Enterprise SSD or NVMe

Do I need enterprise SSDs for Proxmox, or will consumer drives do?

Sources checked · page updated · the question as people ask it: “I am buying SSDs for a Proxmox host (boot/rpool, VM storage, maybe Ceph later) - are consumer drives acceptable, or do I really need enterprise SSDs?”

Quick answer

Proxmox's current admin guide says 'Using consumer SSDs is discouraged' and recommends SSDs with power-loss protection (PLP) for good performance, while its 2020 ZFS benchmark paper answers the consumer and pro-sumer question with an unqualified no. By role, the ZFS chapter asks for an enterprise-class SSD for any dedicated log or cache device, the 'discouraged' line sits under VM storage, and the OS-storage line names no SSD class at all. Measure the host's daily writes and fsync rate before you buy: those two numbers decide how much endurance and sync-write speed each role needs.

What are you seeing?

Pick the closest symptom to open the matching diagnostic path. This is a guide to what to check and in what order; it does not read your system and does not diagnose it.

Set your measured writes against each class's rating
  1. 1.Get the host's writes per day from the drives you have now: the wearout page linked below measures them on NVMe (Data Units Written) and SATA (Total_LBAs_Written, or Logical Sectors Written where smartctl -l devstat is supported). Then turn each candidate's rating into writes per day and set the two side by side. A TBW rating spreads over its warranty: rated writes per day = TBW / (365 x warranty years). A DWPD rating means capacity x DWPD per day, on the lifetime the data sheet states.
    ReadingConsumer example: Samsung's 990 PRO data sheet gives 600TB (1TB) and 1,200TB (2TB) over 5 years, with coverage ending at the period or the TBW, whichever comes first: 600 / (365 x 5) is about 0.33TB a day and 1,200 / (365 x 5) about 0.66TB a day, roughly a third of each drive's capacity daily. Enterprise example: Samsung's PM893 page states its warranty as 5 years or 1.0 DWPD; by KIOXIA's definition one drive write per day is the full capacity written once a day, every day, for the stated lifetime. If your measured rate sits well under the consumer drive's figure, endurance alone does not decide the class.
Test sync-write behaviour on the storage you have or plan to use
  1. 1.Run Proxmox's own benchmark against a path on the storage you want to test: replace <path> with a directory on that storage, for example /var/lib/vz. With no path, pveperf tests /. The result describes the device under the path you give, and nothing else.
    pveperf <path>
    ReadingRead FSYNCS/SECOND. The pveperf man page says the value should be greater than 200. On an otherwise idle host, a low figure points at how the storage under that path handles sync writes. Treat 200 as a floor rather than a target: in one TrueNAS forum thread, a consumer NVMe holding a Proxmox host's VM storage read about 755 while that host still showed high iowait.
  2. 2.Identify the exact model and firmware, so you can find its data sheet and release notes.
    nvme id-ctrl /dev/nvme0 | grep -iE '^(mn|fr|hmpre|hmmin|vwc)\s'
    Readingmn is the model and fr the firmware revision. A non-zero hmpre means the controller supports Host Memory Buffer, which borrows host RAM; it does not prove the drive has no DRAM, so check the data sheet's DRAM line. vwc is printed as a hex value: bit 0 set (an odd value) means a volatile write cache is present. For a SATA or SAS SSD, smartctl -i /dev/sdX prints model, serial and firmware.
  3. 3.To set a candidate drive beside Proxmox's published figures, run the paper's 4K sync-write test. WARNING: it destroys all data on the target device, and Proxmox's paper says so in its own words. Run it only on an empty drive, never on an rpool disk or any member of a live pool, and replace /dev/sdx with that drive.
    Destructive. This command destroys what is on the device and cannot be undone. Confirm the device path twice and have a backup of anything you still need before running it.
    fio --ioengine=libaio --filename=/dev/sdx --direct=1 --sync=1 --rw=write --bs=4K --numjobs=1 --iodepth=1 --runtime=60 --time_based --name=fio
    ReadingNote write IOPS and mean completion latency. On Proxmox's December 2020 testbed a Micron 9300 MAX 3.2TB reached 51,000 IO/s at 0.02 ms and an Intel DC S3500 120GB 12,099 IO/s at 0.08 ms, against 339 IO/s at 2.94 ms for a Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB, 254 IO/s at 3.93 ms for a Crucial MX100 512GB and 117 IO/s for a Seagate Constellation 7200.2 hard drive. Those numbers belong to those models on that testbed only. The paper recommends this test for every SSD before it goes into ZFS.
Read the data sheet for what separates the two classes
