SAS/SATA drives and controllers

SAS expander or a 24-port HBA: which does a 24-bay chassis need?

Sources checked · page updated · the question as people ask it: “I have a 24-bay chassis (or more drives than my 8-port HBA has lanes) - should I use an 8-port HBA with a SAS expander (on the backplane or as a card) or buy a 16/24-port HBA, will the expander bottleneck my drives, and how do I tell whether an expander is already there and which drives sit behind it?”

Quick answer

If the backplane already has an expander and the drives are hard disks, an 8-port HBA's two x4 connectors carry them: by our SAS-link arithmetic from Western Digital's and Broadcom's figures, 24 Ultrastar HC550 drives at full sustained rate total 6,456 MB/s, more than one 12Gb/s x4 uplink (4,800 MB/s each way) but less than two, so cable both (we read no 8-port card's PCIe rating). A 16- or 24-lane card is the right buy when the backplane is direct-attach, with one host lane per bay, or when only one x4 uplink can be cabled, more than eight SATA SSDs sit behind it, and they can be cabled to the card without the expander; with two uplinks cabled, a wider card's own PCIe 3.0 x8 rating (shared by the three cards whose Broadcom guides we read) sits below what the two uplinks carry, so it raises the ceiling only if your 8-port card's host link is slower. Check before you buy: an entry under /sys/class/sas_expander means Linux has registered an expander, and smp_discover shows which drives hang off which of its phys.

What are you seeing?

Pick the closest symptom to open the matching diagnostic path. This is a guide to what to check and in what order; it does not read your system and does not diagnose it.

