Enterprise SSD or NVMe

Enterprise SSD Percentage Used hit 100%: is it failing, and do you replace it?

Sources checked · page updated · the question as people ask it: “My monitoring (smartd, iDRAC, TrueNAS, Proxmox, Zabbix, Netdata) has started alerting because an enterprise SSD's NVMe Percentage Used (or the SAS/SATA endurance indicator) hit 100 percent or iDRAC says remaining write endurance is below threshold - is the drive failing, can I keep running it, and do I need to replace it?”

Quick answer

Not by itself. Percentage Used at 100 means the drive's estimated endurance has been consumed, which the NVMe definition says may not indicate a failure, and smartctl and smartd judge NVMe health only from the Critical Warning byte: a smartctl FAILED result or a smartd -H critical-warning message means the drive's firmware set a warning bit. Replace the drive when Available Spare falls below its threshold (bit 0x01), the media goes read-only (bit 0x08), media errors keep rising, or your measured write rate will spend the remaining rated endurance before the drive's planned service ends.

What are you seeing?

Pick the closest symptom to open the matching diagnostic path. This is a guide to what to check and in what order; it does not read your system and does not diagnose it.

Decode the alert on an NVMe drive
  1. 1.Print the SMART/Health Information log and read the Critical Warning byte first, bit by bit. Percentage Used is a vendor-specific estimate of life used, based on actual usage and the maker's prediction of NAND life, updated once per power-on hour. At 100 the estimated endurance is consumed, which the NVMe definition says may not indicate a failure.
    nvme smart-log /dev/nvme0
    Readingcritical_warning 0: the drive flags nothing. Nonzero: 0x01 available spare below threshold, 0x02 temperature out of range, 0x04 NVM subsystem reliability degraded, 0x08 media placed in read-only mode, 0x10 volatile memory backup failed. The bits describe the current state and are not persistent. Compare avail_spare (a normalised 0-100% of remaining spare) with spare_thresh; some nvme-cli builds spell them 'Available Spare' and 'Available Spare Threshold'. The threshold is set per drive, and Intel states 10% for its Optane products only. media_errors counts unrecovered data integrity errors. percentage_used can pass 100, and 255 is the field's ceiling: anything above 254 reads 255.
  2. 2.Cross-check with smartctl, which names the bit that is set.
    smartctl -x /dev/nvme0
    Reading'SMART overall-health self-assessment test result: FAILED' appears for any nonzero Critical Warning bit, followed by the bit's meaning, for example '- NVM subsystem reliability has been degraded'. smartctl does not use Percentage Used to decide the result, so FAILED at 100% means the firmware set a bit. In the forum reports behind this page, drives past 100% showed Critical Warning 0x04 with Available Spare at 100%: that is what those drives did, not a vendor rule. A FAILED with bit 0x01 or 0x08 is a different and more serious state.
  3. 3.Check what a script or monitor keyed on smartctl's exit code actually sees.
    smartctl -H /dev/nvme0; echo $?
    ReadingThe exit status carries the failure bit only when Critical Warning is nonzero, so anything keyed on smartctl's exit code alarms on the warning bit, not on Percentage Used.
  4. 4.Optional: on drives that implement the Endurance Group Information log, read the same fields per endurance group. If the command errors, the drive does not provide the log; use the smart-log output above.
    nvme endurance-log /dev/nvme0 --group-id=1
    ReadingFields include critical_warning, avl_spare, avl_spare_threshold, percent_used, endurance_estimate and data_units_written. We have no source for the unit of endurance_estimate, so do not convert it.
Find out why the monitor keeps alarming
  1. 1.smartd's -H directive on NVMe checks the Critical Warning byte and logs a LOG_CRIT syslog message whenever any bit is set. How often it mails you is a separate setting, the -M directive: a warning mail goes out once by default, and daily by default when smartd runs with state persistence (its -s command-line option, not the smartd.conf -s self-test directive). The forum thread behind this page reports a daily 'disk failed' mail from a Proxmox host.
  2. 2.Before you change the alert, check which smartmontools release you run, because what -H can ignore depends on it.
    smartd -V
    Reading7.4 or earlier: -H checks the whole Critical Warning byte with no option to ignore one bit, so removing -H for that device also silences bit 0x01 (spare below threshold) and bit 0x08 (read-only), the two replace signals; if you remove it, keep a separate check on Available Spare against its threshold and on those two bits. 7.5 (released 2025-04-30) or later: -H accepts a hexadecimal MASK that limits the check to the bits set in it, marked in the man page as an experimental feature. '-H 0xfb' (0xff without 0x04) ignores only the reliability-degraded bit and still alarms on 0x01 and 0x08; '-H 0xff' is the same as plain '-H'.
  3. 3.If the monitor alarms on a percentage rather than on the warning byte, know which figure it reads. smartctl exports NVMe Percentage Used and the SAS percentage-used endurance indicator to the same JSON key, endurance_used.current_percent, so a threshold on that key fires on both interfaces alike.