  1. 1.Find the power-loss protection line for the exact model. Makers word it differently: KIOXIA lists 'Power loss protection (PLP)', Solidigm calls its scheme 'power-loss imminent (PLI) protection' with built-in self-testing, and Samsung's PM893 page says it 'prevents data corruption in case of power failure with power loss protection'. Our catalogue holds no PLP field, so this check is per model, in the maker's own document.
    ReadingWhy it matters: Samsung's 2016 white paper says SSDs usually acknowledge a write once it reaches volatile DRAM, that client SSDs do not normally carry capacitor-backed full PLP, and that its enterprise SSDs use capacitors to protect every write already acknowledged to the host. The 990 PRO data sheet we read lists no PLP.
  2. 2.Read the endurance figure together with its basis. A DWPD figure means little without the lifetime and workload it is stated over: KIOXIA's CD8P-R page gives 1 DWPD with a 5-year warranty, while the Solidigm D7-P5510 brief we read states write endurance of up to 1 DWPD with no basis on that page.
    ReadingJEDEC's JESD218 sets separate Client and Enterprise application classes with their own requirements, and defines TBW as the terabytes a host writes to the SSD. We did not read the class requirements themselves (the standard text is paywalled), so this page states none of them.
  3. 3.Look for a write figure stated for after the cache runs out. Samsung's 870 QVO data sheet rates sequential writes at up to 530 MB/s within Intelligent TurboWrite and 80 MB/s (1TB) or 160 MB/s (2-8TB) after it: once a write outlasts the cache, the post-cache figure applies. The 990 PRO sheet says its write figures were measured with TurboWrite active and gives no post-cache figure. In one Level1Techs thread, a poster running a Proxmox cluster on Crucial BX500s reported serious I/O bottlenecks during VM moves and restores; that is a forum report, not a documented cache effect.
    ReadingEnterprise pages describe their write behaviour as 'consistent performance' (KIOXIA CD8P-R) and 'predictably fast high performance' (Solidigm D7-P5510); those are the makers' claims, with no steady-state method on the pages we read. Seagate's over-provisioning blog says over-provisioning mitigates write amplification and, as general guidance rather than a per-drive figure, puts the space set aside at 7% to 28% of a drive's capacity, usually around 7-10% by default on consumer drives, and suggests considering 20-28% for professional and enterprise SSDs, especially in high-write environments.
  4. 4.Compare the firmware revision found in the previous path with the maker's release notes before writing a consumer drive off. Samsung's notes for the 990 PRO include a September 2025 release 'To address the intermittent non-recognition and blue screen issue'.
    ReadingA known fix in the notes points at a firmware problem rather than the drive class. For drives that drop off the bus, follow the NVMe drop-out page linked below.
Map each disk role and apply Proxmox's wording to it
  1. 1.List what backs the boot pool by full device path, then run the same for each VM pool.
    zpool status -P rpool
    ReadingEach path is a physical drive, and so a slot or bay a replacement must fit. Log or cache vdevs, if the pool has any, appear in the same listing.
  2. 2.Boot / rpool. The guide's OS-storage line reads: hardware RAID with a battery-protected write cache, or non-RAID ZFS with an optional SSD for the ZIL. It names no SSD class for the OS disk. The same guide states that neither ZFS nor Ceph is compatible with a hardware RAID controller, so on a ZFS rpool each SSD's own write behaviour reaches the pool. If rpool also carries VM disks, the VM-storage wording applies to it as well.
    ReadingFor a host with only an M.2 2280 slot, Micron markets a 7450 model in M.2 2280 with power-loss protection, specifically for server boot use.
  3. 3.VM storage. This is where the guide's 'Using consumer SSDs is discouraged' sits, beside 'SSDs with Power-Loss-Protection (PLP) are recommended for good performance'. The word is discouraged, not unsupported. The 2020 ZFS paper, a separate document, says M.2 NVMe drives can be used but that U.2 NVMe drives gave better disk performance than M.2 variants.
  4. 4.ZFS log or cache device. Proxmox's ZFS chapter says a dedicated cache or log disk should be an enterprise-class SSD, and for log devices it recommends fast SSDs with power-loss protection because they have much smaller commit latencies. Of the three roles, this one carries the most specific wording in the current documents.
  5. 5.Ceph, if it comes later. The OSD case has its own page with the Ceph-specific guidance and a latency diagnosis; a drive bought now can go through the sync-write test in the second path before it becomes an OSD, as Proxmox's ZFS paper recommends for every SSD before use.

