SkyHawk AI 12TB: Specs, Price and Whether You Need It
12TB SkyHawk AI at today's live price, Seagate's own per-capacity spec table, and the honest premium over standard SkyHawk computed at this exact size - not carried down from the 32TB flagship.
Prices updated
Where 12TB sits in the line
Standard SkyHawk still reaches this size in the stock we track, which is why a genuine premium comparison exists at 12TB - the table below shows what paying it actually costs today. That will not hold at every capacity: the standard line's ceiling in our tracked stock is 12TB, so above that size the AI tier stops being a premium option and becomes the only one. Seagate's own current datasheet covers this exact capacity in its live master sheet, which is itself worth knowing before you commit to this size for a multi-year deployment.
Specifications, per Seagate's own 12TB datasheet row
| Standard model number(s) | unverified |
|---|---|
| Recording technology | unverified |
| Interface | SATA 6Gb/s |
| Spindle speed | not stated in the datasheets we read for any part number tracked at this capacity |
| Cache | not stated in the datasheets we read |
| AI channels | 32, per this capacity's own datasheet row |
| HD cameras supported | Up to 64 (Seagate footnote: 1080p, H.265, 25fps) |
| RV sensors | Yes, per Seagate's datasheet |
| Workload rate limit | 550TB/year |
| Warranty | 5 years, limited (units shipped after Jul 3, 2021, per Seagate's own footnote) |
| Load/unload cycles | 600,000 |
| MTBF | 2.5M hours |
Source: Seagate SkyHawk AI Data Sheet, DS1960.15C-2310US (current), read 2026-09-15 โ PDF.
0 in-stock listings ยท specs per part number from the maker's datasheet
Nothing in this tier is in stock right now โ see every channel we track.
The AI-tier premium at 12TB, computed live
Three comparators, matched to this exact capacity and interface (SATA vs SATA) - never reaching across capacities to manufacture a number. A comparator with nothing in stock at 12TB is stated as absent rather than filled in from a different size.
With no standard-tier comparator in stock at 12TB right now, the workload arithmetic still applies even without a live gap to show: compare your annual camera-write total against 180TB and 550TB directly, and treat the absence of a cheaper in-stock alternative at this exact size as itself part of the answer - see the family page's full ladder for capacities where a comparison is currently possible.
No standard SkyHawk listing is in stock at 12TB right now - no live premium to show against it.
No WD Purple listing is in stock at 12TB right now - no live premium to show against it.
No WD Purple Pro listing is in stock at 12TB right now - no live premium to show against it.
What 12TB suits, in camera-count terms
Seagate rates this capacity for up to 64 HD cameras and 32 AI channels - the same line-level maxima as every other SkyHawk AI capacity. Retention is the real per-capacity variable. At a continuous 4 Mbps per camera:
Roughly how many days one drive holds at a constant bitrate. Real usage varies with codec, resolution, frame rate and how much movement is in frame, and most recorders write far less than their peak rate. Treat these as an order of magnitude.
| Capacity | at 2 Mbps | at 4 Mbps | at 8 Mbps | at 16 Mbps |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 12TB | ~69 days | ~35 days | ~17 days | ~8.7 days |
days = (TB ร 1,000,000 MB) รท (Mbps รท 8 MB/s) รท 86,400 s
worked example, 4TB at 4 Mbps: 4,000,000 MB รท 0.5 MB/s = 8,000,000 s รท 86,400 = ~92.6 days
Decimal terabytes are used because that is how drives are sold and how a recorder usually reports remaining space. A drive formatted by the recorder will show slightly less.
Retention scales down directly with camera count and bitrate - doubling either roughly halves the days above. At 8 Mbps per camera (higher resolution or more motion), the same 12TB drive holds roughly 17 days across 8 cameras. Most installs run far below this drive's rated ceiling on cameras alone; see NVR channel-count pages to size the recorder side against your actual camera plan.
Which exact part number to buy at 12TB
Only one SkyHawk AI part number sells at 12TB in the stock we track right now (unverified), which removes the part-number-matching question this capacity would otherwise raise. That is worth stating plainly rather than leaving implicit: at 10TB, 12TB and 16TB, this same catalogue currently carries more than one SkyHawk AI SKU with different cache sizes side by side, and a buyer there has to check which exact listing they are clicking. At 12TB that check is currently moot - though it is worth re-checking before you buy, since Amazon listings and Seagate's own production lineup both change over time.
Multi-drive systems
Seagate states RV (rotational vibration) sensors on every SkyHawk AI capacity, a vendor fact aimed specifically at multi-bay NVR chassis where adjacent drives induce vibration into each other. This is Seagate's own stated feature, not a performance claim we are making. For actual bay-count and vendor-list compatibility, see the UniFi drive gate and NVR pricing by channel count.
If a standard-tier SkyHawk at 12TB is part of your comparison, check its recording technology on the specific part number before buying: Seagate's own SkyHawk datasheet states SMR against the ST4000VX013 and ST2000VX015 family specifically, in the same document block where other parts at neighbouring capacities are stated CMR. Every SkyHawk AI part number we track at 12TB is stated CMR in the datasheets we read, so this particular risk sits entirely on the standard-tier side of the comparison, not here - but it is worth checking the exact part number regardless, since a badge that is correct today can change if the seller substitutes a different one tomorrow.
Frequently asked questions
Is SkyHawk AI worth it over standard SkyHawk at 12TB?
No standard SkyHawk listing is in stock at 12TB right now, so there is no live premium to quote at this exact capacity - see the family page for capacities where both tiers are stocked.
How many cameras will 12TB hold?
At a continuous 4 Mbps per camera, 12TB holds roughly 35 days across 8 cameras or roughly 9 days across 32 cameras - arithmetic, not a measurement, and real usage varies with codec, resolution, motion and how much of the frame is active. See the retention table below for more camera counts and a higher 8 Mbps bitrate.
Does it work in a NAS?
We have not found a Seagate document stating NAS compatibility for this line, and we could not confirm any part number tracked at 12TB's spindle speed from the datasheets we read (Seagate's Product Manual states 7200RPM only for ST10000VE0008 and ST16000VE000 specifically) - check your own NAS vendor's compatibility list, and see /compatible/unifi-unas for the one gate we can measure.
What is SkyHawk AI 12TB's workload rating?
550TB/year per Seagate's own datasheet - flat across the entire SkyHawk AI line from 8TB to 32TB. Cache is the one field that genuinely varies by exact part number rather than by capacity - see the spec table above.
Is this drive CMR or SMR?
Recording technology for this exact listing is not confirmed from the datasheets we read - do not assume CMR without checking the specific part number.
What's the warranty on SkyHawk AI 12TB?
5 years per Seagate's current datasheet (DS1960.15C-2310US), which states plainly: "5-year limited warranty applies to product shipped after July 3, 2021." An older 2020 datasheet for this same capacity states 3 years - not a capacity split, a since-superseded shipment-date cutoff. Any unit sold today falls under the 5-year term.
Sources checked: Seagate SkyHawk AI Data Sheet (DS1960.15C-2310US, current), UniFi Storage Requirements and Compatibility.