAP.ReadingNo Device Self-test bit: the extended self-test will be rejected. No crypto-erase bit and no SANICAP action: pick an erase method the drive does list.
Read the NVMe health log as a used-drive history
- 1.Print the SMART/Health Information log. The controller keeps it over its whole life and across power cycles, so it describes everything the drive recorded, not only the days since it shipped to you. The labels below are the ones nvme-cli 2.x prints.
nvme smart-log /dev/nvme0Readingcritical_warning should be 0. Bits 0x01 (spare below threshold), 0x04 (reliability degraded), 0x08 (media read-only) and 0x10 (volatile memory backup failed) are return reasons; 0x02 means the drive is outside a temperature threshold right now, so check its cooling and read the log again before judging it. These bits show the present state and are not kept, so a 0 on arrival says nothing about the drive's past. available_spare against available_spare_threshold (avail_spare and spare_thresh on older nvme-cli): the threshold belongs to the drive, so read it instead of assuming a number, and treat spare at or near it as a return reason. percentage_used is the vendor's estimate of rated life consumed; the Percentage Used page linked below covers high readings. media_errors counts unrecovered data integrity errors over the drive's life and should be 0 on a drive you keep; the error information log entry count covers the same life. - 2.Next, read the counters that describe how the previous owner ran the drive. The sources behind this page give no vendor threshold for any of them, so record each one and compare it with what the listing claimed.ReadingData Units Written (data_units_written on older nvme-cli): host writes in thousands of 512-byte units, rounded up, without metadata, so TB written = Data Units Written x 512,000 / 10^12. power_on_hours: leaves out time the controller sat powered in a low-power state, so it can understate how long the drive was installed. unsafe_shutdowns: power losses that arrived with no shutdown notice from the host. Warning Temperature Time (warning_temp_time on older nvme-cli): minutes at or above the drive's warning composite temperature (WCTEMP) and below its critical one (CCTEMP). Critical Composite Temperature Time (critical_comp_time on older nvme-cli): minutes at or above CCTEMP. Solidigm's data center warranty also ends when the reported temperature reaches the limit in its addendum.
- 3.Cross-check with smartctl, which decodes the same log and converts the write count to bytes.
smartctl -x /dev/nvme0Reading'Data Units Written: N [X TB]' is already converted at 1000 x 512 bytes per unit. 'SMART overall-health self-assessment test result' is derived from the Critical Warning byte alone: a failing result would mean the device has failed or predicts failure within 24 hours, and PASSED tells you nothing about endurance left. The vendor IDs print as one 'PCI Vendor/Subsystem ID' line when the two are equal, otherwise as separate 'PCI Vendor ID' and 'PCI Vendor Subsystem ID' lines; either way they repeat vid and ssvid from the identity check. - 4.If the history looks too clean for the drive's age, treat it as unproven either way. In one forum thread, a buyer of a used Intel SATA drive found about 28 power-on hours on a unit a warranty lookup dated to 2017 and asked whether SMART had been reset. In another, a used Intel SATA drive read zero power-on hours while its Workload_Minutes counter implied about eight years, and its NAND writes rose overnight with no host writes. Some replies in both threads put it down to an unused datacenter spare, and neither thread settled it. We found no vendor document stating whether or how these counters can be reset. A 2016 ServeTheHome fleet report also noted some Dell OEM drives that did not report power-on hours at all.ReadingJudge the drive on the checks you can run and on the seller's return window, not on the hour count alone.
Check a SAS SSD
- 1.Read a SAS SSD as a raw SCSI device. A forum arrival-testing guide puts SAS drives behind an IT-mode HBA so each shows up on its own; -d scsi stops smartctl sending ATA commands to it. Use -x, or add -l ssd to -a, because the endurance figure comes from the Solid State Media page that -l ssd prints.
smartctl -x -d scsi /dev/sgNReading'Percentage used endurance indicator: N%': 0 is new, 100 is the end of the maker-projected life. 'Elements in grown defect list: N'. 'Accumulated power on time, hours:minutes'. 'Manufactured in week W of year Y': hold it against the listing's description. 'Error counter log': the uncorrected errors column should read 0. 'SMART Health Status' comes from the Informational Exceptions ASC/ASCQ, not from the endurance figure. - 2.If the drive does not return the Solid State Media page to smartctl -l ssd, read log page 0x11 raw.
