The Dell 24TB SATA qualified drive path is the conservative capacity choice when 32TB is too expensive, scarce or not documented for the target PowerEdge server.
It should still be bought as a qualified Dell hot-plug drive, not as a generic retail 24TB mechanism, when support entitlement and firmware path matter.
Choose Dell 24TB SATA when the workload is nearline capacity and the platform documentation lists the SATA option. It can remain better value than 32TB if the lower price, deeper stock or existing spare pool outweighs the extra capacity per bay.
Verify the part number, carrier, firmware, sector format and server or storage-array qualification before ordering. A bare mechanism or third-party compatible listing can be useful, but it is an alternative unless it is sold as the qualified OEM kit or spare you need.
These are the verified procurement identifiers and configuration constraints that should survive from quote to purchase order.
| Specification | Value |
|---|---|
| OEM | Dell |
| Part number / identity | Dell public SKU not stated in cited source |
| Capacity | 24TB raw decimal capacity per drive |
| Interface | 6Gb/s SATA |
| RPM | 7,200 RPM |
| Form factor | 3.5-inch hot-plug AG drive |
| Sector format | 512e |
| Hot-plug | Hot-plug where the Dell chassis and controller support it |
| Carrier | Dell 3.5-inch hot-plug carrier when ordered as a qualified drive; verify carrier generation for spares |
| Encryption | ISE in cited Dell description; not the same as SED |
| Workload class | Capacity-oriented PowerEdge storage |
| Compatible systems | Seen in current R760xd2 configuration and common in PowerEdge capacity platforms; verify the exact server matrix |
| Best use | Lower acquisition cost or better availability where 24TB is already the fleet standard |
| Kit status | Dell-qualified drive description, not a public Dell part number in the cited configurator |
No exact in-stock live row is currently matched for Dell public SKU not stated in cited source. Relevant live alternatives are shown for pricing context; verify qualification before treating any row as a substitute.
Live prices · updated every 4-5 hours · last checked 31 min ago · not exact OEM replacements; verify qualification, carrier, firmware and interface before ordering
| Model | Capacity | Recording | RPM | Workload TB/yr | Warranty | $/TB | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4TB 012GYYREFURB | 4TB | CMR | 7,200 | — | — | $21.25 | $85 | Buy |
| 2TB MG03SCA200REFURB | 2TB | CMR | 7,200 | — | — | $22.00 | $44 | Buy |
| 4TB DRMYHREFURB | 4TB | CMR | 7,200 | — | — | $22.50 | $90 | Buy |
| 8TB M40THREFURB | 8TB | CMR | 7,200 | — | — | $25.63 | $205 | Buy |
| 24TB WUH722424ALE604REFURB | 24TB | CMR | 7,200 | 550 | 5 yr | $28.71 | $689 | Buy |
| 24TB ST24000NM002HREFURB | 24TB | CMR | 7,200 | 550 | 5 yr | $29.17 | $700 | Buy |
| 8TB ST8000NM0075REFURB | 8TB | CMR | 7,200 | — | — | $35.63 | $285 | Buy |
| 24TB ST24000DM001 | 24TB | CMR | 7,200 | — | — | $35.83 | $860 | Buy |
| 24TB WD241KFGX | 24TB | CMR | 7,200 | 550 | 5 yr | $44.17 | $1060 | Buy |
| 1.2TB HUC101212CSS600REFURB | 1.2TB | CMR | 10,000 | — | — | $47.41 | $57 | Buy |
| 1.2TB 36RH9 | 1.2TB | CMR | 10,000 | — | — | $48.33 | $58 | Buy |
| 1.2TB 89D42REFURB | 1.2TB | CMR | 10,000 | — | — | $55.00 | $66 | Buy |
| 24TB ST24000NM000H | 24TB | CMR | 7,200 | 550 | 5 yr | $58.37 | $1401 | Buy |
Workload rating is recorded per part number from the manufacturer's published data for that exact model where available, not blanketed across the line — two drives of the same capacity can differ because they are different generations. A dash means the figure is not stated for that listing. Recording technology comes from the manufacturer's published CMR/SMR list; a model absent from that list is shown as UNVERIFIED rather than guessed. Rows priced above 3× this line's in-stock median are flagged and excluded from the winner callout and from every median we compute.