  4. 4.Read the error log, which smartd also watches.
    nvme error-log /dev/nvme0 -e 16
    ReadingEntries with status invalid command or invalid field in command come from the host side; smartd logs those at LOG_INFO and escalates to LOG_CRIT only for a new entry that is still present and device-related. Device-related entries together with a rising media_errors count are the concern.
Read the endurance indicator on SAS and SATA SSDs
  1. 1.On a SAS SSD, read the endurance figure from SCSI log page 0x11 (Solid State Media).
    smartctl -l ssd /dev/sdX
    Reading'Percentage used endurance indicator: N%': 0 is new, 100 is the end of the manufacturer-projected lifetime, and the value may reach 255. The overall 'SMART Health Status' comes from the Informational Exceptions log, not from this percentage.
  2. 2.If the SAS drive sits behind a RAID controller or you reach it through an SG device, address it as SCSI so smartctl does not send it ATA commands.
    smartctl -a -d scsi /dev/sgN
    ReadingThe same endurance indicator and health status as above, read through the SG device.
  3. 3.On a SATA SSD, print the ATA Device Statistics log.
    smartctl -l devstat /dev/sdX
    ReadingPage 7, 'Solid State Device Statistics', holds 'Percentage Used Endurance Indicator' on drives that support the Device Statistics log; not every drive does, and smartctl -l ssd on ATA does the same thing. A vendor's own wear figure is separate and vendor-specific: Solidigm's warranty names its SATA figure 'Media Wear Out Indicator', as reported by the Solidigm Storage Tool, and it falls toward 1 rather than rising toward 100.
Handle an iDRAC endurance event
  1. 1.Read the drive's endurance on the iDRAC physical disk page. iDRAC reports Remaining Rated Write Endurance, which counts down from 100% when new: the opposite direction to NVMe Percentage Used and the SCSI and ATA indicators. Oracle's ZFS Storage Appliance also counts down.
    iDRAC web UI: the physical disk page for the drive (Remaining Rated Write Endurance)
    ReadingOn certain Dell enterprise SAS and SATA SSDs, a reading below a threshold raises a SMART predictive failure with the message 'SSD Write Endurance is less than the threshold value of <Remaining Write Rated Endurance>'. Dell's article states no threshold percentage.
  2. 2.Collect a TSR from the iDRAC first. Dell's steps for this event start there, and the step after this one deletes log entries the TSR would otherwise have captured.
  3. 3.Clearing the System Event Log permanently deletes its entries, so do this only once the TSR is saved. Dell's steps then reset the iDRAC. Dell scopes this article to VxRail.
    Destructive. This command destroys what is on the device and cannot be undone. Confirm the device path twice and have a backup of anything you still need before running it.
    iDRAC web UI: clear the System Event Log (SEL), then reset iDRAC
  4. 4.Wait 5-10 minutes and re-check Remaining Rated Write Endurance on the physical disk page. If the low reading persists, Dell's step is to contact support with the TSR. Read the drive from the OS as well, with the NVMe or SAS/SATA paths above.
    ReadingA ceph-users mailing list report describes iDRAC9 6.10 showing 0% write endurance on every non-Dell-certified SSD while OMSA showed the real figure. That is a forum report, not a Dell statement, but it is a reason to read the drive itself before acting on iDRAC alone.
Decide: replace now, plan it, or keep running
  1. 1.Identify the model and firmware revision, then find the drive's rated TBW or DWPD and warranty years in the vendor's data sheet.
    nvme id-ctrl -H /dev/nvme0
    ReadingTBW is the JEDEC JESD218 endurance rating: terabytes written by the host. DWPD is full-capacity writes per day under a specified workload over a specified lifetime, so rated total writes = capacity x DWPD x 365 x rated years.
  2. 2.Record Data Units Written now and again after N days of normal load. One unit is 1,000 units of 512 bytes of host data, excluding metadata.
    nvme smart-log /dev/nvme0 -o json
    ReadingTB written so far = data_units_written x 512,000 / 10^12. Write rate per day = (second reading - first reading) x 512,000 / 10^12 / N. Remaining rated writes = rated TBW (or capacity x DWPD x 365 x rated years) - TB written so far. Days left on the rating = remaining rated writes / write rate per day. If TB written already exceeds the rating, the rating is spent and the Critical Warning bits are what describe the drive's state.
  3. 3.Make the call. Replace now if Critical Warning bit 0x01 or 0x08 is set, Available Spare is below its threshold, or media_errors keeps rising. Plan a replacement if the days left on the rating are fewer than the drive's remaining planned service. Otherwise the 100% alarm on its own is an estimate and warranty event, not a replace signal.
  4. 4.Check the warranty before planning on an RMA. Solidigm's data center warranty terminates immediately when Percentage Used reaches or exceeds 100 on a PCIe drive, or when the Media Wear Out Indicator reaches 1 on a SATA drive, as reported by the Solidigm Storage Tool. Dell's limited hardware warranty does not cover a device that has reached its maximum device life.

