UGREEN DXP4800 Plus: Specs, Drives and Total Build Cost
The DXP4800 Plus is UGREEN's mainstream 4-bay NASync unit. Below is what UGREEN's own pages state about it - including one field UGREEN's own site does not publish as extractable text - what it costs filled with drives today, and the honest state of its drive compatibility.
Hardware specifications, per UGREEN's own pages
| Bays | 4 |
|---|---|
| Drive form factors | unverified - not stated as extractable text on any UGREEN-hosted page we rendered |
| M.2 slots | 2 x M.2 NVMe |
| M.2 purpose | SSD cache OR an independent M.2 storage pool - see the note below |
| Max single-drive capacity | not published by UGREEN |
| RAM | DDR5, 8GB installed, ECC status not published, expandable to 64GB |
| Network | 1 x 10GbE + 1 x 2.5GbE |
| Expansion unit | not found on UGREEN's pages for this model |
| PSU | not published on any UGREEN-hosted page we rendered |
| Published acoustic figure | 29-34 dB(A) in quiet mode, per UGREEN's own product page |
Source: UGREEN DXP4800 Plus product page, read 2026-09-14 — ai.ugreen.com.
UGREEN's product page describes the two M.2 slots for "high-speed caching"; UGREEN's own blog post ("What Drives Should I Use for a NAS") separately states the DXP4800 Plus's M.2 slots "support the same two roles" it describes elsewhere - SSD cache or an independent SSD storage pool. Both are UGREEN's own text; neither is silently preferred over the other here.
The honest total: chassis + drives, three ways
$619.99 buys the empty chassis. Filling all 4 bays is the real purchase, priced at three genuinely different tiers below.
Best value fill - DXP4800 Plus + 4 drives
Usable capacity by RAID level: RAID 1 20TB ($102.00/usable TB) · RAID 5 60TB ($34.00/usable TB) · RAID 6 40TB ($51.00/usable TB) · RAID 10 40TB ($51.00/usable TB) 5 items across 2 listings. In-stock listings only. Anything out of stock when this page loaded is named below rather than silently dropped.
| Item | Qty | Each | Line | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DriveMDD 20TB SATA 7200RPM NAS (20TB) | x4 | $509.99 | $2039.96 | Buy |
| ChassisUGREEN NASync DXP4800 Plus 4-Bay | x1 | $619.99 | $619.99 | Buy |
| Basket total | $2659.95 | |||
These are our current tracked prices. Amazon sets the seller and the final price at checkout - verify before you buy. Opening any item starts an Amazon session, and anything you add there is part of the same order - you do not need to come back here between items.
Enterprise fill - DXP4800 Plus + 4 drives
Usable capacity by RAID level: RAID 1 12TB ($110.00/usable TB) · RAID 5 36TB ($36.67/usable TB) · RAID 6 24TB ($55.00/usable TB) · RAID 10 24TB ($55.00/usable TB) 5 items across 2 listings. In-stock listings only. Anything out of stock when this page loaded is named below rather than silently dropped.
| Item | Qty | Each | Line | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DriveWD Ultrastar 12TB SATA HUH721212ALE601 (12TB) | x4 | $329.99 | $1319.96 | Buy |
| ChassisUGREEN NASync DXP4800 Plus 4-Bay | x1 | $619.99 | $619.99 | Buy |
| Basket total | $1939.95 | |||
These are our current tracked prices. Amazon sets the seller and the final price at checkout - verify before you buy. Opening any item starts an Amazon session, and anything you add there is part of the same order - you do not need to come back here between items.