Find out whether an expander is already in the chassis
  1. 1.Ask the kernel. The mpt3sas driver used by LSI/Broadcom HBAs selects the SAS transport class, and that class registers every expander it finds under /sys/class/sas_expander.
    ls /sys/class/sas_expander/ && for e in /sys/class/sas_expander/expander-*; do echo "$e $(cat $e/vendor_id) $(cat $e/product_id) $(cat $e/product_rev)"; done
    ReadingEach expander-<host>:<n> line is one registered expander: vendor_id and product_id name the chip or backplane, product_rev is the revision string the device reports, which need not match a vendor's release numbering. An empty directory means no expander is registered, so the drives are direct-attached or the controller's driver does not use this class.
  2. 2.List every SCSI device with its transport address and sg name. The lsscsi man page states that for SATA disks attached to a SAS expander, the expander provides the SAS address.
    lsscsi -t -g
    ReadingA SATA drive behind an expander carries a sas: address the expander manufactured; a SATA drive cabled straight to the HBA has what the man page calls an indeterminate SAS address. A device of peripheral type 0xd is an SES enclosure: note its /dev/sgN for sg_ses below. The kernel's libsas code names such a drive an 'STP/SATA domain device', which is indirect evidence of tunnelling only; we found no T10 or SNIA document on STP, so this page says no more than that the expander carries the SATA traffic using STP.
  3. 3.Map drives to expander phys. smp_discover sends SMP DISCOVER requests to an SMP target, typically an expander, and --multiple loops over its phys. Put your expander's SMP device in place of <SMP_DEVICE>: the smp_discover man page identifies the target by device and SAS address and shows no example path, so we print none. If your SMP_DEVICE identifies the HBA rather than the expander, add --sa=<expander SAS address> (in hex with a 0x prefix), as the man page describes. The kernel's libsas documentation describes an smp_portal file in each expander's sysfs directory that 'gives you complete control of the expander', but that applies to libsas-based drivers, and mpt3sas does not select libsas.
    smp_discover --multiple --brief <SMP_DEVICE>
    ReadingOne line per attached phy: the phy number, the attached SAS address, the protocol in t(...) (SATA, SSP) or exp for another expander, and the negotiated rate in Gbps, as in the man page's example 'phy 11:T:attached:[500605b000000afb:00 t(SATA)] 1.5 Gbps'. --brief drops phys with nothing attached.
  4. 4.If lsscsi showed an enclosure device, read it slot by slot.
    sg_ses --join /dev/sgN
    ReadingJoins the element descriptors, enclosure status and Additional Element Status pages, so each slot shows its status and the SAS address attached to it. This form only reads; sg_ses --set and --clear change enclosure state such as LEDs and have no place in diagnosis. An enclosure on its own is not proof of an expander: StorCLI documents enclosure detection on backplanes with no SES or expander, through SGPIO or an I2C SEP.
  5. 5.On an LSI HBA with IT or IR firmware, ask the card for its device table. Use sas2ircu on SAS2 cards.
    sas3ircu list && sas3ircu 0 display
    ReadingThe 'Enclosure information' section gives Enclosure#, Logical ID, Numslots and StartSlot; each drive block gives Enclosure #, Slot #, SAS Address, State, Protocol (SAS or SATA) and Drive Type. Broadcom's own sample shows an enclosure with eight slots on a SAS3008, an eight-port chip, so an Enclosure entry does not settle the question: decide on the sysfs and smp_discover results.
  6. 6.On a MegaRAID controller, list the enclosures it sees instead. StorCLI's exposeencldevice property decides whether the driver exposes enclosure devices, expanders included, to the operating system.
    storcli /c0/eall show all
    ReadingGeneral information, inquiry data and element counts for each enclosure. Drives behind an enclosure are addressed /c0/eE/sS; directly attached drives are /c0/sS.
  7. 7.Read the backplane's part number and open its manual. Supermicro's BPN-SAS3-846EL1 has one expander that reaches all 24 bays from host connectors J49 and J50, and its 12V_LED2 is the expander heartbeat: blinking is normal, steady on or off is not. The direct-attach BPN-SAS3-826A instead has three Mini SAS HD connectors of four ports each, one per bay. On the dual-expander 846EL2, each dual-port SAS drive is reachable through both expanders; the SAS drive not-detected page linked below covers that case.
Work out whether the uplink or the PCIe slot sets the limit
  1. 1.Count the lanes between card and expander. Broadcom's 12Gb/s HBA guides give 1200 MB/s per lane in each direction, and one SFF-8643 connector is one x4 wide port: 4,800 MB/s each way, or 9,600 MB/s counting both directions in the 9300-16i guide's full-duplex row. An 8-port HBA with two x4 connectors can therefore run at most two uplinks.
  2. 2.Read the rate every phy negotiated, on the HBA and on the expander.
    grep -H . /sys/class/sas_phy/*/negotiated_linkrate
    Readingphy-<host>:<n> entries belong to the HBA and phy-<host>:<n>:<m> entries to an expander. Values read 1.5, 3.0, 6.0 or 12.0 Gbit. A SATA drive cabled straight to the HBA cannot show more than 6.0 Gbit, because these HBAs run SATA links at 3 or 6Gb/s only. For a SATA drive behind an expander, the cap is the drive's own interface: Western Digital's HC550 data sheet, for example, gives SATA 6Gb/s, 600 MB/s.
  3. 3.Add up what the drives can stream. Our arithmetic, from Western Digital's HC550 data sheet and Broadcom's guides: 24 Ultrastar DC HC550 18TB drives at their 269 MB/s maximum sustained rate total 6,456 MB/s, more than one x4 uplink (4,800 MB/s each way) and less than two (9,600 MB/s). WD's figure is a maximum 'based on internal testing', other drives differ, and no source we read says how often every drive in a NAS streams at once. So this is the all-drives-at-full-speed case: with two uplinks it fits inside the SAS links, with one it does not.
  4. 4.Compare the total with the slot. Broadcom rates the PCIe 3.0 x8 host link of the 9300-16i, 9305-16i and 9305-24i at up to 64Gb/s in one direction, which is 8,000 MB/s by plain unit conversion; the guides we read give no usable-throughput figure after protocol overhead. With two uplinks cabled, a card with that rating hits its slot before its SAS links, and a card with more ports does not widen that limit. No 9300-8i user guide was read for this page, so we do not attribute the PCIe figure to that card.
