WD Elements vs Seagate Expansion - Live Prices

22 drives Β· prices updated every 2 hours Β· last refresh
Quick verdict

These are the same product from the two remaining hard drive manufacturers: a bare enclosure, a drive, a cable, and nothing else. Neither has a durable advantage and neither publishes what is inside. Buy whichever is cheaper per terabyte at the capacity you want today, which is what the live tables below are for.

Share:WhatsAppFacebookPost on X
Value Β· cheapest right now
WD Elements
$32.52/TB
WD WD Elements 10TB Desktop HDD 10TB Β· $325
BuyView specs
Value Β· cheapest right now
Seagate Expansion
$30.19/TB
Seagate Seagate Expansion 24TB Portable HDD 24TB Β· $725
BuyView specs

Live $/TB by capacity

Cheapest in-stock price per capacity, both lines side by side.

CapacityWD Elements $/TBSeagate Expansion $/TBWinner
1TB$101.00$158.91WD Elements
2TB$39.50$81.21WD Elements
4TB$46.15$44.30Seagate Expansion
5TB$35.79β€”β€”
6TB$39.32$38.33Seagate Expansion
8TB$42.59$36.25Seagate Expansion
10TB$32.52$34.00WD Elements
12TBβ€”$36.00β€”
14TB$39.29β€”β€”
16TB$43.56$32.55Seagate Expansion
20TB$37.96$33.50Seagate Expansion
22TBβ€”$31.77β€”
24TB$43.80$30.19Seagate Expansion

Specs side by side

DimensionWD ElementsSeagate Expansion
Position in the maker's rangeBarebones value tier below My Book and My PassportBarebones value tier below One Touch
Bundled softwareNone worth namingNone worth naming
Hardware encryptionNot on the value lineNot on the value line
Formats availableDesktop 3.5in and portable 2.5inDesktop 3.5in and portable 2.5in
Drive inside disclosedNo - and contents vary by batchNo - and contents vary by batch
WarrantyNot retrievable through our source path - read the maker's pageNot retrievable through our source path - read the maker's page
Shucking popularityOne of the two most shucked linesOne of the two most shucked lines
PriceSee the live tables - they trade positionsSee the live tables - they trade positions

Which one should you buy?

Choose WD Elements if

Whoever finds Elements cheaper per terabyte at the capacity they want on the day they buy. There is no other durable reason to prefer it, and pretending otherwise would be inventing a distinction the products do not have.

Choose Seagate Expansion if

Whoever finds Expansion cheaper per terabyte at the capacity they want on the day they buy. Same reasoning, same absence of a tie-breaker beyond price and stock.

WD Elements - in stock, ranked by live $/TB

20 in-stock listings Β· desktop and portable

Best cost per terabyte here right now: WD Elements 10TB Desktop HDD at $32.52/TB ($325 for 10TB, desktop hdd, new listing). The drive inside it is not disclosed by the maker.

