Supermicro X11SPi-TF Memory Upgrade — RAM Prices

26 compatible modules·23 in stock·prices updated about once a day·last checked

The X11SPi-TF is the X11SPL-F's better-fed sibling: same single LGA-3647 socket and eight DDR4 slots, but with 10GBase-T onboard and support for hotter CPUs up to 205W. It is the board for the homelab that outgrew gigabit networking — a common fate for anyone running NVMe storage or a busy hypervisor — and its memory shopping is classic DDR4 Scalable: registered ECC, 2133 to 2933 MT/s by CPU generation, up to 2TB across the slots.

As with its sibling, the board page ties 2nd-gen Xeon (and 2933 operation) to a BIOS floor — 3.0a, or 3.2 for Cascade Lake-R — so a used-board buyer should confirm firmware before assuming the faster grades apply. Every module in the table below passes the board's verified type and speed rules; the BIOS check is the one piece of homework the table cannot do.

Share:WhatsAppFacebookPost on X
Verified memory rules — Supermicro X11SPi-TF
DIMM slots
8 (8/CPU)
Max capacity
2TB
Memory type
DDR4 RDIMM / LRDIMM / 3DS
Supported speeds
2133-2933 MT/s
Per-DIMM max
128GB

Board page lists 2933/2666/2400/2133 MT/s ECC DDR4 LRDIMM (3DS) and RDIMM (3DS).

Single Socket LGA-3647 (Socket P); Intel Xeon Scalable and 2nd Gen Xeon Scalable (BIOS 3.0a+/3.2+ for Cascade Lake/Cascade Lake-R); up to 205W TDP.

Source: Supermicro official documentation

Not sure what to buy? Run the Memory Finder for this server - it turns these rules into priced, population-valid configurations.

Operating speed depends on CPU generation and DIMMs per channel — Board page lists 2933/2666/2400/2133 MT/s ECC DDR4 LRDIMM (3DS) and RDIMM (3DS).. Always verify against Supermicro's QVL for your exact configuration.

Compatible modules — live prices, sorted by $/GB

BrandModuleCapacitySpeedType$/GBPrice
SK HynixHMAA8GL7MMR4N64GBDDR4-2400RDIMM$4.92$314.95Buy on Amazon
A-TechM393A2G40DB0-CPB16GBDDR4-2133RDIMM$5.44$86.98Buy on Amazon
SamsungM393A8K40B22-CWD64GBDDR4-2666RDIMM$6.23$399.00Buy on Amazon
SupermicroB07DFLTWN364GBDDR4-2666LRDIMM$6.23$399.00Buy on Amazon
A-TechB0BPN414ZJ64GBDDR4-2666LRDIMM$6.41$410.03Buy on Amazon
SamsungM393A2G40EB1-CPB16GBDDR4-2133RDIMM$7.12$113.94Buy on Amazon
MICRONMTA36ASF4G72PZ32GBDDR4-2400RDIMM$7.19$229.98Buy on Amazon
A-TechB0BPN4FLDX32GBDDR4-2666RDIMM$7.40$236.78Buy on Amazon
SK HynixHMA84GR7CJR4N-VK32GBDDR4-2666RDIMM$8.72$279.00Buy on Amazon
SamsungM393A2K43CB2-CTD8Q16GBDDR4-2666RDIMM$8.75$139.99Buy on Amazon
A-TechB083Q3F5DX32GBDDR4-2400RDIMM$8.91$284.97Buy on Amazon
A-TechB0BPN4L74H32GBDDR4-2933RDIMM$8.95$286.44Buy on Amazon
A-TechB0CGJFB4TG32GBDDR4-2933RDIMM$9.17$293.42Buy on Amazon
KingstonKSM24RD4/32MEI32GBDDR4-2400RDIMM$9.21$294.62Buy on Amazon
SamsungM393A4K40CB2-CTD32GBDDR4-2666RDIMM$10.05$321.56Buy on Amazon
A-TechB0C2FML23M64GBDDR4-2933RDIMM$10.06$643.61Buy on Amazon
A-TechKTD-PE42964GBDDR4-2933RDIMM$10.33$661.26Buy on Amazon
KingstonKTD-PE42632GBDDR4-2666RDIMM$10.94$349.99Buy on Amazon
CrucialB017UGKB3216GBDDR4-2400RDIMM$11.25$179.99Buy on Amazon
SamsungM393A2K43BB1-CTD6Q16GBDDR4-2666RDIMM$12.06$193.04Buy on Amazon
SamsungM393A8G40AB2-CWE64GBDDR4-3200 (runs at up to 2933 here)RDIMM$12.50$800.00Buy on Amazon
SK HynixHMAA8GR7AJR4N-XN64GBDDR4-3200 (runs at up to 2933 here)RDIMM$13.52$865.00Buy on Amazon
A-TechMTA36ASF8G72PZ64GBDDR4-3200 (runs at up to 2933 here)RDIMM$14.31$916.05Buy on Amazon
SamsungM393A8G40BB4-CWE64GBDDR4-3200 (runs at up to 2933 here)RDIMMout of stock—
SamsungM393A4K40CB1-CRC32GBDDR4-2400RDIMMout of stock—
SamsungM393A2K43DB2-CTD6Y16GBDDR4-2666RDIMMout of stock—