Refurbished fill - DXP4800 Plus + 4 drives
Usable capacity by RAID level: RAID 1 2TB ($76.00/usable TB) · RAID 5 6TB ($25.33/usable TB) · RAID 6 4TB ($38.00/usable TB) · RAID 10 4TB ($38.00/usable TB) 5 items across 2 listings. In-stock listings only. Anything out of stock when this page loaded is named below rather than silently dropped.
| Item | Qty | Each | Line | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DriveToshiba MG03ACA200 2TB SATA Enterprise (2TB) | x4 | $38.00 | $152.00 | Buy |
| ChassisUGREEN NASync DXP4800 Plus 4-Bay | x1 | $619.99 | $619.99 | Buy |
| Basket total | $771.99 | |||
These are our current tracked prices. Amazon sets the seller and the final price at checkout - verify before you buy. Opening any item starts an Amazon session, and anything you add there is part of the same order - you do not need to come back here between items.
The smallest cheque that fills all 4 bays, separately from the value tiers above: 4 x Toshiba MG03ACA200 2TB SATA Enterprise at $104.98 each = $419.92.
Drive compatibility - the honest gap
Unlike Synology's per-machine registry, UGREEN publishes no drive-compatibility list for the NASync line that we could find. That is an absence, not a documented restriction - NASync bays are specified generically to take standard SATA drives, and there is simply no vendor list to check a specific model against. We are stating that gap rather than inventing a posture to compare against a vendor that does publish one.
117 SATA HDDs in our own catalogue are fit-verified for this class of bay right now (interface, form factor and CMR-confirmed) - our own check, not a vendor claim. There is no UGREEN-branded drive line to compute a brand-premium figure against, unlike Synology's HAT series.
UGREEN vs Synology, including this exact drive-policy gap, measured.
Expansion limits and the M.2 reality
We found no vendor-documented expansion unit for the DXP4800 Plus - four bays is the ceiling for this chassis in what UGREEN publishes.
The M.2 slots carry the same trap named on the Synology pages in this cluster, worded slightly differently by UGREEN across two of its own sources: the product page's marketing copy foregrounds the two M.2 slots as a read/write cache, while UGREEN's own blog post states the same slots also support an independent SSD storage pool. Both are UGREEN's own published text - a buyer expecting a pure cache who gets a separate pool (or the reverse) is exactly the mistake this kind of vendor-language gap creates.
What else it needs
Power protection: see UPS units for a NAS, priced live with output waveform stated on every row. The DXP4800 Plus's 10GbE port needs a matching switch port to be worth anything - see 10GbE for a NAS for live card, cable and switch prices and the honest case for staying on 2.5GbE if your switch doesn't have a free 10GbE port.
Frequently asked questions
Frequently asked questions
How many drives does the DXP4800 Plus take?
4 bays, plus two M.2 NVMe slots. UGREEN's own product page does not state the main bays' drive form factor as extractable text - see the note below on that gap.
What's the maximum capacity of the DXP4800 Plus?
UGREEN publishes no maximum single-drive capacity for this model on the pages we could render - only illustrative total-capacity examples, which are not the same as a stated ceiling.
Can I use third-party drives in the DXP4800 Plus?
UGREEN publishes no drive-compatibility list for the NASync line that we could find - this is an absence, not a documented restriction. NASync bays are specified generically for SATA drives.
What does a complete DXP4800 Plus build cost?
$619.99 for the chassis alone; $2039.96 filled with 4 best-value drives, or as little as $419.92 for the smallest qualifying set.
Are the M.2 slots on the DXP4800 Plus cache-only?
Not per UGREEN's own text. UGREEN's product page frames the two M.2 slots as caching; UGREEN's own blog post separately states the DXP4800 Plus supports the same M.2 roles it describes elsewhere - cache or an independent SSD storage pool. Both are UGREEN's own words, quoted rather than one silently preferred over the other.
Does the DXP4800 Plus have ECC memory?
Not published. UGREEN states the DXP4800 Plus ships 8GB of DDR5, expandable to 64GB, but does not state on the pages we rendered whether it is ECC or non-ECC.
Sources checked: UGREEN DXP4800 Plus product page, UGREEN: What Drives Should I Use for a NAS (blog).