ModelCapacityFamilyMarket ValueHistorical ValueInterfaceInsideWarrantyCondition$/TBPriceBuy/View Price
WD Elements 10TB Desktop HDD10TBDesktop HDDExcellentGREAT PRICEUSB 3.0NOT DISCLOSEDβ€”NEW$32.52$325Buy/View Price
WD Elements 20TB Desktop HDD20TBDesktop HDDHIGH PRICEUSB 3.0 NOT DISCLOSEDβ€”USED$37.96$759Buy/View Price
WD Elements 6TB Portable HDD6TBPortable HDDExcellentFAIR PRICEUSB 3.2 GEN 1NOT DISCLOSEDβ€”USED$39.32$236Buy/View Price
WD Elements 8TB Desktop HDD8TBDesktop HDDFAIR PRICEUSB 3.0 NOT DISCLOSEDβ€”USED$42.59$341Buy/View Price
WD Elements 6TB Portable HDD6TBPortable HDDExcellentGREAT PRICEUSB 3.2 GEN 1NOT DISCLOSEDβ€”NEW$43.00$258Buy/View Price
WD Elements 20TB Desktop HDD20TBDesktop HDDExcellentHIGH PRICEUSB 3.0 NOT DISCLOSEDβ€”NEW$43.47$869Buy/View Price
WD Elements 16TB Desktop HDD16TBDesktop HDDExcellentFAIR PRICEUSB 3.0 NOT DISCLOSEDβ€”NEW$43.56$697Buy/View Price
WD Elements 24TB Desktop HDD24TBDesktop HDDGREAT PRICEUSB 3.0NOT DISCLOSEDβ€”NEW$43.80$1051Buy/View Price
WD Elements 14TB Desktop HDD14TBDesktop HDDAverageFAIR PRICEUSB 3.0 NOT DISCLOSEDβ€”NEW$44.29$620Buy/View Price
WD Elements 20TB Desktop HDD20TBDesktop HDDExcellentGOOD PRICEUSB 3.0NOT DISCLOSEDβ€”NEW$45.55$911Buy/View Price
WD Elements 4TB Portable HDD4TBPortable HDDExcellentGREAT PRICEUSB 3.2 GEN 1NOT DISCLOSEDβ€”NEW$46.15$185Buy/View Price
WD Elements 8TB Desktop HDD8TBDesktop HDDAverageGREAT PRICEUSB 3.0 NOT DISCLOSEDβ€”NEW$47.41$379Buy/View Price
WD Elements 2TB Portable HDD2TBPortable HDDAverageGREAT PRICEUSB 3.0NOT DISCLOSEDβ€”USED$55.00$110Buy/View Price
WD Elements 2TB Portable HDD2TBPortable HDDAverageGOOD PRICEUSB 3.2 GEN 1NOT DISCLOSEDβ€”USED$57.00$114Buy/View Price
WD Elements 2TB Portable HDD2TBPortable HDDGoodGOOD PRICEUSBNOT DISCLOSEDβ€”NEW$59.19$118Buy/View Price
WD Elements 2TB Portable HDD2TBPortable HDDAverageGREAT PRICEUSB 3.2 GEN 1NOT DISCLOSEDβ€”NEW$66.95$134Buy/View Price
WD Elements 2TB Portable HDD2TBPortable HDDExpensiveGREAT PRICEUSB 3.0NOT DISCLOSEDβ€”NEW$75.00$150Buy/View Price
WD Elements 2TB Portable HDD2TBPortable HDDExpensiveGREAT PRICEUSB 3.0 NOT DISCLOSEDβ€”USED$77.50$155Buy/View Price
WD Elements 1TB Portable HDD1TBPortable HDDExpensiveFAIR PRICEUSB 3.0 NOT DISCLOSEDβ€”USED$101.00$101Buy/View Price
WD Elements 1TB Portable HDD1TBPortable HDDExpensiveGREAT PRICEUSB 3.0 NOT DISCLOSEDβ€”NEW$119.60$120Buy/View Price

Market Value compares current listings in the same external-drive family and condition. Historical Value uses stored observations for the exact product condition in the background. β€œInside” is not disclosed by any maker for these products and the contents vary by batch, so we state that rather than guessing β€” see what the community has found by opening them. Warranty shows a dash because the makers' warranty pages did not resolve through our source-verification path; read the term on the maker's page for the exact model. Interface is the maker's own specification string, not a speed measurement.

Seagate Expansion - in stock, ranked by live $/TB

9 in-stock listings Β· desktop and portable

Best cost per terabyte here right now: Seagate Expansion 24TB Portable HDD at $30.19/TB ($725 for 24TB, portable hdd, new listing). The drive inside it is not disclosed by the maker.

ModelCapacityFamilyMarket ValueHistorical ValueInterfaceInsideWarrantyCondition$/TBPriceBuy/View Price
Seagate Expansion 24TB Portable HDD24TBPortable HDDFAIR PRICEUSB 3.0NOT DISCLOSEDβ€”NEW$30.19$725Buy/View Price
Seagate Expansion 24TB Portable HDD24TBPortable HDDGREAT PRICEUSB 3.0NOT DISCLOSEDβ€”USED$31.25$750Buy/View Price
Seagate Expansion 22TB Desktop HDD22TBDesktop HDDGREAT PRICEUSB 3.0NOT DISCLOSEDβ€”USED$31.77$699Buy/View Price
Seagate Expansion 16TB Desktop HDD16TBDesktop HDDGOOD PRICEUSB 3.0NOT DISCLOSEDβ€”NEW$32.55$521Buy/View Price
Seagate Expansion 10TB Desktop HDD10TBDesktop HDDGREAT PRICEUSB 3.0NOT DISCLOSEDβ€”NEW$34.00$340Buy/View Price
Seagate Expansion 6TB Portable HDD6TBPortable HDDGOOD PRICEUSB 3.0NOT DISCLOSEDβ€”NEW$38.33$230Buy/View Price
Seagate Expansion 4TB Desktop HDD4TBDesktop HDDFAIR PRICEUSB 3.0NOT DISCLOSEDβ€”NEW$47.50$190Buy/View Price
Seagate Expansion 4TB Desktop HDD4TBDesktop HDDHIGH PRICEUSB 3.0 NOT DISCLOSEDβ€”NEW$48.74$195Buy/View Price
Seagate Expansion 1TB Portable HDD
Priced far above this family's typical rate
1TBPortable HDDHIGH PRICEUSB 3.0 NOT DISCLOSEDβ€”NEW$158.91$159Buy/View Price

Market Value compares current listings in the same external-drive family and condition. Historical Value uses stored observations for the exact product condition in the background. β€œInside” is not disclosed by any maker for these products and the contents vary by batch, so we state that rather than guessing β€” see what the community has found by opening them. Warranty shows a dash because the makers' warranty pages did not resolve through our source-verification path; read the term on the maker's page for the exact model. Interface is the maker's own specification string, not a speed measurement.

