RS11626xs+ Compatible Drives
The RS11626xs+ compatibility question has two separate answers. The official answer is Synology's own validation list. The economic answer compares technically similar enterprise drives by current price and cost per terabyte. They are not the same claim, so this page does not merge them.
Officially supported rows are shown first. Third-party drives are shown later as price and specification comparisons only, with explicit support-status wording on every row.
| Part number | Capacity | Type | Interface | Bay use | Official status | Current price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HAT5320-4T | 4TB | HDD | SATA | 3.5-inch data bay | Officially supported/validated Listed by Synology for RS11626xs+. | Price unavailable | - |
| HAT5320-8T | 8TB | HDD | SATA | 3.5-inch data bay | Officially supported/validated Listed by Synology for RS11626xs+. | Price unavailable | - |
| HAT5300-12T | 12TB | HDD | SATA | 3.5-inch data bay | Officially supported/validated Listed by Synology for RS11626xs+. | Price unavailable | Check on Amazon |
| HAT5310-16T | 16TB | HDD | SATA | 3.5-inch data bay | Officially supported/validated Listed by Synology for RS11626xs+. | Price unavailable | Check on Amazon |
| HAT5320-20T | 20TB | HDD | SATA | 3.5-inch data bay | Officially supported/validated Listed by Synology for RS11626xs+. | Price unavailable | - |
| HAT5320-24T | 24TB | HDD | SATA | 3.5-inch data bay | Officially supported/validated Listed by Synology for RS11626xs+. | Price unavailable | - |
| SAT5221-480G | 480GB | SSD | SATA | 2.5-inch SSD bay | Officially supported/validated Listed by Synology for RS11626xs+. | Price unavailable | - |
| SAT5221-960G | 960GB | SSD | SATA | 2.5-inch SSD bay | Officially supported/validated Listed by Synology for RS11626xs+. | Price unavailable | - |
| SAT5221-1920G | 1.92TB | SSD | SATA | 2.5-inch SSD bay | Officially supported/validated Listed by Synology for RS11626xs+. | Price unavailable | - |
| SAT5221-3840G | 3.84TB | SSD | SATA | 2.5-inch SSD bay | Officially supported/validated Listed by Synology for RS11626xs+. | Price unavailable | - |
| SAT5210-7000G | 7TB | SSD | SATA | 2.5-inch SSD bay | Officially supported/validated Listed by Synology for RS11626xs+. | Price unavailable | - |
| SNV5420-400G | 400GB | NVMe SSD | NVMe | M.2 system/cache slot | Officially supported/validated Listed by Synology for RS11626xs+. | Price unavailable | - |
| SNV5420-800G | 800GB | NVMe SSD | NVMe | M.2 system/cache slot | Officially supported/validated Listed by Synology for RS11626xs+. | Price unavailable | - |
| SNV5420-1600G | 1.6TB | NVMe SSD | NVMe | M.2 system/cache slot | Officially supported/validated Listed by Synology for RS11626xs+. | Price unavailable | - |
| Drive | Capacity | Type | Interface | Official compatibility status | Current price | $/TB | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| WD Ultrastar 12TB SATA HUH721212ALE601 unknown | 12TB | HDD | SATA-6G | Not officially listed Economic/specification comparison only; this is not confirmation of Synology support. | $349.99 | $29.17/TB | Buy on Amazon |
| MDD 20TB SATA 7200RPM NAS Recording technology not stated | 20TB | HDD | SATA-6G | Not officially listed Economic/specification comparison only; this is not confirmation of Synology support. | $639.99 | $32.00/TB | Buy on Amazon |
| Seagate BarraCuda 8TB ST8000DMZ04 Recording technology not stated | 8TB | HDD | SATA-6G | Not officially listed Economic/specification comparison only; this is not confirmation of Synology support. | $279.99 | $35.00/TB | Buy on Amazon |
| Seagate IronWolf Pro 16TB NAS Recording technology not stated | 16TB | HDD | SATA-6G | Not officially listed Economic/specification comparison only; this is not confirmation of Synology support. | $589.99 | $36.87/TB | Buy on Amazon |
| WD Ultrastar 10TB SATA HUH721010ALN600 Recording technology not stated | 10TB | HDD | SATA-6G | Not officially listed Economic/specification comparison only; this is not confirmation of Synology support. | $371.75 | $37.17/TB | Buy on Amazon |
| WD Ultrastar 10TB SATA HUH721010ALE600 unknown | 10TB | HDD | SATA-6G | Not officially listed Economic/specification comparison only; this is not confirmation of Synology support. | $400.00 | $40.00/TB | Buy on Amazon |