Causes, how to confirm each, and whether hardware fixes it

CauseHow to confirmFixHardware?
A drive without power-loss protection on sync-heavy VM storage or a ZFS logpveperf FSYNCS/SECOND on that storage is low, or the destructive fio test on an identical empty drive lands near the consumer rows of Proxmox's 2020 table rather than the enterprise onesMove that role to an enterprise SSD whose maker document states PLP or PLI for the exact modelYes
Daily writes beyond what the drive's rating allows over its warrantyThe measured writes per day (the Data Units Written delta on NVMe, or the Total_LBAs_Written or devstat Logical Sectors Written delta on SATA, per the wearout page) are above TBW / (365 x warranty years), or above capacity x DWPD on the stated basisChoose a drive whose stated rating covers the measured rate, or first find and cut the writers with the wearout pageYes
Sustained writes outlast a consumer drive's write cacheThe model's data sheet states a lower write figure after the cache (the 870 QVO sheet gives 80 or 160 MB/s against 530 MB/s), and the slowdown comes during long writes rather than short ones. Forum reports of move and restore bottlenecks, such as the BX500 thread, are reports, not a confirmed cache effectKeep long bulk writes off that drive, or move the role to a drive whose sheet states its sustained write figureYes
A firmware defect on the installed consumer drive, not its classfr from nvme id-ctrl, or the firmware line from smartctl -i, is a version the maker's release notes say a later release fixesApply the release the maker's notes name, then re-run pveperf before deciding to buyNo
ZFS sits on a hardware RAID volume instead of the SSDs themselveszpool status -P lists the pool's devices; check whether they are the SSDs or a volume the RAID controller presentsPresent the disks directly (see the HBA IT mode page); Proxmox states that neither ZFS nor Ceph is compatible with a hardware RAID controller. If the controller cannot pass disks through, an HBA is the hardware changeNo
If your measurements say a role needs an enterprise SSD

The live list uses the catalogue's stored form factor (U.2, U.3, E1.S, E3.S) or a SAS interface, plus a stated TBW or DWPD, as its proxy for enterprise drives: a stored field, not a class test. The enterprise pages we read list U.2 (Solidigm D7-P5510, Samsung PM9A3), 2.5-inch 15mm (KIOXIA CD8P-R) and E1.S (PM9A3, Micron 7450), but we found no vendor document naming U.3, E3.S or SAS as an enterprise marker, and no stored field separates an enterprise M.2 such as Micron's M.2 7450 from a consumer M.2, so check that one on the maker's data sheet. It shows new offers only, because endurance is a warranty term on the drive: the 990 PRO's coverage ends at its period or its TBW, whichever comes first, and the PM893's warranty is 5 years or 1.0 DWPD. We store no PLP field and the endurance figures shown are the catalogue's (two Samsung 7.68TB rows at the same 1 DWPD store different TBW), so confirm PLP or PLI and the DWPD basis in each model's own document.

When not to buy: Do not buy when the measured writes per day sit well under the installed drive's rated writes per day and pveperf and the fio test give acceptable results for that role, or when the firmware notes name a fix. Match the slot before the class: a SAS SSD needs a SAS controller presenting disks directly to ZFS, and a U.2 or U.3 drive needs a matching bay or an adapter, which the adapter pages below cover.