Causes, how to confirm each, and whether hardware fixes it

CauseHow to confirmFixHardware?
The drive is past its rated endurance and its firmware has set the reliability-degraded bit, while spare and media are finenvme smart-log shows percentage_used at or above 100, critical_warning 0x04 only, avail_spare above spare_thresh and media_errors not rising; smartctl -x prints FAILED with '- NVM subsystem reliability has been degraded'No hardware yet: 100 is an estimate that may not indicate failure. smartd keeps logging a critical message while the bit stays set, and how often it mails depends on its -M setting; keep watching bits 0x01 and 0x08 and Available Spare, and plan the replacement date from the write-rate arithmetic.No
Available Spare has fallen below the drive's thresholdavail_spare is lower than spare_thresh in nvme smart-log, and critical_warning has bit 0x01 set ('available spare has fallen below threshold' in smartctl -x)Replace the drive.Yes
The drive has placed its media in read-only modecritical_warning has bit 0x08 set ('media has been placed in read only mode' in smartctl -x)Replace the drive.Yes
Unrecovered media errors are accumulatingmedia_errors in nvme smart-log rises between readings, and nvme error-log shows device-related entries rather than invalid command or invalid field in commandReplace the drive.Yes
The measured write rate will spend the remaining rated endurance before the drive's planned service endsRemaining rated writes (rated TBW, or capacity x DWPD x 365 x rated years, minus data_units_written x 512,000 bytes) divided by the measured daily write rate is shorter than the service you still need from the driveReplace it on a planned date with a drive whose stated rating covers the measured rate, at the same or larger capacity, in the interface and form factor the bay takes.Yes
A Dell enterprise SAS or SATA SSD crossed Dell's endurance threshold and iDRAC raised a predictive failureiDRAC logs 'SSD Write Endurance is less than the threshold value of <Remaining Write Rated Endurance>' and the physical disk page shows a low Remaining Rated Write EnduranceFollow Dell's steps (TSR, then clear the SEL, reset iDRAC, re-check), then decide with the same Critical Warning, spare and write-rate checks. Dell's warranty does not cover a device at its maximum device life.No
Two tools disagree because one counts endurance used and the other counts endurance remainingiDRAC's Remaining Rated Write Endurance (or Oracle's appliance figure) is near 100 on a new drive while Percentage Used or the SCSI/ATA indicator is near 0, or the reverse on a worn oneNone. Read every figure with its direction: NVMe, SCSI and ATA count up from 0, iDRAC and Oracle's appliance count down from 100.No
iDRAC shows 0% endurance on a non-Dell-certified SSD (forum report, iDRAC9 6.10)smartctl from the OS reports a Percentage Used or endurance indicator that does not match iDRAC's figureJudge the drive from the OS readings, not from iDRAC alone.No
If spare, read-only, media errors or the arithmetic say replace

The live list holds only SSDs whose endurance is stated as TBW or DWPD, because the replace-or-plan decision compares your measured write rate with a rating. It shows new offers only: a rating is a new-drive figure, and a used drive's consumed endurance is not something a listing shows. Each row prints its stated figure; convert DWPD with capacity x DWPD x 365 x rated years, and confirm each row's figure against the maker's data sheet before relying on it. Fit the interface and form factor each row prints to the bay you are replacing. If no row matches your bay's interface, we have none in stock with a stated rating; the list can include consumer M.2 drives that state a TBW.