Shuck arithmetic - either line vs a bare drive

New listings on both sides. Only capacities where both an external and a bare internal drive are in stock appear at all.

CapacityCheapest externalCheapest bare driveDifferenceVerdict
1TB$110
Seagate One Touch 1TB Portable HDD
$115
BarraCuda 1TB ST1000DM010
βˆ’$5External is cheaper before you open it
2TB$118
WD Elements 2TB Portable HDD
$105
MG03ACA200 2TB SATA Enterprise
+$13Bare drive is cheaper β€” do not shuck
4TB$185
WD Elements 4TB Portable HDD
$160
SkyHawk 4TB ST4000VX016
+$25Bare drive is cheaper β€” do not shuck
6TB$230
Seagate Expansion 6TB Portable HDD
$249
BarraCuda 6TB ST6000DM003
βˆ’$19External is cheaper before you open it
8TB$330
WD My Book 8TB Desktop HDD
$330
IronWolf 8TB NAS ST8000VNZ04
+$0Bare drive is cheaper β€” do not shuck
10TB$325
WD Elements 10TB Desktop HDD
$382
Ultrastar 10TB SATA HUH721010ALN600
βˆ’$57External is cheaper before you open it
14TB$620
WD Elements 14TB Desktop HDD
$500
Ultrastar 14TB SATA WUH721414ALE6L4
+$120Bare drive is cheaper β€” do not shuck
16TB$521
Seagate Expansion 16TB Desktop HDD
$629
IronWolf Pro 16TB NAS ST16000NE000
βˆ’$109External is cheaper before you open it
20TB$869
WD Elements 20TB Desktop HDD
$520
20TB SATA 7200RPM NAS
+$350Bare drive is cheaper β€” do not shuck
22TB$642
WD My Book 22TB Desktop HDD
$650
Exos X22 22TB
βˆ’$8External is cheaper before you open it
24TB$725
Seagate Expansion 24TB Portable HDD
$1060
WD Red Pro 24TB WD241KFGX
βˆ’$335External is cheaper before you open it

A cheaper external is where the case for opening one begins, not where it ends. You do not know which drive is inside before you open it, opening it ends the warranty, and some units use a 3.3V power-disable pin that stops the drive spinning up in a normal desktop. The full shucking guide covers all three.

Two products that are the same product

There are two companies left making hard drives at scale, and both sell a barebones external at the bottom of their range for the same reason: to be the cheapest way to buy a terabyte, and to defend that position against the other one.

The result is convergence so complete that writing a specification comparison is almost dishonest. Both are an enclosure with a drive in it and a USB cable in the box. Neither bundles software worth naming. Neither carries hardware encryption - that is the tier above on both sides. Both come in a 3.5-inch desktop form with a mains adapter and a 2.5-inch bus-powered portable form. Neither publishes what drive is inside.

So the honest comparison is a price comparison, and that is what the tables below are. They rank both lines by live cost per terabyte, and which one wins changes by capacity and by week depending on who has stock and who is running a promotion.

This is an unsatisfying answer if you came looking for a winner, and it is the accurate one. The satisfying-sounding alternative - inventing a durable advantage for one of them - would send you to the more expensive drive some weeks for no reason.

Neither maker tells you what is inside, and both vary by batch

This is the section where most coverage of these two lines goes wrong, and it goes wrong in a way that reads as helpful.

Neither Western Digital nor Seagate publishes which bare drive is inside these enclosures, at any capacity. The external is sold as a sealed appliance and the drive inside it is a component the manufacturer reserves the right to change. That is not an oversight in the documentation - it is the commercial position.

The community that opens these units documents what it finds, and that work is genuinely valuable. What it is not is a specification. People have found different drives inside the same model number and the same part number across production batches, sometimes months apart. A teardown is an accurate account of one unit, and presenting it as what you will receive quietly converts an observation into a promise.

We carry that work as [community reports on the shucking page](/shucking) and every recording-technology cell in our external tables reads not disclosed. It produces a table with visible gaps, which is the correct outcome: an inferred specification printed in a table is indistinguishable from a sourced one to whoever is reading it.

If you need to know the recording technology before you buy, the answer is a bare drive, where the maker does publish it. Our [CMR versus SMR list](/cmr-drives) is that lookup.

Shucking, which is why most people compare these two

These are the two lines people open, and the reason is arithmetic rather than affection: they are frequently the cheapest route to a bare drive, so the gap against buying one outright can be large enough to justify the trade.