| WD Ultrastar 14TB SATA Recording technology not stated | 14TB | HDD | SATA-6G | Not officially listed Economic/specification comparison only; this is not confirmation of Synology support. | $564.00 | $40.29/TB | Buy on Amazon |
| Seagate BarraCuda 6TB ST6000DM003 Recording technology not stated | 6TB | HDD | SATA-6G | Not officially listed Economic/specification comparison only; this is not confirmation of Synology support. | $249.00 | $41.50/TB | Buy on Amazon |
| WD Ultrastar 14TB SATA WUH721414ALE6L4 unknown | 14TB | HDD | SATA-6G | Not officially listed Economic/specification comparison only; this is not confirmation of Synology support. | $581.00 | $41.50/TB | Buy on Amazon |
| Seagate SkyHawk AI 32TB ST32000VE000 CMR | 32TB | HDD | SATA-6G | Not officially listed Economic/specification comparison only; this is not confirmation of Synology support. | $1,339.99 | $41.87/TB | Buy on Amazon |
| Seagate Exos X20 18TB SATA Recording technology not stated | 18TB | HDD | SATA-6G | Not officially listed Economic/specification comparison only; this is not confirmation of Synology support. | $764.90 | $42.49/TB | Buy on Amazon |
| Seagate Exos X14 14TB SATA Enterprise Recording technology not stated | 14TB | HDD | SATA-6G | Not officially listed Economic/specification comparison only; this is not confirmation of Synology support. | $600.00 | $42.86/TB | Buy on Amazon |
| Seagate SkyHawk AI 24TB ST24000VE002 CMR | 24TB | HDD | SATA-6G | Not officially listed Economic/specification comparison only; this is not confirmation of Synology support. | $1,029.00 | $42.88/TB | Buy on Amazon |
| Seagate IronWolf 10TB NAS ST10000VNZ00 Recording technology not stated | 10TB | HDD | SATA-6G | Not officially listed Economic/specification comparison only; this is not confirmation of Synology support. | $434.99 | $43.50/TB | Buy on Amazon |
| WD DC HC550 18TB SATA 512MB Enterprise unknown | 18TB | HDD | SATA-6G | Not officially listed Economic/specification comparison only; this is not confirmation of Synology support. | $784.45 | $43.58/TB | Buy on Amazon |
| WD Red Pro 22TB NAS WD221KFGX CMR | 22TB | HDD | SATA-6G | Not officially listed Economic/specification comparison only; this is not confirmation of Synology support. | $961.70 | $43.71/TB | Buy on Amazon |
| Seagate IronWolf Pro 32TB NAS HAMR CMR | 32TB | HDD | SATA-6G | Not officially listed Economic/specification comparison only; this is not confirmation of Synology support. | $1,399.99 | $43.75/TB | Buy on Amazon |
| Seagate IronWolf Pro 20TB NAS Recording technology not stated | 20TB | HDD | SATA-6G | Not officially listed Economic/specification comparison only; this is not confirmation of Synology support. | $879.99 | $44.00/TB | Buy on Amazon |
| Seagate SkyHawk AI 16TB ST16000VE000 unknown | 16TB | HDD | SATA-6G | Not officially listed Economic/specification comparison only; this is not confirmation of Synology support. | $711.00 | $44.44/TB | Buy on Amazon |
| Seagate IronWolf Pro 12TB NAS ST12000NE0008 Recording technology not stated | 12TB | HDD | SATA-6G | Not officially listed Economic/specification comparison only; this is not confirmation of Synology support. | $534.99 | $44.58/TB | Buy on Amazon |
| WD Red Pro 20TB WD202KFGX CMR | 20TB | HDD | SATA-6G | Not officially listed Economic/specification comparison only; this is not confirmation of Synology support. | $897.33 | $44.87/TB | Buy on Amazon |
| WD Red Pro 16TB WD161KFGX CMR | 16TB | HDD | SATA-6G | Not officially listed Economic/specification comparison only; this is not confirmation of Synology support. | $718.48 | $44.91/TB | Buy on Amazon |
| Seagate IronWolf 10TB NAS ST10000VN0004 Recording technology not stated | 10TB | HDD | SATA-6G | Not officially listed Economic/specification comparison only; this is not confirmation of Synology support. | $449.99 | $45.00/TB | Buy on Amazon |
| WD Red Pro 12TB NAS WD122KFBX CMR | 12TB | HDD | SATA-6G | Not officially listed Economic/specification comparison only; this is not confirmation of Synology support. | $539.99 | $45.00/TB | Buy on Amazon |
How much does Synology's supported-drive requirement affect cost?
