WD My Passport Prices - Every Capacity, Live

32 in-stock listings ·
Quick answer

My Passport is Western Digital's mainstream portable line and probably the most widely sold external drive family in the world. It is a 2.5-inch bus-powered drive in a pocketable case, sold in more colours and sub-variants than any other line we track.

WD My Passport - every capacity in stock

32 in-stock listings · ranked by cost per terabyte

Best cost per terabyte here right now: WD My Passport 6TB Portable HDD at $39.65/TB ($238 for 6TB, portable hdd, used listing). The drive inside it is not disclosed by the maker.

ModelCapacityFamilyMarket ValueHistorical ValueInterfaceInsideWarrantyCondition$/TBPriceBuy/View Price
WD My Passport 6TB Portable HDD6TBPortable HDDExcellentFAIR PRICEUSB 3.1NOT DISCLOSEDUSED$39.65$238Buy/View Price
WD My Passport 5TB Portable HDD5TBPortable HDDExcellentFAIR PRICEUSB 3.1NOT DISCLOSEDUSED$40.00$200Buy/View Price
WD My Passport 5TB Portable HDD5TBPortable HDDExcellentFAIR PRICEUSB 3.1NOT DISCLOSEDUSED$42.16$211Buy/View Price
WD My Passport 6TB Portable HDD6TBPortable HDDExcellentGREAT PRICEUSB 3.1NOT DISCLOSEDNEW$43.99$264Buy/View Price
WD My Passport 4TB Portable HDD4TBPortable HDDGoodFAIR PRICEUSB 3.1NOT DISCLOSEDUSED$44.68$179Buy/View Price
WD My Passport 5TB Portable HDD5TBPortable HDDGoodGREAT PRICEUSB 3.1NOT DISCLOSEDNEW$51.80$259Buy/View Price
WD My Passport 5TB Portable HDD5TBPortable HDDAverageHIGH PRICEUSB 3.1 NOT DISCLOSEDUSED$53.98$270Buy/View Price
WD My Passport 6TB Portable HDD6TBPortable HDDGoodGREAT PRICEUSB 3.1NOT DISCLOSEDNEW$55.00$330Buy/View Price
WD My Passport 6TB Portable HDD6TBPortable HDDGoodGREAT PRICEUSB 3.1NOT DISCLOSEDNEW$55.01$330Buy/View Price
WD My Passport 6TB Portable HDD6TBPortable HDDGoodFAIR PRICEUSB-CNOT DISCLOSEDNEW$55.50$333Buy/View Price
WD My Passport 5TB Portable HDD5TBPortable HDDAverageHIGH PRICEUSB 3.1 NOT DISCLOSEDUSED$56.00$280Buy/View Price
WD My Passport 5TB Portable HDD5TBPortable HDDGoodFAIR PRICEUSB 3.1 NOT DISCLOSEDNEW$57.40$287Buy/View Price
WD My Passport 2TB Portable HDD2TBPortable HDDAverageGOOD PRICEUSB 3.1NOT DISCLOSEDUSED$57.64$115Buy/View Price
WD My Passport 5TB Portable HDD5TBPortable HDDAverageGREAT PRICEUSB 3.1 NOT DISCLOSEDNEW$58.19$291Buy/View Price
WD My Passport 2TB Portable HDD2TBPortable HDDAverageGOOD PRICEUSB 3.1 NOT DISCLOSEDUSED$58.28$117Buy/View Price
WD My Passport 6TB Portable HDD6TBPortable HDDAverageGOOD PRICEUSB 3.1 NOT DISCLOSEDNEW$60.16$361Buy/View Price
WD My Passport 4TB Portable HDD4TBPortable HDDAverageGREAT PRICEUSB 3.1 NOT DISCLOSEDNEW$61.87$247Buy/View Price
WD My Passport 2TB Portable HDD2TBPortable HDDAverageGREAT PRICEUSB 3.1NOT DISCLOSEDUSED$62.06$124Buy/View Price
WD My Passport 4TB Portable HDD4TBPortable HDDAverageGREAT PRICEUSB-CNOT DISCLOSEDNEW$64.75$259Buy/View Price
WD My Passport 2TB Portable HDD2TBPortable HDDAverageGREAT PRICEUSB 3.1NOT DISCLOSEDNEW$65.50$131Buy/View Price
WD My Passport 5TB Portable HDD5TBPortable HDDAverageFAIR PRICEUSB 3.1NOT DISCLOSEDNEW$66.80$334Buy/View Price
WD My Passport 2TB Portable HDD2TBPortable HDDExpensiveFAIR PRICEUSB 3.1NOT DISCLOSEDUSED$74.69$149Buy/View Price
WD My Passport 2TB Portable HDD2TBPortable HDDExpensiveGREAT PRICEUSB 3.1NOT DISCLOSEDNEW$79.97$160Buy/View Price
WD My Passport 2TB Portable HDD2TBPortable HDDExpensiveFAIR PRICEUSB 3.1NOT DISCLOSEDNEW$87.50$175Buy/View Price
WD My Passport 1TB Portable HDD1TBPortable HDDExpensiveGOOD PRICEUSB 3.1NOT DISCLOSEDUSED$89.46$89Buy/View Price
WD My Passport 2TB Portable HDD2TBPortable HDDExpensiveGOOD PRICEUSB 3.1 NOT DISCLOSEDNEW$90.00$180Buy/View Price
WD My Passport 1TB Portable SSD1TBPortable SSDGREAT PRICEUSBNOT DISCLOSEDUSED$129.99$130Buy/View Price
WD My Passport 1TB Portable HDD1TBPortable HDDExpensiveGOOD PRICEUSB 3.1NOT DISCLOSEDNEW$134.99$135Buy/View Price
WD My Passport 2TB Portable SSD2TBPortable SSDExcellentGREAT PRICEUSBNOT DISCLOSEDNEW$150.00$300Buy/View Price
WD My Passport 4TB Portable SSD4TBPortable SSDGoodGREAT PRICEUSB 3.2 NOT DISCLOSEDNEW$175.00$700Buy/View Price
WD My Passport 1TB Portable SSD1TBPortable SSDAverageGREAT PRICEUSBNOT DISCLOSEDNEW$199.99$200Buy/View Price
WD My Passport 1TB Portable SSD1TBPortable SSDAverageGREAT PRICEUSBNOT DISCLOSEDNEW$209.13$209Buy/View Price