That gap is not constant and it is not always positive. Our [external drives hub](/external-drives) computes the cheapest external at each capacity against the cheapest bare internal SATA drive at the same capacity, on new listings, right now. At some capacities the external is meaningfully cheaper. At others the bare drive costs less, and at those capacities opening an external costs money and voids a warranty in exchange for nothing.

Three costs come with even a real saving, and they apply identically to both lines. You do not know which drive is inside until the case is open. Opening the case ends the warranty on the external. And some units use a 3.3V power-disable pin that stops the drive spinning up on a normal desktop power connector, which tape or an adapter solves but which is an unwelcome surprise mid-build.

One thing worth adding for anyone shucking at scale: those three costs multiply with the drive count just as the saving does. Eight unknown drives with no warranty is a materially different risk profile from one, and it is the situation where knowing the recording technology in advance would matter most and is least available.

Where the tie actually breaks

If price at your capacity is genuinely level, there are a few tie-breakers, and they are smaller than the internet suggests.

Availability at the capacity you want is the real one. These lines do not track each other perfectly on which capacities are in stock, and a drive you can buy today beats a drive that is three dollars cheaper and out of stock. The tables below only show in-stock listings for exactly this reason.

Format availability is the second. Both lines span desktop and portable, but not always at the same capacities at the same time, so if you specifically need a bus-powered portable at a particular size, that may decide it.

What should not decide it is brand loyalty based on failure statistics, and it is worth saying why. Published fleet reliability data is about specific bare drive models in datacenter conditions, and you do not know which bare drive is inside either enclosure. Reasoning from a manufacturer's enterprise drive statistics to a consumer external of that brand is a chain with an unknown link in the middle.

The honest summary remains: buy the cheaper one per terabyte at the capacity you want, from whichever of the two has it in stock. Our [deals page](/external-drives/deals) checks each listing against its own tracked history if you want to time it rather than just choose.

Our recommendation

Buy whichever of the two is cheaper per terabyte at the capacity you want, from whichever has it in stock today. There is no durable advantage on either side - same market position, same absence of software and encryption, same undisclosed contents, same formats - so a brand preference here costs money some weeks and saves none. If you are buying to shuck, check the gap against a bare drive at your capacity first, because at some capacities the bare drive is already cheaper.

Cheapest WD Elements β†’Cheapest Seagate Expansion β†’

Frequently asked questions

Which is better, WD Elements or Seagate Expansion?

Neither, durably. They are the same product at the same market position from the two remaining hard drive manufacturers: an enclosure, a drive, a cable, no software, no encryption, both in desktop and portable forms, and neither publishes what is inside. Buy whichever is cheaper per terabyte at your capacity on the day, which the live tables below show.

What drive is inside an Elements or an Expansion?

Neither maker publishes it, and the contents vary between production batches of the same model number. Community teardowns document what people find, and that is an accurate account of one unit rather than a specification of what you will receive. We carry that work as [community reports](/shucking) and our tables read not disclosed.

Which one is better for shucking?

Whichever is cheaper per terabyte at the capacity you want, since neither tells you what is inside. What decides whether to shuck at all is the gap against a bare drive, which our [hub](/external-drives) computes per capacity on new listings. At some capacities the bare drive is cheaper and shucking costs you money.

Do they have different warranties?

We could not verify either through our source path, so both columns show a dash rather than a figure we cannot stand behind. Read the terms on each maker's own page for the exact model. Note that opening the enclosure ends the external warranty on both lines regardless of the term.

Is one more reliable than the other?

There is no basis for that claim that survives scrutiny, because you do not know which bare drive is inside either enclosure. Reasoning from a manufacturer's published enterprise drive statistics to their consumer external is a chain with an unknown link in the middle. Buy on price and keep a second copy, which is the answer regardless of brand.

Should I buy the desktop or portable version?

Both lines offer both. Desktop is 3.5-inch with a mains adapter: cheapest per terabyte, highest capacities, does not travel. Portable is 2.5-inch on USB power alone: costs more per terabyte, much lower capacity ceiling, needs no socket. Decide by where the drive lives, then compare the two brands within that format.

Sources & references

  1. Backblaze. Hard Drive Stats for 2024. Backblaze.com. 2024.
  2. Backblaze. Annual Drive Reliability Statistics. Backblaze.com. 2024.
  3. Seagate Technology. Exos X Series Specifications. Seagate.com. 2026.
  4. Seagate Technology. IronWolf Pro NAS Hard Drive Specifications. Seagate.com. 2026.
  5. Western Digital. Ultrastar DC Series Datasheets. WD.com. 2026.
  6. Western Digital. WD Red Pro NAS Hard Drive. WD.com. 2026.
  7. DatacenterDisk Research. Live Enterprise Drive Price Database. DatacenterDisk.com. 2026.
Tool
Cheapest per TB β†’
Guide
Best Plex drives β†’
Tracker
All NAS HDDs β†’