Dell's current R760xd2 configuration flow exposes a qualified 32TB SATA ISE 6Gbps 7.2K 512e 3.5-inch hot-plug AG drive. That is the buying identity this page covers.
A retail 32TB SATA HDD is not automatically a Dell-qualified drive. Carrier generation, firmware, PERC support and system warranty treatment can all change the answer.
The Dell 32TB SATA option is currently verified in the R760xd2 configuration path. Treat support on R7725, R6715 or other PowerEdge servers as conditional until the exact Dell option matrix or Service Tag configuration confirms it.
Verify the part number, carrier, firmware, sector format and server or storage-array qualification before ordering. A bare mechanism or third-party compatible listing can be useful, but it is an alternative unless it is sold as the qualified OEM kit or spare you need.
These are the verified procurement identifiers and configuration constraints that should survive from quote to purchase order.
| Specification | Value |
|---|---|
| OEM | Dell |
| Part number / identity | Dell public SKU not stated in cited source |
| Capacity | 32TB raw decimal capacity per drive |
| Interface | 6Gb/s SATA |
| RPM | 7,200 RPM |
| Form factor | 3.5-inch hot-plug AG drive |
| Sector format | 512e |
| Hot-plug | Hot-plug where the Dell chassis and controller support it |
| Carrier | Dell 3.5-inch hot-plug carrier when ordered as a qualified drive; verify carrier generation for spares |
| Encryption | ISE in cited Dell description; not the same as SED |
| Workload class | Capacity-oriented PowerEdge storage |
| Compatible systems | Documented in current R760xd2 configuration; other platforms require a Dell option matrix or Service Tag check |
| Best use | Bay-constrained PowerEdge capacity expansion where 32TB qualification is available |
| Kit status | Dell-qualified drive description, not a public Dell part number in the cited configurator |
No exact in-stock live row is currently matched for Dell public SKU not stated in cited source. Relevant live alternatives are shown for pricing context; verify qualification before treating any row as a substitute.
Live prices · updated every 4-5 hours · last checked 31 min ago · not exact OEM replacements; verify qualification, carrier, firmware and interface before ordering
| Model | Capacity | Recording | RPM | Workload TB/yr | Warranty | $/TB | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4TB 012GYYREFURB | 4TB | CMR | 7,200 | — | — | $21.25 | $85 | Buy |
| 2TB MG03SCA200REFURB | 2TB | CMR | 7,200 | — | — | $22.00 | $44 | Buy |
| 4TB DRMYHREFURB | 4TB | CMR | 7,200 | — | — | $22.50 | $90 | Buy |
| 8TB M40THREFURB | 8TB | CMR | 7,200 | — | — | $25.63 | $205 | Buy |
| 24TB WUH722424ALE604REFURB | 24TB | CMR | 7,200 | 550 | 5 yr | $28.71 | $689 | Buy |
| 24TB ST24000NM002HREFURB | 24TB | CMR | 7,200 | 550 | 5 yr | $29.17 | $700 | Buy |
| 8TB ST8000NM0075REFURB | 8TB | CMR | 7,200 | — | — | $35.63 | $285 | Buy |
| 24TB ST24000DM001 | 24TB | CMR | 7,200 | — | — | $35.83 | $860 | Buy |
| 32TB ST32000VE000 | 32TB | CMR | — | 550 | 5 yr | $36.25 | $1160 | Buy |
| 24TB WD241KFGX | 24TB | CMR | 7,200 | 550 | 5 yr | $44.17 | $1060 | Buy |
| 1.2TB HUC101212CSS600REFURB | 1.2TB | CMR | 10,000 | — | — | $47.41 | $57 | Buy |
| 1.2TB 36RH9 | 1.2TB | CMR | 10,000 | — | — | $48.33 | $58 | Buy |
| 1.2TB 89D42REFURB | 1.2TB | CMR | 10,000 | — | — | $55.00 | $66 | Buy |
| 24TB ST24000NM000H | 24TB | CMR | 7,200 | 550 | 5 yr | $58.37 | $1401 | Buy |
Workload rating is recorded per part number from the manufacturer's published data for that exact model where available, not blanketed across the line — two drives of the same capacity can differ because they are different generations. A dash means the figure is not stated for that listing. Recording technology comes from the manufacturer's published CMR/SMR list; a model absent from that list is shown as UNVERIFIED rather than guessed. Rows priced above 3× this line's in-stock median are flagged and excluded from the winner callout and from every median we compute.