sg_logs --page=0x11 /dev/sgNReadingThis is the page smartctl decodes as the percentage-used indicator. sg_logs --all /dev/sgN dumps every log page the drive supports. - 3.Record the grown defect count now and again after the long self-test. Use --grown: with it the tool is passive and reassigns nothing; without it, sg_reassign reassigns the blocks at whatever addresses you give it.
sg_reassign --grown /dev/sgNReadingEach reassigned block adds an entry to the list. sg3_utils calls an empty list the best kind and a quickly growing one an ominous sign; its page speaks of disks and does not mention SSDs, so we give no SSD threshold. Growth between your two readings is the signal.
Check a SATA SSD
- 1.SATA SSDs report wear through vendor-specific attributes, and smartctl names them from its drive database. Print them.
smartctl -A /dev/sdXReadingDefault names: 177 Wear_Leveling_Count and 233 Media_Wearout_Indicator for wear, 241 Total_LBAs_Written for writes, 9 Power_On_Hours, 5 Reallocated_Sector_Ct. Intel DC S35x0/3610/3700 drives report Host_Writes_32MiB, Available_Reservd_Space and Unsafe_Shutdown_Count. Micron 5100/52x0/5300/5400 drives report Percent_Lifetime_Remain and Total_LBAs_Written. Raw write units differ by vendor, so do not turn a raw count into bytes until you have that vendor's unit. - 2.Print the ATA Device Statistics log, which carries a standard endurance figure on drives that support it.
smartctl -l devstat /dev/sdXReadingPage 7 holds the Percentage Used Endurance Indicator where the drive supports the log. - 3.Read SATA drives on a direct SATA port where you can. In one thread about a used Intel SATA drive reading 0 power-on hours, replies suggested re-reading SMART on a direct SATA connection instead of through a USB enclosure and testing the real capacity before trusting the drive.
Run the drive's own self-test
- 1.Start the extended self-test; -t short gives a quicker first pass. For a SAS drive use -d scsi /dev/sgN; for a SATA drive use /dev/sdX.
smartctl -t long /dev/nvme0ReadingThis runs the NVMe extended self-test, the SCSI background long test or the ATA extended test. An NVMe drive without Device Self-test support (OACS bit 4) rejects the command. - 2.When it finishes, print the self-test log and re-read the counters you recorded on arrival.
smartctl -l selftest /dev/nvme0ReadingA failed entry, or one aborted by an error, is a return reason. Compare media_errors (NVMe), and the grown defect list and uncorrected errors (SAS), with your arrival readings.
Work out how much rated endurance is left
- 1.Find the rating for the exact model number the identity check printed. TBW is the JEDEC JESD218 endurance rating in terabytes written by the host. DWPD is full-capacity writes per day under a specified workload for a specified lifetime.
- 2.Subtract what the drive has already written from the rating, using your own figures.
TB written = Data Units Written x 512,000 / 10^12; rated TB = data-sheet TBW, or capacity_TB x DWPD x 365 x rated_years (the lifetime the DWPD figure is stated over); remaining rated TB = rated TB - TB writtenReadingIf the remaining rated TB, at the write rate you expect, does not last the service you want, the drive does not fit the job even with every health field clean. Our catalogue holds no Percentage Used or remaining-endurance figure for any listing, so this number exists only for the unit on your bench. Used stock varies: one buyer of eight used 15.36TB drives reported seven still at 99% or more of life.
Erase it before use, or before it goes back
- 1.Finish every reading above first. Then confirm the target by its serial number from the identity check, not by its device number: the nvme-cli documentation warns that the number in /dev/nvme0 does not say which namespaces belong to it. Use only a method the identity output lists under FNA or SANICAP.
