Dell PowerEdge T440 Memory Upgrade — RAM Prices

18 compatible modules·16 in stock·prices updated about once a day·last checked

The T440 is the tower in Dell's 14th generation — a quiet, office-tolerable chassis wrapping the same 2nd-gen Xeon Scalable platform as the rack R740, with sixteen DDR4 DIMM slots to 1TB. It is the classic small-business server: bought once, upgraded rarely, and asked to run everything from the domain controller to the accounting database for most of a decade.

Dell's spec sheet states RDIMM and LRDIMM support at speeds up to 2666 MT/s; because lower grades are not enumerated there, our table lists 2666-rated and faster modules only — the faster grades downclocking safely to the platform ceiling. The spec sheet also carries a practical footnote our rules box preserves: 768GB is the recommended maximum for performance-optimized configurations.

Share:WhatsAppFacebookPost on X
Verified memory rules — Dell T440
DIMM slots
16
Max capacity
1TB
Memory type
DDR4 RDIMM / LRDIMM
Supported speeds
2666 MT/s

Spec sheet states 16 DDR4 DIMM slots supporting RDIMM/LRDIMM at speeds up to 2666 MT/s; lower grades are not enumerated, so only 2666-rated and faster modules are listed here.

Up to two 2nd Gen Intel Xeon Scalable; supports registered ECC DDR4 DIMMs only. Tower form factor.

Source: Dell official documentation

Not sure what to buy? Run the Memory Finder for this server - it turns these rules into priced, population-valid configurations.

Operating speed depends on CPU generation and DIMMs per channel — Spec sheet states 16 DDR4 DIMM slots supporting RDIMM/LRDIMM at speeds up to 2666 MT/s; lower grades are not enumerated, so only 2666-rated and faster modules are listed here.. Always verify against Dell's QVL for your exact configuration.

Compatible modules — live prices, sorted by $/GB

BrandModuleCapacitySpeedType$/GBPrice
SamsungM393A8K40B22-CWD64GBDDR4-2666RDIMM$6.23$399.00Buy on Amazon
SupermicroB07DFLTWN364GBDDR4-2666LRDIMM$6.23$399.00Buy on Amazon
A-TechB0BPN414ZJ64GBDDR4-2666LRDIMM$6.41$410.03Buy on Amazon
A-TechB0BPN4FLDX32GBDDR4-2666RDIMM$7.40$236.78Buy on Amazon
SK HynixHMA84GR7CJR4N-VK32GBDDR4-2666RDIMM$8.72$279.00Buy on Amazon
SamsungM393A2K43CB2-CTD8Q16GBDDR4-2666RDIMM$8.75$139.99Buy on Amazon
A-TechB0BPN4L74H32GBDDR4-2933 (runs at up to 2666 here)RDIMM$8.95$286.44Buy on Amazon
A-TechB0CGJFB4TG32GBDDR4-2933 (runs at up to 2666 here)RDIMM$9.17$293.42Buy on Amazon
SamsungM393A4K40CB2-CTD32GBDDR4-2666RDIMM$10.05$321.56Buy on Amazon
A-TechB0C2FML23M64GBDDR4-2933 (runs at up to 2666 here)RDIMM$10.06$643.61Buy on Amazon
A-TechKTD-PE42964GBDDR4-2933 (runs at up to 2666 here)RDIMM$10.33$661.26Buy on Amazon
KingstonKTD-PE42632GBDDR4-2666RDIMM$10.94$349.99Buy on Amazon
SamsungM393A2K43BB1-CTD6Q16GBDDR4-2666RDIMM$12.06$193.04Buy on Amazon
SamsungM393A8G40AB2-CWE64GBDDR4-3200 (runs at up to 2666 here)RDIMM$12.50$800.00Buy on Amazon
SK HynixHMAA8GR7AJR4N-XN64GBDDR4-3200 (runs at up to 2666 here)RDIMM$13.52$865.00Buy on Amazon
A-TechMTA36ASF8G72PZ64GBDDR4-3200 (runs at up to 2666 here)RDIMM$14.31$916.05Buy on Amazon
SamsungM393A8G40BB4-CWE64GBDDR4-3200 (runs at up to 2666 here)RDIMMout of stock—
SamsungM393A2K43DB2-CTD6Y16GBDDR4-2666RDIMMout of stock—

Upgrade costs today — computed live

8× 32GB DDR4-2666 (256GB) · leaves 8 slots free · A-Tech B0BPN4FLDX$1894.24
16× 32GB DDR4-2666 (512GB) · A-Tech B0BPN4FLDX$3788.48
8× 64GB DDR4-2666 (512GB) · leaves 8 slots free · Samsung M393A8K40B22-CWD$3192.00
8× 16GB DDR4-2666 (128GB) · leaves 8 slots free · Samsung M393A2K43CB2-CTD8Q$1119.92

Each scenario is priced from the cheapest compatible in-stock module at that capacity, at the timestamp above. Configurations never exceed the platform's 16 DIMM slots. Populate channels per the OEM rules below for full bandwidth.

Dell T440 — OEM population table

Every row below is drawn from the same Dell document — nothing here is inferred from a sibling platform or a community source.