Every row below meets: Enterprise NVMe form factor (U.2 / U.3 / E1.S / E3.S) · SAS interface (2.5" SAS SSD) · Stated TBW rating · Stated DWPD rating (check the lifetime basis on the maker's data sheet). A listing whose field is not stated is excluded from a required criterion and marked “not stated” on an optional one; nothing is assumed. What the catalogue cannot evaluate: power-loss protection (PLP / PLI); enterprise M.2 2280/22110 NVMe for boot; enterprise SATA 2.5" SSD; DWPD lifetime/workload basis; stated TBW for price per rated TB written. Check these on the maker's data sheet.
Product · part numberCap.Interface · form · ratingConditionPrice$/TBBuy
Dell 3.84TB SAS SSD Read Intensive 12G
MZILT3T8HBLS · details
3.84TBSAS-12G · 2.5" · 0.8 DWPDNEW Amazon: New / Unknown · sold by AMTECH$1,250.00$325.52Buy on Amazon
Samsung MZ-QL27T600 7.68TB U.2 NVMe
MZ-QL27T600 · details
7.68TBNVMe-PCIe4 · U.2 · 1 DWPDNEW Amazon: New / Unknown · sold by SiliconValleySeller (SN# Recorded)$3,998.00$520.57Buy on Amazon
Samsung PM9A3 7.68TB U.2 NVMe
MZQL27T6HBLA · details
7.68TBNVMe-PCIe4 · U.2 · 1 DWPDNEW Amazon: New / Unknown · sold by SiliconValleySeller (SN# Recorded)$4,099.00$533.72Buy on Amazon
Micron 7600 PRO 3.84TB U.2 PCIe5
MTFDLAL3T8THG · details
3.84TBNVMe-PCIe5 · U.2 · 1 DWPDNEW Amazon: New / Unknown · sold by Hard2FindParts$2,599.00$676.82Buy on Amazon
Samsung PM9A3 960GB U.2 NVMe
MZQL2960HCJR · details
0.96TBNVMe-PCIe4 · U.2 · 1 DWPDNEW Amazon: New / Unknown · sold by DiscTech (USA)$798.00$831.25Buy on Amazon
WD Ultrastar DC SN655 7.68TB U.3
WUS5EA176ESP7E1 · details
7.68TBNVMe-PCIe4 · U.3 · 14,016 TBWNEW Amazon: New / Unknown · sold by vCloud Choice$8,334.11$1,085.17Buy on Amazon
Samsung PM1643A 1.92TB SAS SSD
MZILT1T9HBJR · details
1.92TBSAS-12G · 2.5" · 1 DWPDNEW Amazon: New / Unknown · sold by SiliconValleySeller (SN# Recorded)$2,095.00$1,091.15Buy on Amazon
Samsung PM1643a 1.92TB SAS SSD
MZILT1T9HBJR-00007 · details
1.92TBSAS-12G · 2.5" · 1 DWPDNEW Amazon: New / Unknown · sold by SiliconValleySeller (SN# Recorded)$2,145.00$1,117.19Buy on Amazon
Tracked, currently unavailable

Prices are Amazon US, re-checked about once a day; newest price in this table . A click here is a click, not a purchase; we earn a commission on qualifying purchases. The table shows what the catalogue holds against the criteria, not an endorsement of any model for your server.

Read next on this site

Frequently asked questions

Is 'No. Never.' Proxmox's current position on consumer SSDs?

It is the answer in the hardware FAQ of Proxmox's ZFS benchmark paper (testbed December 2020), which cites performance, reliability and endurance and calls enterprise-class SSDs with high endurance and power-loss protection essential for ZFS. The current admin guide's system requirements use a different word: consumer SSDs are 'discouraged', with PLP SSDs recommended for good performance. Quote each document with its own wording and date; one does not stand in for the other.

Should a mini PC with only M.2 slots take a U.2 enterprise drive?

Check the physical fit first. In a Level1Techs thread about a Minisforum MS-A2, replies said 15mm U.2 and U.3 drives suit such boxes poorly for space and cooling, and that enterprise M.2 22110 drives fit some mini-PC slots. Enterprise models do come in M.2: Micron offers a 7450 in M.2 2280 with PLP for server boot, and Samsung offered its PM9A3 in E1.S, U.2 and M.2. An adapter is the other route.