- 2.This permanently destroys all user data on the namespace, and on every namespace on the drive if the identity output shows FNA bit 0 or bit 1 set; it cannot be undone. Secure erase setting 2 performs a cryptographic erase by deleting the encryption key; setting 1 is a user data erase. nvme-cli warns that guessing from the device numbering can irrevocably erase the wrong device.Destructive. This command destroys what is on the device and cannot be undone. Confirm the device path twice and have a backup of anything you still need before running it.
nvme format /dev/nvme0n1 --ses=2ReadingUse --ses=1 where the identity output lists no cryptographic erase. - 3.Sanitize also destroys all data, irreversibly. Start only an action that SANICAP lists.Destructive. This command destroys what is on the device and cannot be undone. Confirm the device path twice and have a backup of anything you still need before running it.
nvme sanitize /dev/nvme0 --sanact=start-crypto-eraseReading0x02 is block erase and 0x03 overwrite. Check progress with nvme sanitize-log /dev/nvme0: status 0x0002 means in progress, 0x0001 completed successfully, 0x0003 failed, and Sanitize Progress gives the percentage complete. - 4.On SAS, sg_sanitize erases all data and the operation cannot be reversed. Even if the drive is power cycled, the sanitize continues after power returns until it is complete. It pauses 15 seconds before starting so you can reconsider; do not add --quick, which skips that pause.Destructive. This command destroys what is on the device and cannot be undone. Confirm the device path twice and have a backup of anything you still need before running it.
sg_sanitize --crypto /dev/sgNReading--block and --overwrite select the other methods. Watch progress with sg_requests --num=9999 --progress /dev/sgN. sg3_utils notes that finding out whether a disk supports SANITIZE can be a challenge. - 5.On SATA, an ATA security erase permanently destroys all data. hdparm first locks the drive with a password, then erases it; hdparm marks both switches DANGEROUS, says they might not work with some kernels, and permits no other options on the command line with --security-set-pass. Record the password you set.Destructive. This command destroys what is on the device and cannot be undone. Confirm the device path twice and have a backup of anything you still need before running it.
hdparm --security-set-pass PWD /dev/sdX; hdparm --security-erase PWD /dev/sdXReading--security-erase-enhanced is the enhanced form. The special password NULL stands for an empty password.
Causes, how to confirm each, and whether hardware fixes it
| Cause | How to confirm | Fix | Hardware? |
|---|---|---|---|
| The drive is not the one listed: model, serial or firmware differs from the listing or the label | mn, sn and fr from nvme id-ctrl against the listing and the label; on SAS, the 'Manufactured in week W of year Y' line against the listing's description | Return it inside the seller's window. We read no document saying what a difference between vid and ssvid means, so record both and ask the seller rather than treat that difference alone as a return reason. Solidigm's data center warranty, Samsung's SSD Limited Warranty (whose model table lists retail drives) and Kioxia's EMEA warranty page all exclude drives with altered labels or serial numbers. | Yes |
| A Critical Warning bit other than temperature is set, or Available Spare is at or near its threshold | critical_warning in nvme smart-log shows bit 0x01, 0x04, 0x08 or 0x10, or available_spare sits at or close to available_spare_threshold | Return the drive. | Yes |
| Unrecovered errors or growing defects | media_errors above 0 on NVMe; on SAS, a non-zero uncorrected errors column in the error counter log or a grown defect list that rises between arrival and the end of the long self-test; a failed entry in smartctl -l selftest | Return the drive. | Yes |
| Too little rated endurance is left for your workload | Rated TBW, or capacity x DWPD x 365 x rated years, minus Data Units Written x 512,000 bytes, does not cover the writes you plan over the service you need | Return it, or keep it only for a lighter-write role whose writes the remaining rating does cover. | Yes |
| The recorded history looks implausible for the listing | power_on_hours (or SAS 'Accumulated power on time') near zero against an old manufacture date, or writes counted by the drive rising with no host writes, as one forum buyer saw | No check here proves a reset or rules one out, and we found no vendor document stating whether counters can be reset. If identity, warning bits, spare, errors and the self-test all pass, the drive may be an unused spare, as some forum replies suggested; if the doubt is unacceptable, return it inside the window. | No |
| No manufacturer warranty reaches a second owner | Read the maker's terms against how you bought: Solidigm's data center warranty covers only the original purchaser of a sealed drive bought from Solidigm or an authorized distributor, for as long as they own it; Samsung's SSD Limited Warranty is 'provided only to You and is not transferable', though its model table lists retail drives only; Kioxia handles warranty only with direct customers and sends everyone else to the point of original purchase | Treat the seller's return window as the warranty and finish every check on this page inside it. | No |
The list holds enterprise SSDs with a stated TBW or DWPD in any condition, with each row's condition shown, so you can weigh another used offer against a new one. Rows are U.2, U.3, E1.S or E3.S form factor, or SAS; the one SATA SSD row is left out because no stored field marks it as enterprise. The endurance figure shown is the catalogue's stored one, so confirm its basis on the maker's sheet. No row carries Percentage Used or remaining endurance, so every check above applies to the unit that arrives, whichever row you pick.