FieldDocumented valueSource
DIMM slots16Dell manual ↗
Max system capacity1TBDell manual ↗
Max per-DIMM capacitynot stated in the sourced documentationDell manual ↗
Supported module classesDDR4 RDIMM / LRDIMMDell manual ↗
Supported speed range2666 MT/sDell manual ↗
Documented DPC / speed step-down behaviorSpec sheet states 16 DDR4 DIMM slots supporting RDIMM/LRDIMM at speeds up to 2666 MT/s; lower grades are not enumerated, so only 2666-rated and faster modules are listed here.Dell manual ↗
Documented mixing / rank restrictionsSpec sheet notes 768GB max memory is recommended for performance-optimized configurations.Dell manual ↗
CPU-generation dependencyUp to two 2nd Gen Intel Xeon Scalable; supports registered ECC DDR4 DIMMs only. Tower form factor.Dell manual ↗

Paraphrased from Dell's official documentation. Modules rated above the documented speed range are safe to install — a documented vendor behavior is that they run at the platform's supported speed for your DPC configuration rather than their own label speed, never at a speed we are claiming for them. See our population-rules and mixing-rules pages for how this platform's rules compare to others we've checked.

Buying memory for the T440, practically

For the T440's usual buyer — one server, one upgrade, no procurement department — the playbook is short: count your empty slots, pick the 16GB or 32GB tier from the live table, buy in pairs, and match what is already installed if anything is. The platform's 2666 floor is our table's floor, so everything listed simply works; faster modules downclock without drama.

The spec sheet's own advice — 768GB recommended for performance-optimized configurations despite the 1TB ceiling — is worth honoring in the rare build that approaches it: towers at the capacity edge are running LRDIMM configurations the office environment never stresses evenly. Realistically, the T440 sweet spot is a fraction of that, and the scenarios above price it from today's listings.

How this page keeps itself honest

Every specification in the rules box above was verified against the Dell document linked beneath it before this page went live — nothing is inferred from forum lore or reseller listings, and any field the document does not state is simply absent here rather than guessed. The compatibility table applies those verified rules mechanically to our tracked module catalog: generation must match, the module type must appear in the platform's allowed list, speed must meet the documented floor, and per-DIMM capacity must respect the stated maximum. What survives that filter is sorted by live $/GB — computed against true 1024-based capacities — and refreshed on the same rolling cycle as every price on this site.

Two honest limits worth stating. First, our catalog tracks the retail module market, not Dell's option-part universe — a module absent from the table is not declared incompatible, merely untracked; the rules box tells you what any candidate must satisfy. Second, a compatibility table is not a QVL: Dell validates specific part numbers against specific configurations, and the disclaimer above the table is not boilerplate but the actual final step. Use this page to find the market's honest price for compliant memory; use the vendor's QVL to bless the exact part before a production order.

Who upgrades the T440

T440 owners are the small-office backbone: businesses whose entire infrastructure lives in one tower, and whose memory upgrade moment usually arrives with a hypervisor consolidation or an accounting-package version that doubled its requirements. For them the arithmetic is friendly — the platform's DDR4-2666 tier is deeply competed, and taking a T440 from 32GB to 128GB costs a few hundred dollars at live prices, not a few thousand.

The tower also has a homelab afterlife — quieter than any rack pull and tolerant of a closet — where the used-market guidance applies: tested 16GB and 32GB RDIMM pulls at this speed grade are among the cheapest server memory in existence, and the T440 accepts them gratefully.

Frequently asked questions

What is the maximum RAM for the Dell T440?

Dell's documentation puts the platform maximum at 1TB across 16 DIMM slots. Reaching the maximum requires the largest supported DIMM in every slot — most real upgrades target far less, which is what the live scenarios above price.

What type of RAM does the T440 take?

DDR4 RDIMM and LRDIMM at 2666 MT/s, per Dell's documentation. Consumer non-ECC and XMP/EXPO kits are not supported — every module in the table above is a verified ECC server part of the correct type.

Can I mix DIMM sizes or speeds in the T440?

Dell's stated rules: Spec sheet notes 768GB max memory is recommended for performance-optimized configurations. Mixed speeds, where allowed, run at the slowest module's speed — buying identical part numbers per channel remains the safe pattern.

Will faster DDR4 modules work in the T440?

Yes - a module rated above 2666 MT/s downclocks to 2666 and runs normally, which is why the table marks those rows "runs at up to 2666 here", while modules rated below 2666 MT/s are excluded because Dell does not list them as supported for the T440. That is Dell's own support matrix speaking, not a guess.

How many DIMMs do I need for 256GB in the T440?

4× 64GB fills 256GB and leaves 12 of the 16 slots free for later growth. Fewer, larger DIMMs preserve expansion room; more, smaller DIMMs are sometimes cheaper per GB — the live table above lets you price both routes at today's numbers.

Should I buy new or used RAM for the T440?

Used and refurbished DDR4 ECC is a rational choice for this platform — DRAM has no meaningful wear mechanism, and tested pulls from decommissioned fleets often undercut new pricing substantially. Run memtest86+ on arrival and watch ECC counters for the first weeks. For production fleets, new modules with warranty remain the conservative default.

How much RAM does a T440 actually need for small-business duty?

The common consolidation target — domain services, file serving, one or two line-of-business VMs and a backup agent — sits comfortably in 64-128GB, a fraction of the platform's 1TB ceiling. Price 4× or 8× 16-32GB modules in the live table; the total is usually the cheapest meaningful upgrade the server will ever receive.

All Dell platforms →
DDR4 modules →
Price index →
Upgrade economics →