Dell 24TB SAS is the 24TB path to evaluate when the storage design, controller path or support policy expects SAS rather than SATA.
The value is not just 12Gb/s on the label. SAS matters for dual-port capable drive architecture, controller ecosystems, enterprise redundancy and storage-array-style operating models.
Choose Dell 24TB SAS when the target PowerEdge or storage platform requires SAS, multipath behavior or SAS-standardized controller support. Choose 24TB SATA when the workload is simple nearline capacity and the SATA option is qualified.
Verify the part number, carrier, firmware, sector format and server or storage-array qualification before ordering. A bare mechanism or third-party compatible listing can be useful, but it is an alternative unless it is sold as the qualified OEM kit or spare you need.
These are the verified procurement identifiers and configuration constraints that should survive from quote to purchase order.
| Specification | Value |
|---|---|
| OEM | Dell |
| Part number / identity | Dell public SKU not stated in cited source |
| Capacity | 24TB raw decimal capacity per drive |
| Interface | 12Gb/s SAS |
| RPM | 7,200 RPM |
| Form factor | 3.5-inch hot-plug AG drive where offered |
| Sector format | 512e |
| Hot-plug | Hot-plug where the Dell chassis and controller support it |
| Carrier | Dell hot-plug carrier when ordered as a qualified drive; verify carrier generation for spares |
| Encryption | ISE in cited Dell description; not the same as SED |
| Workload class | Capacity-oriented PowerEdge storage |
| Compatible systems | Requires a Dell SAS-capable backplane and supported PERC/HBA path |
| Best use | Redundant SAS controller environments, dual-port/multipath designs and storage shelves that require SAS |
| Kit status | Dell-qualified drive description, not a public Dell part number in the cited source |
No exact in-stock live row is currently matched for Dell public SKU not stated in cited source. Relevant live alternatives are shown for pricing context; verify qualification before treating any row as a substitute.
Live prices · updated every 4-5 hours · last checked 31 min ago · not exact OEM replacements; verify qualification, carrier, firmware and interface before ordering
| Model | Capacity | Recording | RPM | Workload TB/yr | Warranty | $/TB | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4TB 012GYYREFURB | 4TB | CMR | 7,200 | — | — | $21.25 | $85 | Buy |
| 2TB MG03SCA200REFURB | 2TB | CMR | 7,200 | — | — | $22.00 | $44 | Buy |
| 4TB DRMYHREFURB | 4TB | CMR | 7,200 | — | — | $22.50 | $90 | Buy |
| 8TB M40THREFURB | 8TB | CMR | 7,200 | — | — | $25.63 | $205 | Buy |
| 24TB WUH722424ALE604REFURB | 24TB | CMR | 7,200 | 550 | 5 yr | $28.71 | $689 | Buy |
| 24TB ST24000NM002HREFURB | 24TB | CMR | 7,200 | 550 | 5 yr | $29.17 | $700 | Buy |
| 8TB ST8000NM0075REFURB | 8TB | CMR | 7,200 | — | — | $35.63 | $285 | Buy |
| 24TB ST24000DM001 | 24TB | CMR | 7,200 | — | — | $35.83 | $860 | Buy |
| 24TB WD241KFGX | 24TB | CMR | 7,200 | 550 | 5 yr | $44.17 | $1060 | Buy |
| 1.2TB HUC101212CSS600REFURB | 1.2TB | CMR | 10,000 | — | — | $47.41 | $57 | Buy |
| 1.2TB 36RH9 | 1.2TB | CMR | 10,000 | — | — | $48.33 | $58 | Buy |
| 1.2TB 89D42REFURB | 1.2TB | CMR | 10,000 | — | — | $55.00 | $66 | Buy |
| 24TB ST24000NM000H | 24TB | CMR | 7,200 | 550 | 5 yr | $58.37 | $1401 | Buy |
Workload rating is recorded per part number from the manufacturer's published data for that exact model where available, not blanketed across the line — two drives of the same capacity can differ because they are different generations. A dash means the figure is not stated for that listing. Recording technology comes from the manufacturer's published CMR/SMR list; a model absent from that list is shown as UNVERIFIED rather than guessed. Rows priced above 3× this line's in-stock median are flagged and excluded from the winner callout and from every median we compute.
This table is computed from live DatacenterDisk rows when an exact in-stock match exists. It is intentionally blank for unavailable models rather than filled with stale prices.
| Live model | Drive price | $/TB | 1 drive | 4 drives | 8 drives | 12 drives |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| No exact in-stock row is available right now. Use the availability table for nearby live alternatives, then re-check the exact model before ordering. | ||||||
These are procurement paths to evaluate when exact stock is absent. Alternatives still require the exact platform, controller, sector format, carrier and support policy to approve them.
| Alternative | When it can work | Procurement warning |
|---|---|---|
| Dell-qualified 24TB SAS ISE hot-plug drive | Best replacement path for SAS-qualified PowerEdge storage where the exact drive identity appears on the quote. | A mechanism-only SAS drive lacks Dell carrier and firmware/support context by default. |
| Dell-qualified 24TB SATA ISE hot-plug drive | Capacity alternative when SATA is qualified and SAS dual-port/controller behavior is not required. | Not a SAS replacement in multipath or SAS-standardized designs. |
| Dell-qualified 32TB SATA ISE hot-plug drive | Capacity upgrade on platforms where Dell confirms 32TB support, such as R760xd2. | Do not import R760xd2 support assumptions into other PowerEdge models. |
| Generic high-capacity enterprise HDD | Only as a clearly labelled alternative under an approved non-Dell support policy. | No Dell qualification by default. |
Use this table before accepting a quote, especially when new, open-box, refurbished and bare-drive listings appear side by side.
| Check | Why it matters |
|---|---|
| Exact option | Dell 24TB SAS family must appear on the quote or listing when you need the exact OEM option. |
| Carrier | Dell hot-plug carrier when ordered as a qualified drive; verify carrier generation for spares |
| Firmware path | OEM-qualified firmware can decide update eligibility, health reporting and support handling. |
| Sector format | 512e must match the controller, array and existing drive group. |
| Condition | New, open-box, refurbished and used units should be compared as different offers, not as the same price point. |
| Support | Handled through Dell system or option support terms for the qualified purchase |
Raw decimal capacity is shown before filesystem formatting, RAID, hot spares, snapshots or vendor overhead.
| Drive count | Raw capacity | Single-parity example | Dual-parity example |
|---|---|---|---|
| 4 drives | 96TB raw | 72TB before formatting | 48TB before formatting |
| 8 drives | 192TB raw | 168TB before formatting | 144TB before formatting |
| 12 drives | 288TB raw | 264TB before formatting | 240TB before formatting |
A Dell 24TB SAS drive needs a SAS-capable path. A SATA-only backplane cannot run a SAS drive, while a SAS path can usually address SATA devices. The direction matters and can decide whether the purchase is usable.
Where the design includes redundant paths or a storage-array-like controller topology, SAS can be the required interface even if single-drive sequential throughput looks similar to SATA.
Match capacity, interface, sector format, ISE/SED status, carrier and Dell qualification. A non-Dell SAS drive may be a working alternative, but it is not the same support purchase.
For single 7.2K nearline drives, interface headline speed is usually not the limiting factor. SAS is bought for architecture, controller support and redundancy more than raw sequential MB/s.
No. SAS on SATA is the wrong direction. Confirm the backplane and controller before buying SAS drives.
The cited description says ISE. Do not treat ISE as SED.
Specification claims on this page were checked against the pages below on 1 September 2026. Where a widely-repeated figure did not survive that check, we report what the source says now and say so in the text rather than repeating the familiar number.