This table is computed from live DatacenterDisk rows when an exact in-stock match exists. It is intentionally blank for unavailable models rather than filled with stale prices.
| Live model | Drive price | $/TB | 1 drive | 4 drives | 8 drives | 12 drives |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| No exact in-stock row is available right now. Use the availability table for nearby live alternatives, then re-check the exact model before ordering. | ||||||
These are procurement paths to evaluate when exact stock is absent. Alternatives still require the exact platform, controller, sector format, carrier and support policy to approve them.
| Alternative | When it can work | Procurement warning |
|---|---|---|
| Dell-qualified 32TB SATA ISE 512e hot-plug AG drive | Best replacement or expansion path on platforms where Dell lists the 32TB option, especially R760xd2. | Do not replace it with a retail 32TB drive unless that is an approved alternative. |
| Dell-qualified 24TB SATA ISE hot-plug drive | Compatible capacity step-down where the platform qualifies 24TB SATA and bay count is available. | Lower density; 24 drives drop from 768TB raw to 576TB raw. |
| Dell-qualified 24TB SAS ISE hot-plug drive | Alternative when the platform and controller path are SAS-qualified and 24TB is acceptable. | Not a SATA-equivalent purchase; check PERC and RAID design. |
| Generic 32TB SATA enterprise HDD | Only as a clearly labelled bare-drive alternative under an approved support policy. | No Dell carrier, firmware or support entitlement by default. |
Dell's public configuration flow confirms the 32TB SATA qualified drive on R760xd2. Other platforms below have verified SAS/SATA LFF bays, but 32TB drive support should be checked against the exact Service Tag or Dell option matrix before purchase.
| Platform | Verified LFF bays | 24TB SATA | 24TB SAS | 32TB SATA | Controller caveat |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PowerEdge R760xd2 | 24 front 3.5-inch SAS/SATA plus rear options | Confirmed in Dell configuration | Platform has SAS/SATA bay support; verify option list | Confirmed in Dell configuration | PERC/HBA and backplane selection decide deployment |
| PowerEdge R7725 | Up to 12 x 3.5-inch SAS/SATA | Conditional | Conditional | Not confirmed in cited public source | PERC12 adapter configuration and firmware must be verified |
| PowerEdge R6715 | Up to 4 x 3.5-inch SAS/SATA | Conditional | Conditional | Not confirmed in cited public source | 1U bay count limits capacity; universal backplane options differ |
Use this table before accepting a quote, especially when new, open-box, refurbished and bare-drive listings appear side by side.
| Check | Why it matters |
|---|---|
| Exact option | Dell 32TB SATA family must appear on the quote or listing when you need the exact OEM option. |
| Carrier | Dell 3.5-inch hot-plug carrier when ordered as a qualified drive; verify carrier generation for spares |
| Firmware path | OEM-qualified firmware can decide update eligibility, health reporting and support handling. |
| Sector format | 512e must match the controller, array and existing drive group. |
| Condition | New, open-box, refurbished and used units should be compared as different offers, not as the same price point. |
| Support | Handled through Dell system or option support terms for the qualified purchase |
Raw decimal capacity is shown before filesystem formatting, RAID, hot spares, snapshots or vendor overhead.
| Drive count | Raw capacity | Single-parity example | Dual-parity example |
|---|---|---|---|
| 4 drives | 128TB raw | 96TB before formatting | 64TB before formatting |
| 8 drives | 256TB raw | 224TB before formatting | 192TB before formatting |
| 12 drives | 384TB raw | 352TB before formatting | 320TB before formatting |
The public Dell source verified here confirms 32TB SATA in the R760xd2 configuration flow. R7725 and R6715 have verified SAS/SATA LFF bay configurations, but the cited public material does not prove 32TB support on those platforms, so those purchases need Dell option-matrix or Service Tag confirmation.
A 32TB drive carries 33.3 percent more raw capacity than a 24TB drive. In a 24-bay R760xd2, that is 768TB raw instead of 576TB raw before parity and formatting, but higher drive price, rebuild time and spare cost may erase the practical benefit.
Dell service material warns that carrier generation and supported hardware matter. Do not buy a bare 32TB mechanism just because the connector and size look correct; verify Dell qualification and the PERC firmware path.
The cited Dell configuration source exposes the qualified drive description, but not a stable public Dell SKU. This page therefore does not invent an MPN.
The verified Dell description says ISE. ISE is not the same claim as SED.
Dell's current R760xd2 configuration flow lists the 32TB SATA ISE 512e hot-plug AG drive. Still verify the exact chassis, PERC/HBA and firmware for the system being ordered.
Specification claims on this page were checked against the pages below on 1 September 2026. Where a widely-repeated figure did not survive that check, we report what the source says now and say so in the text rather than repeating the familiar number.