Upgrade costs today — computed live

4× 32GB DDR4-2400 (128GB) · leaves 4 slots free · MICRON MTA36ASF4G72PZ$919.92
8× 32GB DDR4-2400 (256GB) · MICRON MTA36ASF4G72PZ$1839.84
4× 64GB DDR4-2400 (256GB) · leaves 4 slots free · SK Hynix HMAA8GL7MMR4N$1259.80
4× 16GB DDR4-2133 (64GB) · leaves 4 slots free · A-Tech M393A2G40DB0-CPB$347.92

Each scenario is priced from the cheapest compatible in-stock module at that capacity, at the timestamp above. Configurations never exceed the platform's 8 DIMM slots.

Supermicro X11SPi-TF — OEM population table

Every row below is drawn from the same Supermicro document — nothing here is inferred from a sibling platform or a community source.

FieldDocumented valueSource
DIMM slots8 (8 per CPU)Supermicro manual ↗
Max system capacity2TBSupermicro manual ↗
Max per-DIMM capacity128GBSupermicro manual ↗
Supported module classesDDR4 RDIMM / LRDIMM / 3DSSupermicro manual ↗
Supported speed range2133-2933 MT/sSupermicro manual ↗
Documented DPC / speed step-down behaviorBoard page lists 2933/2666/2400/2133 MT/s ECC DDR4 LRDIMM (3DS) and RDIMM (3DS).Supermicro manual ↗
Documented mixing / rank restrictionsnot stated in the sourced documentationSupermicro manual ↗
CPU-generation dependencySingle Socket LGA-3647 (Socket P); Intel Xeon Scalable and 2nd Gen Xeon Scalable (BIOS 3.0a+/3.2+ for Cascade Lake/Cascade Lake-R); up to 205W TDP.Supermicro manual ↗

Paraphrased from Supermicro's official documentation. Modules rated above the documented speed range are safe to install — a documented vendor behavior is that they run at the platform's supported speed for your DPC configuration rather than their own label speed, never at a speed we are claiming for them. See our population-rules and mixing-rules pages for how this platform's rules compare to others we've checked.

Buying memory for the X11SPi-TF, practically

Shop for the X11SPi-TF exactly as for its SPL sibling — same slots, same 2133-2933 range, same used-market sweet spot — with the budget shifted slightly by what this board is for: the 10GbE builds it anchors tend to be storage-heavy, and ZFS ARC or VM density is usually the true reason the memory order is happening. Size for the cache you actually want; the live table prices the increments.

The firmware note bears repeating at purchase time: 2nd-gen Xeon silicon (and the 2933 grade that comes with it) wants BIOS 3.0a or newer, and a used board's firmware state is a coin flip. Flash first, then buy the fast grade — or buy the 2666 tier and never think about it again.