When not to buy: When the delivered unit passes every check, keep it: identity matches, Critical Warning is 0, spare sits clear of its threshold, there are no media errors or growing defects, the self-test is clean and enough rated writes remain. If it fails only on identity, return it through the seller before buying a second drive.
| Product · part number | Cap. | Interface · form · rating | Condition | Price | $/TB | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Dell 3.84TB SAS SSD Read Intensive 12G MZILT3T8HBLS · details | 3.84TB | SAS-12G · 2.5" · 0.8 DWPD | REFURB / USED Amazon: Used / LikeNew · sold by Tech on Time (SN RECORDED) | $799.99 | $208.33 | Buy on Amazon |
Samsung PM9A3 7.68TB U.2 NVMe MZQL27T6HBLA-00A07 · details | 7.68TB | NVMe-PCIe4 · U.2 · 1 DWPD | REFURB / USED Amazon: Used / LikeNew · sold by Tech on Time (SN RECORDED) | $2,715.99 | $353.64 | Buy on Amazon |
Samsung MZ-QL27T600 7.68TB U.2 NVMe MZ-QL27T600 · details | 7.68TB | NVMe-PCIe4 · U.2 · 1 DWPD | REFURB / USED Amazon: Used / VeryGood · sold by Arsenal PC · seller's note on the listing | $3,499.99 | $455.73 | Buy on Amazon |
Micron 7450 PRO 3.84TB U.3 MTFDKCC3T8TFS · details | 3.84TB | NVMe-PCIe4 · U.3 · 1 DWPD | REFURB / USED Amazon: Used / LikeNew · sold by CorteseInc | $1,990.00 | $518.23 | Buy on Amazon |
Samsung PM9A3 7.68TB U.2 NVMe MZQL27T6HBLA · details | 7.68TB | NVMe-PCIe4 · U.2 · 1 DWPD | NEW Amazon: New / Unknown · sold by SiliconValleySeller (SN# Recorded) | $4,099.00 | $533.72 | Buy on Amazon |
Micron 7600 PRO 3.84TB U.2 PCIe5 MTFDLAL3T8THG · details | 3.84TB | NVMe-PCIe5 · U.2 · 1 DWPD | NEW Amazon: New / Unknown · sold by Hard2FindParts | $2,599.00 | $676.82 | Buy on Amazon |
Samsung PM9A3 960GB U.2 NVMe MZQL2960HCJR · details | 0.96TB | NVMe-PCIe4 · U.2 · 1 DWPD | NEW Amazon: New / Unknown · sold by DiscTech (USA) | $798.00 | $831.25 | Buy on Amazon |
WD Ultrastar DC SN655 7.68TB U.3 WUS5EA176ESP7E1 · details | 7.68TB | NVMe-PCIe4 · U.3 · 14,016 TBW | NEW Amazon: New / Unknown · sold by vCloud Choice | $8,334.11 | $1,085.17 | Buy on Amazon |
Samsung PM1643A 1.92TB SAS SSD MZILT1T9HBJR · details | 1.92TB | SAS-12G · 2.5" · 1 DWPD | NEW Amazon: New / Unknown · sold by SiliconValleySeller (SN# Recorded) | $2,095.00 | $1,091.15 | Buy on Amazon |
Samsung PM1643a 1.92TB SAS SSD MZILT1T9HBJR-00007 · details | 1.92TB | SAS-12G · 2.5" · 1 DWPD | NEW Amazon: New / Unknown · sold by SiliconValleySeller (SN# Recorded) | $2,145.00 | $1,117.19 | Buy on Amazon |
- Solidigm D5-P5316 15.36TB NVMe U.2 SSDPF2NV153T8 · 15.36TB · no in-stock offer, so no price is shown
- WD Ultrastar DC SN655 15.36TB U.3 WUS5EA1A1ESP7E1 · 15.36TB · no in-stock offer, so no price is shown
- Samsung PM1643 7.68TB SAS SSD MZILT7T6HMLA-00007 · 7.68TB · no in-stock offer, so no price is shown
- Samsung PM9A3 3.84TB E1.S NVMe MZTL23T8HCLS · 3.84TB · no in-stock offer, so no price is shown
- Samsung PM1643 3.84TB SAS SSD MZILT3T8HALS · 3.84TB · no in-stock offer, so no price is shown
