PowerEdge R6715 Buyer's Guide - Parts & Prices

The PowerEdge R6715 is a 1U rack 17th generation machine on the AMD EPYC 9005 platform, and Dell documents 3 bay configurations for it, most commonly 4 x 3.5in LFF, up to 20 bays. Its SAS backplanes accept SATA drives, which is what makes a high-capacity configured system flexible. Check the backplane, the storage controller and the management licence before you order.

Prices updated

What the chassis costs

We hold no verified Amazon listing for the PowerEdge R6715 right now, so this is an estimate rather than a quote — and it is labelled that way deliberately. The used market for this machine runs mostly through eBay and specialist refurbishers, which we do not price live.

$12,000$36,000
Estimated used-market range as of September 2026
Basis: current Dell configured-system pricing varies by EPYC CPU, memory, controller and storage configuration. This is a range, not a live price, and it is not a quote from any seller. Treat it as the shape of the market on the date shown.

Bay and backplane configurations

Know which configuration you are buying before you order. On this class of machine the backplane is selected at point of purchase and is not a field upgrade in the general case, so the front of the chassis decides what storage you can ever put in it. A listing photographed from the front tells you more than the model number does.

ConfigurationBaysCarrierInterfaces
4 x 3.5in LFFMOST COMMON
Dell documents up to four 3.5in SAS/SATA drives. This is the only R6715 path relevant to 24TB/32TB LFF HDD planning.
43.5"SAS, SATA
8 x 2.5in universal
Dell documents 2.5in universal configurations that can combine SAS/SATA and NVMe. They are not 3.5in nearline HDD configurations.
82.5"SAS, SATA, NVMe (up to 8)
EDSFF E3.S NVMe
Dell documents EDSFF E3.S NVMe configurations, including rear EDSFF options. These are flash configurations and do not accept 3.5in HDDs.
202.5"NVMe (up to 20)

Source: Dell PowerEdge R6715 Installation and Service Manual - drives. Configurations the document does not describe are not listed here. Options such as mid-plane and rear cages vary by build and are noted per configuration where the vendor states them.

Drives for the 4 x 3.5in LFF configuration

4 in-stock listings · in stock now, ranked by cost per terabyte · ranked by live cost per tb, refreshed every few hours

DriveCapacityInterfaceRecordingCondition$/TBPrice
HP ST31000640SS 1TB SAS
ST31000640SS
1TBSAS-6GCMRREFURB$14.99$15Buy
HP 695842-001 4TB SAS 6G
695842-001
4TBSAS-6GCMRNEW$15.00$60Buy
HGST HUS724030ALS640 3TB SAS 6G
HUS724030ALS640
3TBSAS-6GCMRREFURB$15.13$45Buy
HGST HUS726040ALS210 4TB SAS 12G
HUS726040ALS210
4TBSAS-12GCMRREFURB$16.15$65Buy

Every configuration, with its own table: PowerEdge R6715 drive compatibility

Memory

The R6715 is a current AMD EPYC DDR5 platform. It is not mapped to older PowerEdge memory pages; verify memory against Dell's current configuration and service-tag data. Browse our server memory catalogue.

What the PowerEdge R6715 is, and where it sits

The PowerEdge R6715 is a 1U rack Dell PowerEdge machine built on the AMD EPYC 9005 platform, and it belongs to Dell's 17th generation line. For current-generation purchases, the storage value comes from choosing the chassis, backplane, controller and drive population correctly before the order is placed.

What makes this particular machine worth a page is its storage. In its 4 x 3.5in LFF configuration it carries 4 front bays, and across every configuration Dell documents it tops out at 20. Bays are the thing this class of server gives you that a desktop or a small NAS cannot. A 20-bay chassis with a SAS backplane will accept SATA capacity drives where the controller path supports them, but OEM qualification still decides whether a specific Dell, HPE or Lenovo drive belongs in a supported deployment.

It is also worth being clear about what you are taking on. This is rack hardware designed for a room with its own cooling and its own acoustics budget, and it was designed by people who assumed nobody would ever have to sleep near it. The four sections below cover the four things that actually catch buyers out — noise, power, the storage controller, and remote-management licensing — and none of them are reasons not to buy. They are reasons to know what you are buying.

Which one of these should you actually buy?

Dell sold several machines in this family and the used market carries all of them at once, often at overlapping prices, which is how people end up with the wrong one. The short version for the PowerEdge R6715: it is a 1U machine, so it trades drive bays for rack height. If storage is why you are shopping, look at the 2U siblings first. Compare it against PowerEdge R730xd, PowerEdge R730, PowerEdge R740xd and PowerEdge R740.