Market Value compares current listings in the same external-drive family and condition. Historical Value uses stored observations for the exact product condition in the background. “Inside” is not disclosed by any maker for these products and the contents vary by batch, so we state that rather than guessing — see what the community has found by opening them. Warranty shows a dash because the makers' warranty pages did not resolve through our source-verification path; read the term on the maker's page for the exact model. Interface is the maker's own specification string, not a speed measurement.

One name, several genuinely different products

My Passport is the hardest line in this cluster to read from a listing title, because Western Digital has attached the name to several products that differ in ways that matter. The base My Passport is a 2.5-inch mechanical drive. My Passport Ultra is the same idea in a metal case with USB-C. My Passport for Mac is the same hardware formatted differently out of the box. My Passport SSD is not a mechanical drive at all — it is flash, in a different case, at several times the cost per terabyte.

The table below separates them by family, and the cost-per-terabyte column makes the mechanical-versus-flash split obvious the moment you sort on it. If a My Passport listing looks unusually expensive per terabyte, check whether it is the SSD variant before concluding the seller is optimistic.

The 'for Mac' distinction is the one that trips people most, and it is smaller than it looks. A My Passport for Mac is a My Passport formatted for macOS at the factory, usually with a USB-C cable in the box. Any My Passport can be reformatted for any operating system in about a minute, so the Mac variant is a convenience rather than a compatibility requirement. Our Mac guidance covers the formats and what each one costs you.

Because it is bus-powered, the capacity ceiling here is a physical constraint rather than a market one. The largest 2.5-inch mechanical drives are considerably smaller than the largest 3.5-inch ones, so if you need capacity above what this table shows, the answer is a desktop unit like My Book and a power socket.

What the maker does not tell you about this line

Western Digital does not publish which drive is inside a My Passport, and the portable line has an additional wrinkle worth knowing about: a significant portion of 2.5-inch external drives use a controller integrated onto the drive's own board with a USB connector directly on it, rather than a SATA drive plus a bridge chip.

The practical consequence is that shucking a portable is a different proposition from shucking a desktop unit. Where the USB connector is native to the drive board, there is no SATA drive inside to remove — what comes out is a drive you can only connect over USB, which defeats most of the reasons for opening it. Community reports document this across various portable models and it varies by model and batch, like everything else in this category.

So the shucking calculus that makes Elements Desktop interesting does not transfer here, and treating portable and desktop externals as the same purchase is the mistake to avoid. Our shucking guide covers what the community reports for both.

As everywhere else in this cluster, the recording column reads 'not disclosed'. For a drive being used as a portable drive that is genuinely academic — the workload is occasional writes and reads of a bag-carried drive, which is exactly what these products are built around.