  5. 5.Redo the sum for SATA SSDs. At the 600 MB/s SATA interface maximum, 8 SATA SSDs fill one x4 uplink and 16 fill two (our arithmetic). With two uplinks cabled, a wider card's own PCIe 3.0 x8 rating in the step above (8,000 MB/s) is below the two uplinks' 9,600 MB/s, so a wider card helps an SSD array only when one uplink is all that can be cabled and the SSDs can bypass the expander, or when your 8-port card's host link is slower than that rating; we read no 8-port card's rating. 600 MB/s is an interface ceiling, not a measured SSD speed. The sum adds data rates: we found no Broadcom, Intel or Microchip document stating how a 12Gb/s expander uplink carries 6Gb/s or 3Gb/s SATA links, and none on mixing 3Gb/s and 6Gb/s SATA drives behind one expander, so this page makes no claim either way about how the expander matches those rates.
Drives drop out or log errors behind the expander
  1. 1.Read every phy's error counters while the array is under load, a scrub for example, then read them again a few minutes later.
    grep -H . /sys/class/sas_phy/*/invalid_dword_count /sys/class/sas_phy/*/loss_of_dword_sync_count /sys/class/sas_phy/*/running_disparity_error_count /sys/class/sas_phy/*/phy_reset_problem_count
    ReadingThe kernel keeps these four counters for each phy, the expander's included. A count that keeps climbing on one phy while the rest hold still points at that link: its cable, its backplane slot or the drive on it. The kernel sets no threshold, so compare phys with each other rather than judging one number.
  2. 2.On a MegaRAID controller, look at the controller's own phys.
    storcli /c0/pall show all
    ReadingPHY layer information for every controller phy: which ones have a link and at what rate.
  3. 3.Separate the expander from everything else, using what forum posters tried as a guide rather than as a diagnosis. On ServeTheHome, Event ID 153 timeouts hit only the drives behind an Intel RES2SV240 and stopped once the IBM M1015 HBA itself was replaced. On Level1Techs, UDMA CRC errors across about 20 SATA disks behind an AEC-82885T stopped when they were cabled straight to the 9500-16i with a breakout; the same disks had also run clean on a 9300 with no expander. Another poster swapped a 9300-8i and RES2SV240 that randomly dropped drives for a 9300-16i. A wider card is not a sure cure: in another ServeTheHome thread, a poster with drops behind an Intel RES3TV360 ordered a 9305-24i to run without expanders and still saw drives drop under load, and no root cause was confirmed. These are reports, not documented causes. The common test is to move a few affected drives onto direct HBA lanes and load them again.
  4. 4.Check firmware at both ends, and treat any change as a trial. The expander chip runs its own firmware, which StorCLI can update from a MegaRAID controller, and posters in these threads tried both expander and HBA firmware changes; in the 82885T thread the expander could not be updated because maxView did not see it on the 9500. We found no Broadcom, Intel or Microchip compatibility matrix between HBA firmware and expander firmware.
  5. 5.On a MegaRAID controller you can force one phy's speed to test a suspect link. This writes the controller's configuration, and we have not found a Broadcom statement of what a forced change does to I/O in flight on that phy, so treat it as a step that can lose data: stop I/O to the drives on that phy and record its current setting before you run it. StorCLI is built for the MegaRAID line; it is not the tool for an IT-mode HBA.
    Destructive. This command destroys what is on the device and cannot be undone. Confirm the device path twice and have a backup of anything you still need before running it.
    storcli /c0/pN set linkspeed=6
    ReadingForces phy N to 6Gb/s (StorCLI accepts 0 for auto, 1.5, 3, 6 or 12). Use it only as a deliberate test of one link, then set the phy back to the value you recorded (0 is auto).
Decide between the expander and a wider card
  1. 1.A direct-attach backplane needs one HBA lane per bay. Supermicro's 12-bay BPN-SAS3-826A gives each bay its own port on three four-port connectors, so a 24-bay direct-attach chassis needs 24 lanes; that multiplication is ours, from the 12-bay manual, because the 24-bay direct-attach manual we tried was the wrong URL. Broadcom's 9305-24i provides 24 lanes on six SFF-8643 connectors.
  2. 2.An expander backplane already does the fan-out. Supermicro lists cables to the BPN-SAS3-846EL from both SAS2 (SFF-8087) and SAS3 (SFF-8643) HBAs, so an 8-port HBA with two x4 connectors can serve all 24 bays. The 846EL manual we read does not state the lane width of J49 and J50; that each is x4 is our reading of its SFF-8643 cable list and Broadcom's 'internal x4' connector wording. Extra lanes on a card only help if there are host connectors to cable them to.
  3. 3.If you do go wider, know which card is which. The 9300-16i is two 8-port SAS3008 controllers behind a PCIe switch, 26.9 W nominal; the 9305-16i and 9305-24i are single-controller cards at 16.2 W typical, and posters in three threads weighed exactly that difference. The 9305 guides contradict themselves: sections 1.1 to 1.3 name the SAS 3216 (16i) and SAS 3224 (24i) while section 1.8 names the SAS 3324; the features lists say sixteen and twenty-four x4 connectors while the 24i's installation step says six SFF-8643 connectors; and the 16i guide's text maps ports 0-7 to Core 1 and 8-15 to Core 0 while its Table 2 shows Core 0 and Core 2. We go by card names, not chip names.
  4. 4.A standalone expander card (Intel RES2SV240 or RES3TV360, Adaptec AEC-82885T) is the other route people take; a TrueNAS forum regular advising a 24-drive build named a 9305-24i or, by preference, a 9207/9300-8i with an expander. We found no Intel or Microchip document for these expanders, so this page states no port split, power draw or rate for them. Forum posters say the 82885T uses its PCIe slot only for power and can run from Molex, and one owner of a 36-port Intel unit found only 24 of its ports usable for drives. We track no standalone expander listing.

