Supermicro H13SSL-N Memory Upgrade — RAM Prices

20 compatible modules·16 in stock·prices updated every 4-5 hours·last checked

The H13SSL-N is Supermicro's single-socket SP5 board for AMD EPYC 9004 and 9005 Series processors: 12 DDR5 RDIMM slots, per Supermicro's own product specification page, with a stated maximum of 3TB at 1 DIMM per channel. The documented speed depends on both the CPU generation and the board's own revision — 4800 MT/s with EPYC 9004 on board revisions R1.x/R2.0/R2.01, 6000 MT/s with EPYC 9005 on R2.0, and 6400 MT/s with EPYC 9005 specifically on R2.01.

Supermicro's own DIMM-size list for this board runs 16GB, 24GB, 32GB, 48GB, 64GB, 96GB, 128GB and 256GB, all RDIMM — no LRDIMM or 3DS RDIMM capacity appears on their current spec page, so the compatible-modules table below is scoped to that. We could not source the board's full installation manual this session (it exceeded our fetch tool's size limit), so 2DPC speed behavior and any explicit mixing or rank restriction are not stated below — see the honest gap in the population table rather than a guessed rule.

Share:WhatsAppFacebookPost on X
Verified memory rules — Supermicro H13SSL-N
DIMM slots
12 (12/CPU)
Max capacity
3TB
Memory type
DDR5 RDIMM
Supported speeds
4800-6400 MT/s
Per-DIMM max
256GB

Per Supermicro's own product specification page: up to 3TB at 1DPC and 4800 MT/s with AMD EPYC 9004 Series (board revision R1.x/R2.0/R2.01); up to 3TB at 1DPC and 6000 MT/s with EPYC 9005 Series on board revision R2.0; up to 3TB at 1DPC and 6400 MT/s with EPYC 9005 Series on board revision R2.01. We could not source a documented speed figure at 2DPC or higher - the full installation manual, which would likely cover that, exceeded our fetch tool's size limit this session.

AMD EPYC 9005 Series support requires board revision 2.x - per Supermicro: "AMD EPYC 9005 series drop-in support requires board revision 2.x." Single-socket SP5.

Source: Supermicro official documentation

Not sure what to buy? Run the Memory Finder for this server - it turns these rules into priced, population-valid configurations.

Operating speed depends on CPU generation and DIMMs per channel — Per Supermicro's own product specification page: up to 3TB at 1DPC and 4800 MT/s with AMD EPYC 9004 Series (board revision R1.x/R2.0/R2.01); up to 3TB at 1DPC and 6000 MT/s with EPYC 9005 Series on board revision R2.0; up to 3TB at 1DPC and 6400 MT/s with EPYC 9005 Series on board revision R2.01. We could not source a documented speed figure at 2DPC or higher - the full installation manual, which would likely cover that, exceeded our fetch tool's size limit this session.. Always verify against Supermicro's QVL for your exact configuration.

Compatible modules — live prices, sorted by $/GB

BrandModuleCapacitySpeedType$/GBPrice
SamsungM321R2GA3BB6-CQK16GBDDR5-4800RDIMM$29.56$472.90Buy Now
KingstonKSM56R46BD8PMI32GBDDR5-5600RDIMM$31.25$999.99Buy Now
KingstonKSM56R46BD4PMI64GBDDR5-5600RDIMM$32.25$2064.00Buy Now
A-TechB0DMC1VFNS96GBDDR5-4800RDIMM$32.70$3139.49Buy Now
SamsungM321RYGA0BB0-CQK96GBDDR5-4800RDIMM$32.70$3139.49Buy Now
SamsungM321R8GA0BB0-CQK64GBDDR5-4800RDIMM$35.08$2245.00Buy Now
KingstonKSM56E46BD8KM48GBDDR5-5600RDIMM$36.46$1749.99Buy Now
A-TechM321R4GA0PB0-CWM32GBDDR5-5600RDIMM$37.31$1194.00Buy Now
SK HynixHMCG88AEBRA168N32GBDDR5-4800RDIMM$42.25$1351.93Buy Now
NEMIXMTC20F2085S1RC48BR32GBDDR5-4800RDIMM$42.44$1357.99Buy Now
NEMIXMTC40F204WS1RC56BB2R96GBDDR5-5600RDIMM$44.28$4250.99Buy Now
NEMIXMTC10F1084S1RC56BR16GBDDR5-5600RDIMM$44.37$709.99Buy Now
NEMIXMTC40F204WS1RC64BC1R96GBDDR5-6400RDIMM$45.51$4368.99Buy Now
NEMIXMTC40F204WS1RC64BR96GBDDR5-6400RDIMM$45.51$4368.99Buy Now
MicronMTC40F2046S1RC56BD264GBDDR5-5600RDIMM$46.14$2952.99Buy Now
A-TechB0DYR9JXRH64GBDDR5-6400RDIMM$46.49$2975.65Buy Now
V-ColorB0GYCQNYQ6256GBDDR5-4800RDIMMout of stock
V-ColorB0GYCHJPHZ256GBDDR5-6400RDIMMout of stock
SK HynixHMCT04MEERA132N128GBDDR5-4800RDIMMout of stock
SamsungM321R4GA3BB6-CQK32GBDDR5-4800RDIMMout of stock

Upgrade costs today — computed live

6× 48GB DDR5-5600 (288GB) · leaves 6 slots free · Kingston KSM56E46BD8KM$10499.94
12× 48GB DDR5-5600 (576GB) · Kingston KSM56E46BD8KM$20999.88
6× 96GB DDR5-4800 (576GB) · leaves 6 slots free · A-Tech B0DMC1VFNS$18836.94
6× 16GB DDR5-4800 (96GB) · leaves 6 slots free · Samsung M321R2GA3BB6-CQK$2837.40

Each scenario is priced from the cheapest compatible in-stock module at that capacity, at the timestamp above. Configurations never exceed the platform's 12 DIMM slots.