Share:WhatsAppFacebookPost on X

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between My Passport, Ultra and for Mac?

Base My Passport is a 2.5-inch mechanical drive in a plastic case. Ultra is the same idea in metal with USB-C. For Mac is the same hardware formatted for macOS at the factory with a USB-C cable. My Passport SSD is a different product entirely — flash rather than mechanical, at several times the cost per terabyte. The family and $/TB columns separate them.

Do I need the 'for Mac' version for a Mac?

No. It is a My Passport formatted for macOS out of the box, usually with a USB-C cable included. Any My Passport reformats for any operating system in about a minute. Buy whichever is cheaper per terabyte and reformat — our Mac guidance covers APFS versus exFAT and what each one costs you.

Can I shuck a My Passport?

Usually not usefully. Many 2.5-inch externals put the USB connector directly on the drive's own board rather than using a SATA drive plus a bridge, so what comes out is a drive that only connects over USB. That varies by model and batch like everything else here. The shucking case is built around desktop units such as Elements, not portables.

Why does My Passport top out at a lower capacity than My Book?

Because it is bus-powered and 2.5-inch. The largest 2.5-inch mechanical drives are physically smaller than the largest 3.5-inch ones, so the ceiling is a hardware constraint rather than a market one. If you need more capacity, a desktop unit with its own power adapter is the answer.

Is My Passport SSD worth the extra?

It is a different product rather than a faster version of the same one, and the tables show today's exact gap per terabyte. What the premium buys is stated as design facts rather than speed claims: no moving parts to survive a drop, less size and weight, no spin-up delay. Our portable SSD versus external HDD comparison works through the decision on live numbers.

What warranty does My Passport carry?

The column shows a dash because Western Digital's warranty pages did not resolve through our source-verification path. Read the term on WD's own page for the exact model — the periods do genuinely differ across the portable variants.

Sources

Specification claims on this page were checked against the pages below on 4 August 2026. Where a widely-repeated figure did not survive that check, we report what the source says now and say so in the text rather than repeating the familiar number.

  1. DatacenterDisk Research - Live external drive price and stock database (DatacenterDisk.com, Live)
    Used for: every price, $/TB figure, stock state, condition badge, family classification and price-history range on these pages, plus the external-versus-bare-drive comparison and the shuck arithmetic, all computed from our own tracking of Amazon US listings
  2. Western Digital - WD Elements, My Book and My Passport product pages (WesternDigital.com, 2026)
    Used for: series positioning and USB interface designations. These pages do NOT state which bare drive is inside any enclosure, which is why our recording-technology column reads 'not disclosed' rather than naming one. Warranty terms did not resolve through our fetch path, so that column is a dash
  3. Seagate Technology - Seagate Expansion and One Touch product pages (Seagate.com, 2026)
    Used for: series positioning and USB interface designations. As with WD, Seagate does not publish the drive inside an external enclosure. Warranty terms did not resolve through our fetch path
  4. Samsung Electronics - Portable SSD T7 Shield product page (Samsung.com, 2026)
    Used for: USB 3.2 Gen 2 interface designation for the T7 Shield line, quoted as the maker's own specification string and not interpreted into a speed claim
  5. DatacenterDisk Research - Shucking external drives — what the community finds inside (DatacenterDisk.com, 2026)
    Used for: teardown findings, carried as community reports that vary by production batch rather than as manufacturer specifications; the 3.3V power-disable pin issue
  6. DatacenterDisk Research - Where to buy storage safely (DatacenterDisk.com, 2026)
    Used for: channel risk assessment behind the counterfeit and fake-capacity guidance on these pages
  7. Sony Interactive Entertainment - USB extended storage on PS5 consoles (PlayStation.com, 2026)
    Used for: the platform rule that PS5 games cannot be played from USB extended storage and must be copied back to console storage to play, while PS4 games can be installed to and played directly from USB extended storage
  8. Microsoft - Xbox Series X|S FAQ and Storage Expansion Card support (Xbox.com, 2026)
    Used for: the platform rule that a USB 3.1 external drive plays backward-compatible Xbox One, Xbox 360 and original Xbox titles directly, while titles optimized for Xbox Series X|S run from the internal SSD or the Storage Expansion Card
Other series
WD ElementsWD My BookSeagate ExpansionSeagate One TouchLaCie RuggedSamsung T SeriesSanDisk Extreme
All external drives
Three families, live $/TB
External deals
Price-history verdicts
Shucking guide
What is inside, and the 3.3V pin
WD My Passport Prices 2026 - Live by Capacity