Causes, how to confirm each, and whether hardware fixes it

CauseHow to confirmFixHardware?
The backplane is direct-attach, one lane per bay, and the HBA has only eight lanes, so only eight bays can have a link./sys/class/sas_expander is empty, and the backplane manual shows one connector per four bays, as on the BPN-SAS3-826A.Give every bay a lane: a card with as many lanes as there are cabled bays (the 9305-24i has 24), or a backplane with an expander.Yes
Only one x4 uplink is cabled to an expander backplane serving many hard disks.One cable runs from the HBA to the backplane's host connectors, and the summed maximum sustained rate of the drives exceeds 4,800 MB/s (24 HC550s total 6,456 MB/s by our arithmetic).Cable the HBA's second x4 connector to the backplane's second host connector. That takes one more cable (SFF-8643 both ends from a SAS3 HBA, SFF-8087 to SFF-8643 from a SAS2 HBA), not a new card.No
Only one x4 uplink can be cabled to the expander, and more than eight SATA SSDs sit behind it.A single cable runs from the HBA to the expander and more than 8 SATA SSDs share it: at the 600 MB/s SATA interface maximum, 8 fill one x4 uplink's 4,800 MB/s (our arithmetic; an interface ceiling, not a measured speed). With two uplinks cabled this cause does not apply; see the PCIe slot cause below.Move the SSDs off the expander onto direct HBA lanes with a 16- or 24-lane card. That needs bays you can cable without the expander, such as a direct-attach backplane or a breakout cable from the card: a wider card cabled to the same single expander port is still limited to that one x4 port. Done that way, the ceiling rises from one uplink's 4,800 MB/s to the card's PCIe 3.0 x8 rating, 8,000 MB/s by plain conversion for the three cards whose Broadcom guides we read, and no higher.Yes
The PCIe 3.0 x8 slot, not the SAS links, is the ceiling.Two uplinks are cabled, the HBA's own documentation gives it a PCIe 3.0 x8 host link, and the drives' summed rate approaches 8,000 MB/s, the plain conversion of the 64Gb/s one-direction rating Broadcom gives the 9300-16i, 9305-16i and 9305-24i.A wider card does not raise it: the three cards whose Broadcom guides we read (9300-16i, 9305-16i, 9305-24i) share one PCIe 3.0 x8 rating; we read no 9400-16i guide, so we state no PCIe figure for it. Know the ceiling before paying for ports.No
A link behind the expander, or the HBA, is faulty and drives drop under load.Error counters in /sys/class/sas_phy climb on particular phys during a scrub, and the same drives run clean when moved to direct HBA lanes.Reseat or replace that cable or move the drive to another slot. In the forum reports, replacing the HBA or cabling the drives direct ended the errors, but in another, drops continued after a move to a 9305-24i. Firmware changes are a trial, with no compatibility matrix we could find.No
If the backplane is direct-attach or one uplink feeds many SSDs: 16-lane SAS cards

A direct-attach backplane needs one HBA lane per bay, and when only one x4 uplink can be cabled, more than eight SATA SSDs behind the expander exceed it, which a wider card fixes only if the SSDs can be cabled to it without the expander; these are the two cases a wider card fixes. With two uplinks cabled, the PCIe 3.0 x8 rating shared by the three cards whose Broadcom guides we read (9300-16i, 9305-16i, 9305-24i), 8,000 MB/s by plain conversion, is below the two uplinks' 9,600 MB/s, so a wider card raises an SSD array's ceiling there only if your current card's host link is slower; we read no 8-port card's PCIe rating. The list matches SAS controllers whose model ends -16i or -24i; that suffix is our matching rule, and Broadcom's guides state 16 lanes for the 9300-16i and 9305-16i and 24 for the 9305-24i. We store no port-count, PCIe-generation or firmware-mode field, so Dell PERC, HBA330 and HPE H240 rows, which carry no suffix, are left out rather than guessed. We track no -24i card and no standalone expander today. Read the label on each row: the 9300-16i is two SAS3008 chips behind a PCIe switch at 26.9 W nominal, the 9305-16i a single controller at 16.2 W typical, and the 9400-16i appears only because its name fits our rule; we read no 9400-16i guide, so we state no PCIe figure for it. Check each listing's condition and whether it is a third-party 'compatible' card.