- Samsung PM1643A 3.84TB SAS SSD MZILT3T8HBLS-00007 · 3.84TB · no in-stock offer, so no price is shown
Prices are Amazon US, re-checked about once a day; newest price in this table . A click here is a click, not a purchase; we earn a commission on qualifying purchases. The table shows what the catalogue holds against the criteria, not an endorsement of any model for your server.
Read next on this site
- Enterprise SSD Percentage Used warning · What Percentage Used, Available Spare and Critical Warning mean once a monitor alarms on an installed drive, and when to replace it.
- Proxmox SSD wearout too high · How to measure host writes per day on a running system, the input the remaining-endurance arithmetic here needs.
- SSD Endurance Calculator · Converts a measured daily write rate into the TBW and DWPD a drive needs.
- Refurbished warranty guide · Our guide to who issues each kind of refurbished warranty, written about hard drives rather than SSDs.
- Refurbished vs recertified vs renewed · What each seller label means and who issues its warranty, covered for hard drives.
- SMART errors explained · Hard drive SMART attributes and replace thresholds, for any HDDs bought in the same lot; it does not cover SSD endurance fields.
- Enterprise NVMe U.2 SSD prices · Live prices for enterprise U.2 and U.3 drives with a one-line DWPD definition.
Frequently asked questions
Can a seller reset an SSD's SMART counters?
We found no vendor document stating whether or how SSD health counters can be reset. Buyers in two Level1Techs threads suspected resets on used Intel drives with near-zero power-on hours, and neither thread proved or ruled one out. The NVMe health log is defined as kept over the controller's life and across power cycles.
What about Micron, Western Digital and Samsung data center SSDs?
Micron's returns page sends anyone who bought from a reseller, authorized distributor or contract manufacturer to that seller for returns; we found no Micron SSD warranty document stating transfer or endurance terms. The Western Digital Ultrastar SSD warranty page we opened rendered no warranty terms, so we state none. We found no Samsung data-center (PM/SM-series) warranty document; the Samsung SSD Limited Warranty we read lists retail models in its table.
Do years of power-on hours mean the drive is worn out?
Not on their own: wear shows in Percentage Used and in Data Units Written against the rating. One forum poster's Intel DC P3700 had 44,627 power-on hours with Percentage Used at 1% and about 21.6TB written.
Why does the product list leave out SATA enterprise SSDs?
On this site the enterprise SSD set is defined by stored form factor (U.2, U.3, E1.S, E3.S) or a SAS interface. No stored field separates an enterprise SATA SSD from a consumer one, so the single SATA SSD row is excluded rather than guessed.
Sources
Every technical statement above rests on one of these documents, each read on the date shown. Where a document did not state something, the page says so rather than filling the gap.