When not to buy: Do not buy on the 100% alarm alone: if critical_warning shows only 0x04, Available Spare is above its threshold, media errors are flat and the arithmetic leaves enough rated writes for the service you need, the drive needs a planned date, not a purchase today. The list filters on a stated rating, not on drive class, and we do not record power-loss protection, so no listed drive is claimed to have it; confirm it on the maker's own sheet.

Every row below meets: Rated endurance stated as TBW · Rated endurance stated as DWPD. A listing whose field is not stated is excluded from a required criterion and marked “not stated” on an optional one; nothing is assumed. What the catalogue cannot evaluate: power-loss protection; a listing's own wear state (Available Spare, Percentage Used, Critical Warning); minimum DWPD/TBW threshold for the reader's workload; interface and form factor of the reader's bay. Check these on the maker's data sheet.
Product · part numberCapacityInterface · formConditionPrice$/TBCriteria
Dell 3.84TB SAS SSD Read Intensive 12G
MZILT3T8HBLS · details
3.84TBSAS-12G · 2.5" · 0.8 DWPDNEW Amazon: New / Unknown · sold by AMTECH$1,250.00$325.52Rated endurance stated as DWPDBuy on Amazon
Seagate FireCuda 530 1TB Heatsink
ZP1000GM3A023 · details
1TBNVMe-PCIe4 · M.2NEW Amazon: New / Unknown · sold by Middle Valley Distribution$430.01$430.01Rated endurance stated as TBWBuy on Amazon
Samsung MZ-QL27T600 7.68TB U.2 NVMe
MZ-QL27T600 · details
7.68TBNVMe-PCIe4 · U.2 · 1 DWPDNEW Amazon: New / Unknown · sold by SiliconValleySeller (SN# Recorded)$3,998.00$520.57Rated endurance stated as TBWRated endurance stated as DWPDBuy on Amazon
Samsung PM9A3 7.68TB U.2 NVMe
MZQL27T6HBLA · details
7.68TBNVMe-PCIe4 · U.2 · 1 DWPDNEW Amazon: New / Unknown · sold by SiliconValleySeller (SN# Recorded)$4,099.00$533.72Rated endurance stated as TBWRated endurance stated as DWPDBuy on Amazon
Micron 7600 PRO 3.84TB U.2 PCIe5
MTFDLAL3T8THG · details
3.84TBNVMe-PCIe5 · U.2 · 1 DWPDNEW Amazon: New / Unknown · sold by Hard2FindParts$2,599.00$676.82Rated endurance stated as TBWRated endurance stated as DWPDBuy on Amazon
Samsung PM9A3 960GB U.2 NVMe
MZQL2960HCJR · details
0.96TBNVMe-PCIe4 · U.2 · 1 DWPDNEW Amazon: New / Unknown · sold by DiscTech (USA)$798.00$831.25Rated endurance stated as TBWRated endurance stated as DWPDBuy on Amazon
WD Ultrastar DC SN655 7.68TB U.3
WUS5EA176ESP7E1 · details
7.68TBNVMe-PCIe4 · U.3NEW Amazon: New / Unknown · sold by vCloud Choice$8,334.11$1,085.17Rated endurance stated as TBWBuy on Amazon
Samsung PM1643A 1.92TB SAS SSD
MZILT1T9HBJR · details
1.92TBSAS-12G · 2.5" · 1 DWPDNEW Amazon: New / Unknown · sold by SiliconValleySeller (SN# Recorded)$2,095.00$1,091.15Rated endurance stated as TBWRated endurance stated as DWPDBuy on Amazon
Samsung PM1643a 1.92TB SAS SSD
MZILT1T9HBJR-00007 · details
1.92TBSAS-12G · 2.5" · 1 DWPDNEW Amazon: New / Unknown · sold by SiliconValleySeller (SN# Recorded)$2,145.00$1,117.19Rated endurance stated as TBWRated endurance stated as DWPDBuy on Amazon
Tracked, currently unavailable

Prices are Amazon US, re-checked about once a day; newest price in this table . A click here is a click, not a purchase; we earn a commission on qualifying purchases. The table shows what the catalogue holds against the criteria, not an endorsement of any model for your server.