When not to buy: Do not buy a wider card when the drives are hard disks whose summed sustained rate sits under the one or two x4 uplinks you can cable, and the expander backplane already reaches every bay: the 8-port HBA you have carries them on its SAS links, and the arithmetic asks for a second cable at most. Nor when two uplinks are cabled and your current card already has a PCIe 3.0 x8 host link: the three cards whose Broadcom guides we read (9300-16i, 9305-16i, 9305-24i) share one PCIe 3.0 x8 rating, and we read no 9400-16i guide, so we state no PCIe figure for it. In one of the drop-out threads above the fault was the HBA itself, and in another the drops continued after a move to a 9305-24i, so run the counter checks in path p3 before buying.

Every row below meets: SAS HBA/controller (interface stored as SAS) · Our matching rule: model ends -16i (Broadcom's guides state 16 lanes for the 9300-16i and 9305-16i) · Our matching rule: model ends -24i (Broadcom's 9305-24i guide states 24 lanes). A listing whose field is not stated is excluded from a required criterion and marked “not stated” on an optional one; nothing is assumed. What the catalogue cannot evaluate: stored port count; PCIe generation of the card; IT vs IR/RAID firmware mode; standalone SAS expander card; whether the reader's backplane already has an expander; 24-lane card in stock. Check these on the maker's data sheet.
Product · part numberCap.Interface · form · ratingConditionPrice$/TBBuy
lsi-9300-16i
Gugxiom LSI SAS 9300-16I HBA Card, 16 Port 12Gbps HBA Controller · details
—SAS · PCIeREFURB / USED Amazon: Used / LikeNew · sold by Amazon Resale · seller's note on the listing$64.03—Buy on Amazon
lsi-9300-16i
LSI SAS 9300-16I 12GB/S SATA+SAS HBA Host Bus Adapter Card 03-25600-01B LSI00447 · details
—SAS · PCIeNEW Amazon: New / Unknown · sold by CorteseInc$72.00—Buy on Amazon
lsi-9300-16i
LSI 9300-16i 16-Port 12Gb/s SAS Controller HBA Card with P16 IT Mode for ZFS TrueNAS unRAID · details
—SAS · PCIeNEW Amazon: New / Unknown · sold by Zurjy$79.99—Buy on Amazon
lsi-9300-16i
LSI HBA Raid Controllers, LSI SAS 9300 16I HBA Card 12Gbps 16 SATA SAS Port HBA Controller Card for for Linux for VMware for Freebsd · details
—SAS · PCIeNEW Amazon: New / Unknown · sold by Xinxakk$101.38—Buy on Amazon
Broadcom lsi 9305 16i
BROADCOM 05-25703-00 8 Channel SAS 9305-16i Storage Controller - Multi-Colour · details
—SAS · PCIeNEW Amazon: New / Unknown · sold by SCSI4ME$115.00—Buy on Amazon
lsi-9400-16i
SAS HBA Card Compatible with LSI 9400-16i IT Mode PCIe SATA Expansion Card, 16-Port 12Gbps PCIe 3.1, SAS Expander Support, SATA HBA Controller with 4X SFF-8643 Internal for ZFS TrueNAS unRAID NAS · details
—SAS · PCIeNEW Amazon: New / Unknown · sold by HLD network card$139.90—Buy on Amazon
Broadcom lsi 9400 16i
Broadcom HBA 9400-16i - Storage Controller - 16 Channel - SATA 6Gb/s/SAS 12Gb/s Low Profile - 1.2 GBps - PCIe 3.1 x8 (05-50008-00) · details
—SAS · PCIeNEW Amazon: New / Unknown · sold by CorteseInc$188.00—Buy on Amazon
lsi-9305-16i
SAS HBA Card Compatible with LSI 9305-16i IT Mode 16-Port with SAS Cables · details
—SAS · PCIeNEW Amazon: New / Unknown · sold by LANPAN$219.00—Buy on Amazon
lsi-9305-16i
SAS HBA Card Compatible with LSI 9305-16i IT Mode 16-Port with SAS Cables · details
—SAS · PCIeNEW Amazon: New / Unknown · sold by LANPAN$229.00—Buy on Amazon
Tracked, currently unavailable
  • lsi-9305-16i Generic 9305-16i HBA Card, 16-Port 12Gbps PCIe 3.0 x8 SAS/SATA Host Bus Adapter, IT Mode Storage Controller Card Compatible with LSI 9305-16i 05-25703-00 · — · no in-stock offer, so no price is shown
  • lsi-9400-16i SAS HBA Card Compatible with LSI 9400-16i IT Mode PCIe SATA Expansion Card · — · no in-stock offer, so no price is shown