How this page keeps itself honest

Every specification in the rules box above was verified against the Supermicro document linked beneath it before this page went live — nothing is inferred from forum lore or reseller listings, and any field the document does not state is simply absent here rather than guessed. The compatibility table applies those verified rules mechanically to our tracked module catalog: generation must match, the module type must appear in the platform's allowed list, speed must meet the documented floor, and per-DIMM capacity must respect the stated maximum. What survives that filter is sorted by live $/GB — computed against true 1024-based capacities — and refreshed on the same rolling cycle as every price on this site.

Two honest limits worth stating. First, our catalog tracks the retail module market, not Supermicro's option-part universe — a module absent from the table is not declared incompatible, merely untracked; the rules box tells you what any candidate must satisfy. Second, a compatibility table is not a QVL: Supermicro validates specific part numbers against specific configurations, and the disclaimer above the table is not boilerplate but the actual final step. Use this page to find the market's honest price for compliant memory; use the vendor's QVL to bless the exact part before a production order.

Who upgrades the X11SPi-TF

X11SPi-TF builds skew toward the serious end of the homelab spectrum: all-flash TrueNAS arrays that need the 10GbE, Proxmox hosts running enough VMs to justify 256GB, and small-office servers consolidating several roles onto one reliable board. These builders buy memory in fours — the platform's six-channel controller rewards populated channels — and at used-DDR4 prices, going straight to 32GB modules leaves the cleanest growth path.

The second buyer is the upgrade-in-place owner whose board has run 64GB for years and now faces memory pressure from a single growing workload. For them the math is simple and the table above makes it concrete: match the installed modules' type, meet the platform floor, and fill the empty slots — at DDR4's live $/GB, doubling this board's memory is routinely the cheapest fix in the rack.

Frequently asked questions

What is the maximum RAM for the Supermicro X11SPi-TF?

Supermicro's documentation puts the platform maximum at 2TB across 8 DIMM slots, with single modules supported up to 128GB. Reaching the maximum requires the largest supported DIMM in every slot — most real upgrades target far less, which is what the live scenarios above price.

What type of RAM does the X11SPi-TF take?

DDR4 RDIMM and LRDIMM and 3DS at 2133 to 2933 MT/s, per Supermicro's documentation. Consumer non-ECC and XMP/EXPO kits are not supported — every module in the table above is a verified ECC server part of the correct type.

Can I mix DIMM sizes or speeds in the X11SPi-TF?

The Supermicro documentation we verified does not spell out mixing rules for this platform, so treat identical modules per channel as the rule: mixed configurations at best run at the slowest common speed, and at worst fail population requirements. Check the platform manual for your exact loadout before mixing.

Will faster DDR4 modules work in the X11SPi-TF?

Yes - a module rated above 2933 MT/s downclocks to 2933 and runs normally, which is why the table marks those rows "runs at up to 2933 here", while modules rated below 2133 MT/s are excluded because Supermicro does not list them as supported for the X11SPi-TF. That is Supermicro's own support matrix speaking, not a guess.

How many DIMMs do I need for 512GB in the X11SPi-TF?

8× 64GB fills 512GB, using all 8 slots. Fewer, larger DIMMs preserve expansion room; more, smaller DIMMs are sometimes cheaper per GB — the live table above lets you price both routes at today's numbers.

Should I buy new or used RAM for the X11SPi-TF?

Used and refurbished DDR4 ECC is a rational choice for this platform — DRAM has no meaningful wear mechanism, and tested pulls from decommissioned fleets often undercut new pricing substantially. Run memtest86+ on arrival and watch ECC counters for the first weeks. For production fleets, new modules with warranty remain the conservative default.

Is the X11SPi-TF's 10GbE worth it over the X11SPL-F?

If your workloads move data — NAS duty, VM images, backups — yes: onboard 10GBase-T saves a PCIe slot and an add-in card. Memory compatibility is effectively identical between the boards, so the choice is about I/O, not RAM.

All Supermicro platforms →
DDR4 modules →
Price index →
Upgrade economics →