Does it matter whether a consumer NVMe drive has DRAM or uses Host Memory Buffer?

A non-zero hmpre in nvme id-ctrl shows Host Memory Buffer support; it does not prove the drive lacks DRAM, which the data sheet's DRAM line settles. None of the primary documents behind this page state a performance cost for DRAM-less designs, so this page does not rank on it. Forum threads raise it: a ZFS pool of four WD Black SN770s with 200-300 ms write latency spikes ended unresolved, and replies to a PNY CS900 rpool with heavy IO delay pointed at DRAM-less, SLC-cached drives.

Does a hardware RAID card with a battery-backed cache change the answer?

For the OS disk, the guide names hardware RAID with a battery-protected write cache as one option, and the pveperf man page mentions enabling write-back cache on a RAID controller with BBWC. Proxmox also states that neither ZFS nor Ceph is compatible with a hardware RAID controller, so once rpool or VM storage is ZFS or Ceph, the SSDs sit directly under the pool and their own sync-write behaviour is what counts.

Sources

Every technical statement above rests on one of these documents, each read on the date shown. Where a document did not state something, the page says so rather than filling the gap.

  1. Proxmox VE Administration Guide - Installing Proxmox VE: System Requirements (Recommended System Requirements, VM storage) · checked
  2. Proxmox VE Administration Guide - Recommended System Requirements · checked
  3. Proxmox VE Administration Guide - Recommended System Requirements (OS storage) · checked
  4. Proxmox VE Administration Guide - Recommended System Requirements (VM storage) · checked
  5. ZFS on Linux (Proxmox VE wiki / admin guide ZFS chapter) - Hardware · checked
  6. ZFS on Linux (Proxmox VE wiki) - Cache and Log devices · checked
  7. Proxmox VE ZFS Benchmark 2020 (PDF, testbed Dec 2020) - SSD for ZFS · checked
  8. Proxmox VE ZFS Benchmark 2020 - Hardware FAQ ('Can I use consumer or pro-sumer SSDs, as these are much cheaper than enterprise-class SSDs?') · checked
  9. Proxmox VE ZFS Benchmark 2020 - Hardware FAQ ('Can I use NVMe SSDs, for example M2 or PCI-Express cards?') · checked
  10. Proxmox VE ZFS Benchmark 2020 - 4K sync-write fio table and test command · checked
  11. pveperf(1) man page · checked
  12. Samsung White Paper: Power Loss Protection in SSDs (2016) · checked
  13. Samsung White Paper: Power Loss Protection in SSDs (2016) - enterprise PLP · checked
  14. Samsung White Paper: Power Loss Protection in SSDs (2016) - write acknowledgement · checked
  15. KIOXIA CD8P-R Series product page (DWPD footnote) · checked
  16. KIOXIA CD8P-R Series product page (Key Features) · checked
  17. Solidigm D7-P5510 product brief · checked
  18. Micron 7450 SSD product page · checked
  19. Samsung PM893 data center SATA SSD page (page states it is no longer available as of 31 July 2025) · checked
  20. Samsung SSD 990 PRO Data Sheet Rev 1.0 (Oct 2022) · checked
  21. Samsung SSD 870 QVO Data Sheet Rev 1.1 (June 2020) · checked
  22. What Is SSD Over-Provisioning? (Seagate blog, 2024-08-29) · checked
  23. Samsung consumer SSD support - tools and firmware (990 PRO firmware notes) · checked
  24. NVME_HEALTH_INFO_LOG structure · checked
  25. NVME_IDENTIFY_CONTROLLER_DATA structure (HMPRE/HMMIN/VWC) · checked
  26. nvme-id-ctrl(1) · checked
  27. smartctl(8) · checked
  28. zpool-status(8) · checked
  29. JESD218/JESD219 SSD endurance standards announcement · checked
  30. Samsung PM9A3 data center SSD page (page states it is no longer available as of 31 July 2025) · checked

Where people hit this

Discussions we opened and read while researching this page. They are evidence that the problem occurs and of what people tried; no specification above is sourced to a forum post.

Other enterprise ssd or nvme problems

Share:WhatsAppFacebookPost on X