Prices are Amazon US, re-checked about once a day; newest price in this table . A click here is a click, not a purchase; we earn a commission on qualifying purchases. The table shows what the catalogue holds against the criteria, not an endorsement of any model for your server.

Read next on this site

Frequently asked questions

Does one cable from the HBA reach all 24 bays on an expander backplane?

The BPN-SAS3-846EL manual we read lists two host connectors for the expander (J49 and J50) and calls its ports bidirectional, but does not say whether one or both must be cabled. A Level1Techs reply describes expanders as working like network switches: one uplink reaches every downstream port and a second adds bandwidth and redundancy. That is a forum explanation, not a specification; the bandwidth sums on this page show when the second cable matters.

Can I build a wider uplink from ports on different 9305-24i connectors?

Only within one core. Broadcom's 9305-24i guide manages its 24 PHYs in three groups of eight (ports 0-7, 8-15 and 16-23) and states: 'A single wide port cannot combine individual ports or PHYs sourced by different SAS cores.'

Does a 6Gb/s SATA drive waste part of a 12Gb/s uplink?

We found no Broadcom, Intel or Microchip document that answers it, so we do not say either way. The nearest thing we read is Linux's libsas code, which logs and lowers a SATA device's link rate behind an expander when it exceeds the 'min pathway connection rate'; LSI/Broadcom HBAs use the mpt3sas driver, which uses the SAS transport class rather than libsas, so that behaviour is not theirs.

Will a 36-port SAS3 expander take 32 drives?

We found no Intel document for the RES3TV360, so we cannot state its port split. On Level1Techs, an owner who bought these expanders expecting up to 32 drives reported that Intel's guide reserves three x4 ports for HBAs, and a MegaRAID 9361-4i showed 28 slots of which four were the uplink, leaving 24 for drives. Why was not resolved in the thread.

Sources

Every technical statement above rests on one of these documents, each read on the date shown. Where a document did not state something, the page says so rather than filling the gap.

  1. LSI SAS 9300-16i PCI Express to 12Gb/s SAS Host Bus Adapter User Guide, Version 1.1, August 2014 (DB15-001137-01) · checked
  2. SAS 9305-16i PCI Express to 12Gb/s SAS Host Bus Adapter User Guide, Version 1.1, June 17, 2016 (pub-005245) · checked
  3. SAS 9305-24i PCI Express to 12Gb/s SAS Host Bus Adapter User Guide, Version 1.1, June 17, 2016 (pub-005246) · checked
  4. BPN-SAS3-846EL Backplane User's Guide, Rev. 1.0a, April 2, 2021 · checked
  5. BPN-SAS3-826A Backplane User's Guide, Rev. 1.0a, November 19, 2015 · checked
  6. Ultrastar DC HC550 Data Center HDD data sheet, May 2023 · checked
  7. lsscsi(8) · checked
  8. sg_ses(8) · checked
  9. smp_discover(8) · checked
  10. SAS transport class: expander and phy objects (drivers/scsi/scsi_transport_sas.c) · checked
  11. config SCSI_MPT3SAS (drivers/scsi/mpt3sas/Kconfig) · checked
  12. libsas SATA support (drivers/scsi/libsas/sas_ata.c) · checked
  13. SAS Layer (libsas) - Expander management from User Space · checked
  14. 12Gb/s SAS Integrated RAID Configuration Utility (SAS3IRCU) User Guide, Version 1.2, September 25, 2015 (DB15-000986-02) · checked
  15. StorCLI Reference Manual, 53419-00 Rev. F, January 2013 · checked

Where people hit this

Discussions we opened and read while researching this page. They are evidence that the problem occurs and of what people tried; no specification above is sourced to a forum post.

Other sas/sata drives and controllers problems

Share:WhatsAppFacebookPost on X