The four things that catch people out

1. Noise

Fan behaviour is the single most-cited ownership complaint for rack PowerEdge hardware in home and small-office use. Two triggers come up repeatedly: a PCIe card the iDRAC does not recognise, which raises the baseline fan floor, and higher-wattage or non-Dell drives. Community-documented IPMI fan-control procedures exist and are discussed at length on ServeTheHome and r/homelab. We do not reproduce them: they are unofficial, they vary by firmware revision, and a mistake runs the machine hot. Read the discussion, understand the risk, and decide for yourself. We publish no decibel or idle-wattage figure because we have not measured one and Dell does not state one for a used configuration.

The practical buying advice that follows from this is simple and does not require any unofficial tinkering: think about where the machine will live before you think about which one to buy. A garage, a basement, a proper rack in a room you do not work in — any of those, and this is a non-issue. A cupboard off a bedroom, and it is the thing you will regret. That decision costs nothing to make now and is expensive to reverse once a 70-pound chassis is in the house.

2. Power

Power is the cost people forget to price, and unlike the purchase it repeats every month. A dual-socket machine of this generation idles at a level that is a real line on a household bill, and it does that whether or not you are using it. We do not publish an idle-wattage figure for the PowerEdge R6715, because we have not measured one and Dell does not state one for a used configuration — the number depends on which processors are fitted, how many DIMMs are populated, how many drives are spinning and which power supplies are installed. Anyone quoting you a single confident watt figure for “an PowerEdge R6715” is quoting a machine, not the machine you are buying.

What you can do is price it properly before you commit. Take your electricity rate, multiply by 24 and by 365, and apply it to a range rather than a point — then decide whether the answer changes your mind. For most people running one machine it does not. For people planning to run three, it usually does, and that is exactly the calculation that should happen before the purchase rather than after the first bill. Our calculators cover the storage side of the same question.

3. The storage controller, and whether it will run ZFS

Current-generation PowerEdge storage should be specified with the intended PERC12, HBA or direct-attach path at purchase time. A drive bay count is not a support statement by itself: Dell qualification depends on chassis, backplane, controller, firmware and the exact drive option. Do not combine SAS and SATA in the same RAID volume unless the controller documentation explicitly supports that configuration.

The full explanation, and which specific cards ship ready versus needing a firmware change, is on our IT mode guide — and the card decoder lists every controller we track with live prices.

This matters more than any other single specification if you intend to run TrueNAS, Proxmox with ZFS, Unraid or anything else that wants to manage disks itself. Those systems want to see each physical drive, read its SMART data and handle redundancy in software. A RAID controller in its normal mode hides all of that behind virtual disks, and the failure mode is not a crash — it is that everything appears to work while your filesystem is blind to the health of the hardware underneath it. Settle this question with the seller before money changes hands, because it is a much cheaper question to ask than to answer later.

4. Remote management licensing

iDRAC9 is tiered the same way: Basic, Express, and Enterprise, with the full virtual console and virtual media sitting in Enterprise (and a later Datacenter tier above it). This is the single most common disappointment for first-time buyers of used PowerEdge hardware — the machine boots, the iDRAC web interface loads, and the remote console is the one thing behind the licence. Confirm the tier with the seller in writing.

The reason this deserves its own section rather than a footnote is that remote management is most of the point of enterprise hardware for a home user. A machine you can power-cycle, reinstall and rescue from a laptop is a machine that can live somewhere inconvenient. A machine without that is one you will be carrying a monitor and keyboard to. The hardware is present either way; what varies is the licence, and the licence is not visible in a listing photograph.

Choosing the configuration before you choose the seller

The PowerEdge R6715 is available in configurations that take 3.5" drives, which is what you want if capacity per pound is the goal. Large-capacity spinning disks are only sold in that form factor, and no adapter meaningfully changes that in a hot-swap bay — a caddy that lets a 2.5" drive sit in a 3.5" bay exists, but the reverse does not.

Some configurations of this machine carry NVMe bays. Those bays take U.2 or U.3 enterprise drives, not the M.2 sticks a desktop uses — the connector, the power envelope and the physical carrier are all different, and an M.2 drive cannot be made to fit a hot-swap NVMe bay with an adapter you would want in a server. Check which specific configuration a listing is before you buy drives for it.