This table is computed from live DatacenterDisk rows when an exact in-stock match exists. It is intentionally blank for unavailable models rather than filled with stale prices.
| Live model | Drive price | $/TB | 1 drive | 4 drives | 8 drives | 12 drives |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| No exact in-stock row is available right now. Use the availability table for nearby live alternatives, then re-check the exact model before ordering. | ||||||
These are procurement paths to evaluate when exact stock is absent. Alternatives still require the exact platform, controller, sector format, carrier and support policy to approve them.
| Alternative | When it can work | Procurement warning |
|---|---|---|
| Dell-qualified 24TB SATA ISE hot-plug drive | Best replacement path when the exact PowerEdge option is listed for the Service Tag or quote. | A generic 24TB SATA drive is not automatically Dell-qualified. |
| Dell-qualified 32TB SATA ISE hot-plug drive | Capacity upgrade only where the same platform lists 32TB support, such as verified R760xd2 configurations. | Not confirmed for every 3.5-inch PowerEdge platform. |
| Dell-qualified 24TB SAS ISE hot-plug drive | Alternative when the controller/backplane path is SAS and the drive group is specified for SAS. | Do not mix SAS and SATA in the same RAID volume without support documentation. |
| Generic 24TB SATA enterprise HDD | Only when non-Dell drives are allowed by the support and procurement policy. | Treat as a bare-drive alternative, not an OEM kit. |
Use this table before accepting a quote, especially when new, open-box, refurbished and bare-drive listings appear side by side.
| Check | Why it matters |
|---|---|
| Exact option | Dell 24TB SATA family must appear on the quote or listing when you need the exact OEM option. |
| Carrier | Dell 3.5-inch hot-plug carrier when ordered as a qualified drive; verify carrier generation for spares |
| Firmware path | OEM-qualified firmware can decide update eligibility, health reporting and support handling. |
| Sector format | 512e must match the controller, array and existing drive group. |
| Condition | New, open-box, refurbished and used units should be compared as different offers, not as the same price point. |
| Support | Handled through Dell system or option support terms for the qualified purchase |
Raw decimal capacity is shown before filesystem formatting, RAID, hot spares, snapshots or vendor overhead.
| Drive count | Raw capacity | Single-parity example | Dual-parity example |
|---|---|---|---|
| 4 drives | 96TB raw | 72TB before formatting | 48TB before formatting |
| 8 drives | 192TB raw | 168TB before formatting | 144TB before formatting |
| 12 drives | 288TB raw | 264TB before formatting | 240TB before formatting |
Dell 24TB SATA fits backup repositories, warm archive, surveillance archive, object-storage nodes and AI dataset holding tiers where a PowerEdge server is already qualified for large LFF SATA drives.
Procurement is not a capacity contest. A lower price per drive, lower hot-spare cost, faster availability and consistency with installed spares can make 24TB the lower-risk buy even when 32TB fits.
Confirm the hot-plug carrier, ISE/512e identity, PERC or HBA support, firmware level and whether Dell support treats the option as qualified for the exact PowerEdge generation.
Often yes, when the PowerEdge platform is qualified and the workload is capacity-oriented rather than dual-controller/multipath-oriented.
Do not assume so. Dell service guidance warns against combining SAS and SATA drives in the same RAID volume unless the controller documentation supports the configuration.
Compare condition explicitly. A refurbished Dell-qualified pull and a new Dell OEM option are different offers even when capacity and interface match.
Specification claims on this page were checked against the pages below on 1 September 2026. Where a widely-repeated figure did not survive that check, we report what the source says now and say so in the text rather than repeating the familiar number.