Read next on this site

Frequently asked questions

Why do identical drives with the same writes show very different Percentage Used?

Percentage Used is a vendor-specific estimate based on actual usage and the maker's prediction of NAND life, not a direct count of writes. In one Proxmox/Ceph thread, two of three identical NVMe drives with about 20.5TB written each read 150 and 255 (the field's ceiling, meaning above 254) while the third read 6; no resolution was posted, and we have no vendor document that explains such a gap.

Will the drive go read-only once Percentage Used passes 100?

We found no vendor document that states what a drive does after Percentage Used passes 100, whether it keeps working, slows or goes read-only. A drive that does enter read-only mode reports it through Critical Warning bit 0x08, so that bit is the one to watch.

Does a secondhand enterprise SSD carry the maker's endurance warranty?

Under Solidigm's data center warranty, no: it covers only the original purchaser who bought the drive in sealed packaging from Solidigm or an authorized distributor, for as long as they own it. We read only Solidigm's terms on this point, so check each maker's own warranty.

What do Samsung's and Kioxia's warranties say about endurance?

Samsung's SSD Limited Warranty ends at the shorter of the warranty period or the date the SSD exceeds its TBW threshold, with the threshold in each product's data sheet; the TBW table in that document lists retail models, and we did not read a Samsung data center warranty. Kioxia lists 5 years for its enterprise and data center SSDs, and we found no endurance clause on Kioxia's EMEA warranty page.

Sources

Every technical statement above rests on one of these documents, each read on the date shown. Where a document did not state something, the page says so rather than filling the gap.

  1. NVME_HEALTH_INFO_LOG structure (nvme.h) · checked
  2. nvme_smart_log(2) - Ubuntu jammy · checked
  3. nvme-smart-log(1) - mankier · checked
  4. smartctl(8) - Ubuntu noble · checked
  5. smartmontools/nvmeprint.cpp (master) · checked
  6. smartd.conf(5) - Ubuntu noble · checked
  7. smartmontools/scsiprint.cpp and scsicmds.h (master) · checked
  8. smartmontools/ataprint.cpp (master) - devstat page 7 table · checked
  9. Solidigm Solid State Drives - Data Center Family Limited Warranty (PDF dated 2025-06-06, linked from support article ka-00106) · checked
  10. Solidigm Data Center Limited Warranty (same PDF) - purchaser condition · checked
  11. Samsung SSD Limited Warranty For All Samsung SSDs (English UK PDF) · checked
  12. PowerEdge: Dell Enterprise SAS, SATA SSD: SMART predictive failures triggered by Remaining Write Rated Endurance (KB 000221846, last modified 31 Aug 2026) · checked
  13. VxRail: Event Code VXR508SSD0001 (KB 000184532, last modified 25 Jun 2026) · checked
  14. KIOXIA warranty for solid state drives (SSDs) - EMEA · checked
  15. CD8P-R Series data center NVMe SSD product page · checked
  16. JEDEC Announces Publication of Solid State Drive Standards (JESD218 / JESD219) · checked
  17. Viewing the Remaining SSD Endurance (CLI) - Oracle ZFS Storage Appliance Service Manual OS8.8.x · checked
  18. Common SMART Attributes for Intel Optane Technology Products (article 000056596) · checked
  19. nvme-error-log(1), nvme-id-ctrl(1), nvme-endurance-log(1) - mankier · checked
  20. smartd.conf(5) man page source (master), -H [MASK] and -M directives · checked
  21. smartmontools NEWS (master), 7.5 release notes · checked

Where people hit this

Discussions we opened and read while researching this page. They are evidence that the problem occurs and of what people tried; no specification above is sourced to a forum post.

Other enterprise ssd or nvme problems

Share:WhatsAppFacebookPost on X