Supermicro H13SSL-N — OEM population table

Every row below is drawn from the same Supermicro document — nothing here is inferred from a sibling platform or a community source.

FieldDocumented valueSource
DIMM slots12 (12 per CPU)Supermicro manual ↗
Max system capacity3TBSupermicro manual ↗
Max per-DIMM capacity256GBSupermicro manual ↗
Supported module classesDDR5 RDIMMSupermicro manual ↗
Supported speed range4800-6400 MT/sSupermicro manual ↗
Documented DPC / speed step-down behaviorPer Supermicro's own product specification page: up to 3TB at 1DPC and 4800 MT/s with AMD EPYC 9004 Series (board revision R1.x/R2.0/R2.01); up to 3TB at 1DPC and 6000 MT/s with EPYC 9005 Series on board revision R2.0; up to 3TB at 1DPC and 6400 MT/s with EPYC 9005 Series on board revision R2.01. We could not source a documented speed figure at 2DPC or higher - the full installation manual, which would likely cover that, exceeded our fetch tool's size limit this session.Supermicro manual ↗
Documented mixing / rank restrictionsnot stated in the sourced documentationSupermicro manual ↗
CPU-generation dependencyAMD EPYC 9005 Series support requires board revision 2.x - per Supermicro: "AMD EPYC 9005 series drop-in support requires board revision 2.x." Single-socket SP5.Supermicro manual ↗

Paraphrased from Supermicro's official documentation. Modules rated above the documented speed range are safe to install — a documented vendor behavior is that they run at the platform's supported speed for your DPC configuration rather than their own label speed, never at a speed we are claiming for them. See our population-rules and mixing-rules pages for how this platform's rules compare to others we've checked.

How this page keeps itself honest

Every specification in the rules box above was verified against the Supermicro document linked beneath it before this page went live — nothing is inferred from forum lore or reseller listings, and any field the document does not state is simply absent here rather than guessed. The compatibility table applies those verified rules mechanically to our tracked module catalog: generation must match, the module type must appear in the platform's allowed list, speed must meet the documented floor, and per-DIMM capacity must respect the stated maximum. What survives that filter is sorted by live $/GB — computed against true 1024-based capacities — and refreshed on the same rolling cycle as every price on this site.

Two honest limits worth stating. First, our catalog tracks the retail module market, not Supermicro's option-part universe — a module absent from the table is not declared incompatible, merely untracked; the rules box tells you what any candidate must satisfy. Second, a compatibility table is not a QVL: Supermicro validates specific part numbers against specific configurations, and the disclaimer above the table is not boilerplate but the actual final step. Use this page to find the market's honest price for compliant memory; use the vendor's QVL to bless the exact part before a production order.

Who upgrades the H13SSL-N

This board sits at the high-density end of single-socket EPYC builds — 12 channels of DDR5 on one socket is a serious bandwidth allocation, aimed at workloads (virtualization hosts, in-memory databases, AI inference nodes) that want per-core memory bandwidth more than they want a second socket's core count. Buyers here are typically pairing it with a current-generation EPYC CPU rather than repurposing older silicon, given the board's DDR5-only, 9004/9005-only support.

Because board revision gates which CPU generation and which top speed are available, confirm your board's own revision marking before ordering EPYC 9005-class silicon — Supermicro states plainly that 9005 support specifically requires board revision 2.x, not the original 1.x revision this board first shipped in.

Frequently asked questions

What is the maximum RAM for the Supermicro H13SSL-N?

Supermicro's documentation puts the platform maximum at 3TB across 12 DIMM slots, with single modules supported up to 256GB. Reaching the maximum requires the largest supported DIMM in every slot — most real upgrades target far less, which is what the live scenarios above price.

What type of RAM does the H13SSL-N take?

DDR5 RDIMM at 4800 to 6400 MT/s, per Supermicro's documentation. Consumer non-ECC and XMP/EXPO kits are not supported — every module in the table above is a verified ECC server part of the correct type.

Can I mix DIMM sizes or speeds in the H13SSL-N?

The Supermicro documentation we verified does not spell out mixing rules for this platform, so treat identical modules per channel as the rule: mixed configurations at best run at the slowest common speed, and at worst fail population requirements. Check the platform manual for your exact loadout before mixing.

Will faster DDR5 modules work in the H13SSL-N?

Yes — modules rated above 6400 MT/s downclock to the platform's supported speed and run normally, which is why the table marks them "runs at up to 6400 here". Modules rated below 4800 MT/s are excluded from the table because Supermicro does not list them as supported.

How many DIMMs do I need for 512GB in the H13SSL-N?

8× 64GB fills 512GB and leaves 4 of the 12 slots free for later growth. Fewer, larger DIMMs preserve expansion room; more, smaller DIMMs are sometimes cheaper per GB — the live table above lets you price both routes at today's numbers.

Should I buy new or used RAM for the H13SSL-N?

For DDR5 platforms like this one there is effectively no refurbished market yet — the fleets that would feed it are still in service. Buy new, verify the part against Supermicro's QVL, and use each module's 90-day price chart (linked in the table) to time the purchase.

Does the H13SSL-N support LRDIMM or 3DS RDIMM?

Supermicro's own current product specification page lists DIMM sizes only under an "RDIMM" heading, up to 256GB — no LRDIMM or 3DS RDIMM capacity is listed there. We have not sourced the full installation manual to confirm whether either is supported at all, so we are not claiming either way beyond what the spec page states.

All Supermicro platforms
DDR5 modules
Price index
Shortage tracker