Right now our catalogue carries 20 in-stock 3.5" drives and 16 in-stock 2.5" drives that fit machines of this class. The full breakdown, config by config, is on the PowerEdge R6715 drive compatibility page.

Complete builds and comparisons

We have no complete build guide on this specific machine yet, but the build guides on its siblings translate directly, and the build calculator will price this model with your own configuration.

To price a configuration of your own, the build calculator opens preselected on this model.

Verifying one on arrival

Used enterprise hardware is generally sound — it was built to a standard a desktop is not, and most of it has spent its life in a temperature-controlled room. But it arrives without a warranty conversation, so the first hour matters. Work through this before the return window closes rather than before the first weekend project:

Apply the same discipline to any drives that came with it. Bundled disks in a used server are usually the drives the previous owner had least reason to keep, and they arrive with an unknown number of powered-on hours. Our guide to recertified and refurbished drives covers what to check and what the numbers mean, and it applies to bundled drives exactly as it applies to bought ones. The full first-hour procedure is on verify on arrival, and the licensing question above is covered in depth on iDRAC and iLO licensing.

Caddies and carriers

Drive carriers are specific to a chassis generation and form factor, and they are not interchangeable across generations even within one vendor's line. We do not publish carrier part numbers for the PowerEdge R6715. The reason is deliberate: Dell's own documentation for this machine describes carriers generically and does not list part numbers, and the numbers that circulate on forums are frequently right for one generation and wrong for the next. A wrong caddy is a real cost and a genuinely annoying return. Buy carriers matched to the specific model and form factor, from a seller who states which generation they fit, and where you can, buy the machine with its caddies already in it — a chassis that arrives fully populated with carriers is worth paying a premium for.

Adding 10GbE: this chassis has PCIe slots to spare, and a card plus a direct-attach cable is the cheapest way to give it a fast path to a workstation. See the 10GbE hub for live card prices, or the two-machine build for the version with no switch at all.

Frequently Asked Questions

Loud enough that where you put it matters more than which model you buy. We do not publish a decibel figure because we have not measured one and Dell does not state one for a used configuration — it depends on the processors, the drives and the ambient temperature. What is consistent across owner reports is the trigger: hardware the management controller does not recognise raises the fan floor, so a third-party PCIe card or an unusual drive can make a quiet machine loud. Community fan-control procedures exist and are discussed at length on ServeTheHome and r/homelab; they are unofficial and firmware-dependent, and we do not reproduce them here.

The machine can. Whether the specific unit you are buying can depends entirely on its storage controller. Current-generation PowerEdge storage should be specified with the intended PERC12, HBA or direct-attach path at purchase time. A drive bay count is not a support statement by itself: Dell qualification depends on chassis, backplane, controller, firmware and the exact drive option. Do not combine SAS and SATA in the same RAID volume unless the controller documentation explicitly supports that configuration. Ask the seller which controller is fitted and get the answer in writing before you buy — it is the one specification that decides this, and it is far cheaper to select for than to change.

That depends on which backplane configuration the machine was built with, and on this class of hardware the backplane is chosen at point of purchase rather than upgraded later. Dell documents 3 configurations for this model, most commonly 4 x 3.5in LFF, topping out at 20 bays. A SAS backplane accepts SATA drives as well as SAS, which is why cheap high-capacity SATA disks are worth quoting for these machines. The full config-by-config breakdown with live prices is on our PowerEdge R6715 drive compatibility page.

iDRAC9 is tiered the same way: Basic, Express, and Enterprise, with the full virtual console and virtual media sitting in Enterprise (and a later Datacenter tier above it). This is the single most common disappointment for first-time buyers of used PowerEdge hardware — the machine boots, the iDRAC web interface loads, and the remote console is the one thing behind the licence. Confirm the tier with the seller in writing.

Some configurations do, and only some. NVMe bays on this platform take U.2 or U.3 enterprise drives — not the M.2 sticks a desktop uses, which differ in connector, carrier and power envelope. Check which specific configuration a listing is before buying drives, because the bays look similar from the front.

We hold no verified Amazon listing for this model right now, so this page shows a dated used-market estimate range instead of a live price, and labels it as such. The used market for this machine runs mostly through eBay and specialist refurbishers, which we do not price live.

The R6715 is a current AMD EPYC DDR5 platform. It is not mapped to older PowerEdge memory pages; verify memory against Dell's current configuration and service-tag data.

Share:WhatsAppFacebookPost on X