A support boundary becomes a budget line when a chassis has sixteen main bays and can expand much further. The table below compares Synology-branded drive pricing against the cheapest same-capacity rival only where both sides are currently priced and the interface is comparable. If one side lacks current pricing, the page does not invent a premium.
| Capacity | Interface | Synology $/TB | Comparable rival $/TB | Measured premium |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 16TB | SATA | $62.50/TB | $36.87/TB cheapest new SATA at 16TB | 69.5% |
| 12TB | SAS | $58.33/TB | $43.70/TB cheapest new SAS at 12TB | 33.5% |
| Drive size | Drive pick | Drives | Raw storage | Estimated usable | Drive cost | $/usable TB | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 12TB | WD Red Pro 12TB WD121KFBX $33.33/TB | 16 | 192TB | 168TB in RAID 6 | $6,399.84 | $38.09/TB | Buy on Amazon |
| 16TB | Seagate Exos X16 16TB $29.37/TB | 16 | 256TB | 224TB in RAID 6 | $7,519.84 | $33.57/TB | Buy on Amazon |
| 20TB | WD Ultrastar DC 20TB Renewed $28.50/TB | 16 | 320TB | 280TB in RAID 6 | $9,119.84 | $32.57/TB | Buy on Amazon |
| 22TB | WD Red Pro 22TB NAS WD221KFGX $35.23/TB | 16 | 352TB | 308TB in RAID 6 | $12,399.84 | $40.26/TB | Buy on Amazon |
| 24TB | Seagate Exos X24 24TB $33.29/TB | 16 | 384TB | 336TB in RAID 6 | $12,783.84 | $38.05/TB | Buy on Amazon |
| 32TB | Seagate SkyHawk AI 32TB ST32000VE000 $41.87/TB | 16 | 512TB | 448TB in RAID 6 | $21,439.84 | $47.86/TB | Buy on Amazon |
Drive costs use current DatacenterDisk prices and choose the lowest in-stock CMR/ePMR SATA drive at each capacity. Chassis price is excluded unless a current chassis price is available.
Officially supported versus technically comparable
An officially supported drive appears on Synology's own list or accessory table for this RackStation. That status matters for enterprise support, drive firmware workflows and who owns the failure conversation when something goes wrong.
A technically comparable third-party drive can match the capacity, form factor and interface. That makes it useful for cost comparison, but it does not make it officially supported. This page keeps that distinction in the table labels because a single rack build can multiply a per-drive premium sixteen times before expansion shelves are considered.
RS11626xs+ bay planning
The chassis has sixteen main 3.5/2.5-inch SATA bays, four dedicated 2.5-inch SATA SSD bays and M.2 NVMe system/cache media. Fill the main bays with supported HDDs when vendor support is mandatory. Use the dedicated SSD bays for hot data only when the workload justifies the cost, and avoid treating SSD capacity as a substitute for a backup plan.
Synology lists expansion to 116 total bays with RX1222sas units. At that scale, the support-status premium is no longer a small procurement preference; it can determine the storage budget. Run the numbers at the first chassis before committing to the full shelf plan.
What DSM 7.3 lets a drive that is not on Synology's list do in the RS11626xs+
Synology launched the RS11626xs+ on 2026-09-03, so its 2025 drive policy applies, and the RS11626xs+ is in the FS, HD, SA, UC, XS+, XS, DP, and DVA/NVR series table. For a drive that is not on Synology's compatibility list:
- HDD: Migration only
- 2.5" SATA/SAS SSD: Migration only
- M.2 NVMe SSD: Migration only
So on the RS11626xs+ a third-party hard drive fits the bay but is supported for migration from an existing Synology only, not for a new storage pool - and “Drives must be migrated directly from an existing Synology system. If the original storage pool or SSD cache is removed from the drive, the drive will no longer be usable in your current Synology system.” A drive on Synology's incompatibility list is not supported for a new installation or storage pool, for cache, or for migration - on every series.
Source: Synology, DSM 7.3, last updated 27 May 2026. The full RS11626xs+ drive-policy page has every cell, the incompatibility list and drives in stock that fit.
Third-party drives: what the table does and does not say
The third-party table is useful because it shows what the broader enterprise HDD market costs today. It is not a Synology approval list. A row for Seagate, WD or Toshiba is a current internal SATA HDD price comparison. It does not mean Synology has validated that exact model for RS11626xs+.
For unsupported media, document the support trade-off before purchase. The cheaper drive may still be the right internal lab or non-critical choice, but production systems that depend on vendor support should price the official list first.
Frequently asked questions
Which drives are officially supported in the RS11626xs+?
Synology lists its own HAT5320/HAT5310/HAT5300 hard drives, SAT5221/SAT5210 SATA SSDs and SNV5420 NVMe SSDs for the RS11626xs+. The table on this page lists those official part numbers.
Are Seagate Exos or WD Ultrastar drives officially compatible?
This page does not present third-party drives as officially compatible. They may be technically comparable SATA enterprise HDDs, but the rows are economic/specification comparisons rather than confirmation of Synology support.
Why does official compatibility matter more on this rack system?
Enterprise Synology deployments often depend on vendor support, firmware management and validated drive lists. A drive can physically fit while still sitting outside Synology's support boundary.
How much does Synology's supported-drive requirement affect cost?
The measured premium table compares current Synology drive pricing against same-capacity SATA or SAS alternatives where both sides are available. If one side lacks current pricing, no premium is shown.
Can I use third-party drives anyway?
That depends on Synology's current policy for this model, DSM version and the support risk you are willing to accept. This page separates physical/economic comparison from official validation so the distinction is visible.
Sources checked: Synology RS11626xs+ official product page, Synology drive policy context.