- NVME_HEALTH_INFO_LOG structure (nvme.h) · checked
- NVME_IDENTIFY_CONTROLLER_DATA structure (nvme.h) · checked
- nvme-format(1) - mankier · checked
- nvme-sanitize(1) - mankier · checked
- nvme-sanitize-log(1) - mankier · checked
- nvme-id-ctrl(1) - mankier · checked
- smartctl(8) - Ubuntu noble · checked
- smartmontools/nvmeprint.cpp (master) · checked
- smartmontools/scsiprint.cpp (master) · checked
- smartmontools/drivedb.h (master) - Default settings, Intel 730/DC S35x0/3610/3700, Intel 3710, Micron 5100/52x0/5300/5400 entries · checked
- sg_logs(8) - Ubuntu noble · checked
- sg_reassign(8) - Ubuntu noble · checked
- hdparm(8) - Ubuntu noble · checked
- sg_sanitize(8) - Ubuntu noble · checked
- Solidigm Solid State Drives - Data Center Family Limited Warranty (PDF dated 2025-06-06, support article ka-00106) · checked
- Solidigm Data Center Limited Warranty (same PDF) - endurance termination · checked
- Samsung SSD Limited Warranty For All Samsung SSDs (English UK PDF) · checked
- KIOXIA warranty for solid state drives (SSDs) - EMEA · checked
- Micron returns and warranties · checked
- CD8P-R Series data center NVMe SSD product page · checked
- JEDEC Announces Publication of Solid State Drive Standards (JESD218 / JESD219) · checked
- DatacenterDisk - Enterprise NVMe U.2 SSDs - Live Prices · checked
- nvme-cli v2.4 nvme-print.c, nvme_show_smart_log (the labels nvme smart-log prints) · checked
Where people hit this
Discussions we opened and read while researching this page. They are evidence that the problem occurs and of what people tried; no specification above is sourced to a forum post.
- Level1Techs forum · 2026-07-30 · A buyer of a used Intel DC S3520 from eBay found about 28 power-on hours and clean SMART on a drive a warranty lookup dated to 2017, and asked whether the data had been reset. Replies said used drives are often unused spares; one ran a destructive write test that came back clean. No way to prove or disprove a reset was offered.“So either I got impossibly lucky with a cold spare or somehow this got reset.”
- Level1Techs forum · 2025-11-20 · A used Intel SSDSC2BA800G4 800GB SATA drive from an eBay seller read Power_On_Hours 0 and almost no host writes while its Workload_Minutes counter implied about eight years, and its NAND writes rose overnight with no host writes. Replies split between tampered, SMART wiped and a normal unused datacenter spare; suggestions were to re-read SMART on a direct SATA port rather than USB and to test the real capacity. Unresolved.
- Level1Techs forum · 2024-10-09 · A thread on finding used 16TB-class enterprise SSDs: one buyer reported seven of eight used 15.36TB drives still at 99% or more of life, and another said sellers who publish SMART data charge more than vague listings. Evidence of the buying decision, not of a failure.“any drive that fails erasure cannot be surplused (resold) per enterprise SOP”
- Level1Techs forum · 2021-10-09 · An Intel DC P3700 400GB card posted with 44,627 power-on hours, Percentage Used 1%, about 21.6TB written, Available Spare 100% against a 10% threshold, 0 media errors and 16 unsafe shutdowns; the owner asked whether the hours were a worry. Whether the card was bought used is not stated.
- Level1Techs forum (Wikis & How-to Guides) · 2025-06-26 · A how-to for arrival-testing secondhand enterprise SAS, SATA and NVMe flash: put SAS drives behind an IT-mode HBA so each is a raw device, identify them, confirm SMART is enabled, read the wear and write fields, then run short and long self-tests.
- ServeTheHome (article) · 2016-07-25 · ServeTheHome's report on its own fleet of 412 used data center SSDs bought from recyclers, eBay and other users; some Dell OEM drives did not report power-on hours. The author warns the sample is too small to judge any model.
Other enterprise ssd or nvme problems
- Which SSDs should I buy for Ceph OSDs and BlueStore DB/WAL, and how big should they be?
- Do I need enterprise SSDs for Proxmox, or will consumer drives do?
- Enterprise SSD Percentage Used hit 100%: is it failing, and do you replace it?
- How much power does an enterprise U.2 NVMe SSD draw, and can I make it idle lower?
- Why does my NVMe SSD disappear under load until I power-cycle?
- Proxmox shows high SSD wearout: is the drive dying, and what is writing to it?
- All questions →